We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not ideal for a long stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Kaiserhof Frankfurt City Center
Ranked #83 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not ideal for a long stay”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We visited the Christmas markets and intially thought this hotel was ideal for location if you don't have a car. Well it is extremely close to the trains/U-bahn but once we started walking in the snow it's actually a good 15-20 mins to the main shopping area (and markets) so not great if you're carrying large bags...but you can take the U bahn for 2 stops. Although I noticed the sex shops I didn't see any dodgy people walking around (maybe it was too cold?!) so can't say it was a 'bad' area from my experience as some other reviews have mentioned.

The hotel itself has a promising lobby area and we found the staff to be helpful with our queries. They spoke perfect English and it made checking in very easy. Unfortunately the high quality decor stops when you get off at level 2. Another reviewer mentioned the halls looking like an asylum and that's pretty true!!! Our twin room was poky, without a view (well we could look at the building) and it really annoys me that in this day and age a hotel chain like this can't offer more TV channels rather than Germany's version of Freeview...there's only so much BBC World News you can deal with!

Bathroom was well stocked but tiny, shower cubicle difficult to manoeuvre in and I'm not a big person but the water pressure was really good. I also found the walls to be quite thin, could hear the neighbours constantly opening and closing their drawers, not to mention the snoring!!! It's a bit rich when the room we're in is apparently a PRIVILEGE room?!

Fine for a couple of nights with a friend you know quite well (due to the size of the room!) but a little overpriced and definitely not a 4 star hotel anymore.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Payneuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    414
    276
    109
    51
See reviews for
119
283
175
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Dingy, old fashioned, no room service available, mini bar was empty too, cold room, cheap furniture and bed linen and really noisy air con and all for an overpriced amount. Charge for Wifi is ridiculously expensive at 9.50 euro per day and corridors resemble those of a mental asylum. Staff were unprofessional and rude. Only redeeming feature was the cleanliness.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2012

good located near train station, small rooms, small WC - bathrooms, old style furniture, excellent breakfast , good service. Must pay for WIFI in the room, expensif, check in and out were very rapid, good restaurants nearby, recommended for short stays.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piamumu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TORONTO
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Considering this hotel is steps away from the main train station and a block away from the Red Light district of strip joints and sex shops I had an amazing stay !! LOL, and not because of the strip joints and sex shops.........LOL

So easy to get to once you've exited the train station it''s less than a 5 minute walk across the street and along Kaiser strasse. One block to the north is the naughtiness so no need to even walk through the area (unless you want to) and in the opposite direction towards the river are all the museums, very easy to walk to.

Easy breezy walk towards the river, across the bridges to the other side and walk along the stretch of museums and back across a bridge to the "old" part of town and back to the hotel. It's all very walkable and quite lovely.

The room for a single traveler was very comfortable and larger than most European hotel rooms. The room was silent throughout the night and constituted a perfect nights sleep followed by a typical Mercure breakfast !!! Something to look forward to and a great way to start the day. All sorts of gorgeous cheeses and breads, meusli and fruit, cakes !! Pain au chocolate, coffees, teas and juices, cereals it went on and on.

I traveled in December and had no problem getting a table however I could see in the summertime the small breakfast room filling up fast.

All the staff were very nice and attentive and I felt very comfortable, I would stay again and would recommend others to stay also !

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianInukshuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Not at all recommended for business and family stay. Is in the red light area of frankfurt. Might be suitable for collegians but is expensive. Only plus point is its proximity to Hauptbahnhof (Central Train Station). But, Leonardo Hotel right outside Hauptbahnhof will be a better option with same cleanliness, comfort, larger room and lesser rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShahofIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Victoria Hotel
#34 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
#93 of 269 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#11 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#33 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#55 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Kaiserhof Frankfurt City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Kaiserhof Frankfurt City Center

Property: Mercure Hotel Kaiserhof Frankfurt City Center
Address: Kaiserstr. 62, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Kaiserhof Frankfurt City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Kaiserhof Frankfurt City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Kaiserhof Frankfurt City Frankfurt
Quality Inn Frankfurt
Quality Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing