We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IntercityHotel Frankfurt
Ranked #101 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Good hotel. Rooms are very small however and beds are stiff. Best thing about this hotel is the location, close to everything, including the train which was very handy. Offers great breakfasts as well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidplustanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
There are newer reviews for IntercityHotel Frankfurt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2011

i have to say i've stayed in my share of bad 3 star hotels. a lot of them are more like 2 star or less. this one actually rivals 4 star. the rooms are minimal but nice big queen sized bed, not too soft. wifi works, heater works, shower works, room doesn't smell like smoke and is quiet so got decent night's sleep. what more can you ask for at EUR120 per night right across from the main train station? and breakfast was actually quite a feast!

also the barman who's been there for a long time always have great restaurant recommendations. can't go wrong if you follow his advice!

was going to stay there this year but at EUR250 it was too steep for my budget. i would book in advance next time.

i'm a single female traveller and it was very safe. the police station is right across the street! at least it looked that way with lots of police cars parked in the carpark across the street.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcf21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

- or what Germans, or Western Europeans generally, seem to make out of the snow. Anyway, after a horrid plane trip and seeing that I couldn't reach my final destination anymore, I was stranded at Frankfurt Central for the very late night. I would up at the IC Hotel which offered a good price (same as the main German hotel online booking platform, which was not reachable by phone or net, charged), and boy, was I ever glad to be there!

The reception in the bright lobby was staffed with excellent, courteous people who were fully competent regarding rooms and arrangements - not always the case after midnight. I had a nice, quiet, cozy room with cherry-colored wooden furniture, great heating (not too warm not too cold), great queensize bed, good bathroom and all I really needed. Free wifi, worked extremely well and was crucial to find a working, on-time train on short notice (from room to tracks, 10 mins., 15 incl. checkout) the next morning. Sumptuous breakfast, big selection - not gourmet quality, but hey, this is a *** hotel for travellers, and for that it was excellent and even cheap.

Okay, maybe my judgment was clouded because it felt so good to be there and sleep like a baby rather than lugging my suitcases up the hill through the snowy night of a German town without late bus or taxi service. But maybe that made me even more keenly aware of the IC Hotel's advantages. And...

... I almost want to weep out of sympathy and comiseration if I read some of the reviews here. How sad - people did not get still but sparkling water in the minibar! The breakfast room was full during peak times! It wasn't 100% quiet right next to one of the main train stations in the world smack in the middle of downtown Frankfurt! The design is too 70s or 80s! One catastrophe hunting the next! I mean... tripadvisor lends itself to whining, it basically is a whining site, and I whine too in some of my reviews, but what the...? This is a ***, cheap, convenient travelers hotel, not the Connaught or the Raffles or even the Adlon or whatever. What do people expect? And why does this really nice and convenient place attract such a particularly high number of whiners? Just read the reviews for fun and see whether you agree that there are more here than usual.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

I arrived at 9:00 after a night flight. I didn't expect to get a room so early, but asked where can I change. They sent me to a public WC near the dining room. Shame! It is common for travelers to arrive early, and usually a hotel would let me use a room to take a shower, or use the dressing room in the spa. Here they offered a public toilets.
Located 100 meters from main rail station. Very convenient.
Wifi was weak, but useful.
Breakfast was reach.
They give their customers a free ticket to public transportation. Very nice.
Few of the the reception stuff needs some "education" and manners training.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nachuml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks while I was on a business visit. Below are the pros and cons of the hotel.

Pros: location is very convenient - just next to the main station (Hauptbahnhof) from where the Frankfurt Airport is just 15 minutes. Breakfast is included in the cost of the rooms :)

Cons: the service is very poor and despite repeated requests for still water in my fridge, I always found sparkling water to be there. The internet access is very intermittent and frequently does not work and when it does, it is pretty slow. Calling from the room is exorbitant!

I would not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel and for the rates they charge, I think it is overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitkhetan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Great, central location and quite cheap so this is a good-value hotel and the buffet breakfast is very good with a wide choice of decent quality hot food, pastries, breads continental selection. However. If you're after a really good night's sleep or to work/surf via the free wifi then you'll be diasppointed: The beds are very hard and narrow, there can be quite a lot of noise from a nearby nightlcub late in the evening and in the morning you will be disturbed by early-risers in other rooms and corridors and the housekeeping which starts at 7.30 (hanging out the do-not-disturb sign doesn't make a lot of difference as the doors are so close to eachother and the walls so thin that if they're knocking on any of the adjacent doors, they may as well be knocking on yours!) Also, the free wifi is dreadfully slow: General surfing is impossible and even dialling in to work is pretty unusable. Great if you're on a budget and sleep quality is not a priority, otherwise: avoid.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Decent sized room but the bathroom was small, not very clean and the towels were threadbare. The bed was reasonably comfortable, but I did not sleep well because of paper thin walls and noise from the road to the front of the hotel. Although free wifi was promised, it did not work for two days and staff at reception were not helpful in resolving the problem. Breakfast was adequate, but the staff struggled to cope with the numbers of guests. For the money this hotel does not represent good value. Some staff training is required.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#10 of 270 in Frankfurt
736 reviews
Hotel Cristall
#84 of 270 in Frankfurt
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#18 of 270 in Frankfurt
718 reviews
Hotel Excelsior
#64 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IntercityHotel Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IntercityHotel Frankfurt

Address: Poststr. 8 | Bahnhofsviertel, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: £69 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IntercityHotel Frankfurt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not only business but also cultural and entertainment events attract many visitors to the Metropolis on the Main, Frankfurt. In any reason for visiting our attractive city, the InterCityHotel will be your ideal base. Located directly at Frankfurt Main Station and being connected to the subway and tram networks, take advantage of your free local public transport in connection with your room ID card and quickly reach Frankfurt's shopping mile, the Zeil, as well as our historic city and the Romer, interesting museums, the financial district or the fair grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your IntercityHotel Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercityhotel Hotel Frankfurt
Frankfurt Intercityhotel Hotel
Intercity Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing