We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterCityHotel Frankfurt
Ranked #90 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Another Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Back in England after 3 nights in this hotel. The hotel is situated across the road from the train station. From the exit of the station to the entrance of the hotel will for us now be known as, smokers alley. Filthy, dirty, no sign of cleaning the streets by the council or anybody.
The hotel reception was clean and staff helpful. The room was ok, as a base for our visit, but nothing special. Bathroom, far too small with an ineffective hairdryer.
Bed, comfortable but had to request extra pillows. Air-con weak. We have been lucky to travel to many countries, this was the first hotel however not to have tea/coffee making facilities. Why also in this day and age do we have to pay for wifi in rooms. Surely if this feature was standard it would be helpful for the guests. Our room also had a safe, this was helpful.
Breakfast buffet very passable and something for everyone.
During our stay at 3am in the morning the fire alarm sounded, all guests gathered outside in smokers alley, fortunately a false alarm, but better safe than sorry.
All in all it was ok. However, with a few improvements and street cleaning it would be a really nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for another room. Take your own drink making facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bepatient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for your visit and your good comments about your stay. For your next stay, please ask our front office staff for a ticket for free wifi connection.
Please accept our apologies for the error because of the fire alarm.
Hope to welcoming you again soon ,
Volker Koerdel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    299
    185
    62
    42
See reviews for
51
125
98
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel while I was in town for the Ironman triathlon. The hotel is in an excellent location, sitting right across the street from the main train station. I will talk more about the location later. The hotel itself is pretty good but not five star. The front desk staff was professional but far from friendly. I felt as if they were going out of their way to serve me. All other staff were just great, housekeeping and the wait staff in the restaurant. Breakfast was included in my package and it was just delicious. I found myself over indulging in the buffet. It's a bit crowded as it packs up quickly and you might have a hard time finding a table. Once I had to sit in the foyer by the elevators. The room was a bit small and the bed was like sleeping on plywood. What I really like about this hotel is the location. Right across the street is the main train station which is packed with cafes, fast food, to include McDonalds & BK, a Starbucks, But I think you would be crazy to go to those American favorites. I loved the small sandwhich shops. Man it's making my mouth water just thinking about them. There are a few ATMs and a post office in which I used to ship home some stuff. Directly in front of the train station is the Tram station. I never actually used the train, but I did use the tram several times. Also within 25 meters of the front door of the hotel is a 24 hr bar. In about 200 meters there is a small super market and within 500 meters there is a nice drug store. Also within 500 meters are numerous restaurants and cafes. Within 1km is the red light district if that is something your looking for. Right across the street is a police station and right behind the hotel is a bike shop which is actually supposed to be the best in town. If you like walking you can basically walk to most locations. If the front desk staff was friendly I would have given this hotel 5 stars.

Room Tip: I recommend a room with a king size bed and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DS574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your visit during the Ironman triathlon and your good comments . Nice to hear that you like our breakfast buffet.
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences about our front office staff, please be assured that we will teach our front office staff within to be much more friendlier.
Have a nice trip back home and greetings from Frankfurt,
Volker Koerdel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Hotel is located at the north exit of the Frankfurt nail Hbf. When you arrived at the train station, head towards platform (gleis) 24, and that is the North exit. Once you exit the Hbf, the hotel is on the left. Rooms are like the other intercity hotels in Germany, and the rooms do not have AC, so you may have to open the window at night. Ask for free wifi and the staff will print a username and password for 24hr access. However, the wifi connection was a bit weak in my room on the 5th floor, I have to sit near the door to get some connection. doors don't seem to close tight so do remember to push hard and lock it.

They give free transport ticket which you can use on the S Bahn and buses. Go to platform 101-102 and hop on any S Bahn, alight at Hauptwache where it is a long street of shopping area. Tourist information centre is located in the Hbf, do check with them for information on travelling ard the city.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MyBeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Victoria,
thank you for staying with us and being guest in our hotel. Nice to hear that you could use the free ticket for the public transport,
please accept our apologies for the inconveniences about the wifi connection.
All our rooms in the InterCity Hotel Frankfurt have Air Condition.
We hope you had a nice trip back home and greetings from Frankfurt,
Volker Koerdel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
183 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed at interCity hotel twice during this short trip. This hotel is so close to the Rail way Station which makes it very convenient to move around. Also walking from it to the city is not bad at all. There are many good resturants around the hotel and Taxi cabs are just few minutes walk. The hotel it self is a bit old but it is clean and for a short trip it works. The rooms are small but air conditioned which is important during summer months. Sound proofing is an added bonus so no noises from out side reaches you. The bed was a bit hard for my taste and the pillow so did and small that I had to ask for two more. The towels were a bit over used and theady. In general and for the price paid the hotel wasn't bad at all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Falsaqri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for staying with us and being guest in our hotel. It was great to hear that everything was well for you during your stay.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and wish you nice time.
Kind regards from Frankfurt
Volker Koerdel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

this is a regular hotel for the reasons in the title. Get off your train at the Hauptbahnhof (main station) cross the street and you are there.

everything a traveller needs is at the station, food, drinks, postoffice, Internet cafe, pharmacy and it is on the right side of the station to avoid undesirables or the red light district which is about 1000m in the other direction.

the rooms are small. The most basic room have all of the essentials bed, chairs, desk, fridge and bathroom etc but space is at a premium. It has to be to keep the prices down and most people use these hotels as somewhere to keep their gear and somewhere to sleep.

wireless internet into your room is good. often it is included in the price of the room. Check the deals online i got a mini bar included (2 beers, a coke, 2 juices, 1 still and 1 sparkling water) each day, plus breakfast, plus internet. Once you include your free transport ticket which is always part of the deal it is outstanding value.

It appears they have a new chef or at least have improved breakfast. The range and quality has improved as has the move to have a self serve espresso machine as well as the usual filter coffee makes for a great start of the day. Fruit, yoghurt, cereals, bread, pastries, big selection of cold meats and cheeses, big range of hot foods, juices etc.

I left the hotel for two nights elsewhere and they were happy to store my main bag so that i didnt need to take it with me. When i returned they new me by name and got me into a new room promptly.

I use this hotel frequently as it ticks all of the boxes you need when travelling. If you need a bigger room to work in, they have them.

Room Tip: if you need space dont get the cheapest room. if you are a smoke/non-smoker let them know in adva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nibzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your visit and your nice comments about your stay. It was great to hear that everything was well for you during your stay and that you could use our ticket for public transport.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and hope you had a nice trip back home.
Many greetings from Frankfurt
Volker Koerdel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I understand the convenience of having a low cost hotel next to the station, but for a business person needing to work and relax, this is not the hotel to choose. The rooms are tiny and cramped, the bedding is not good, and having to pay an additional deposit to have an ironing board in your room is just insulting. I found the reception experience pretty similar to a railway ticking office as well. Not a pleasant experience at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msjohndw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your stay and your assessment about our hotel. We are very sorry that you could not have a nice stay.
We thank you also for your comments regarding our service, of course we will discuss these points with our appropriate staff.
Kind regards from Frankfurt
Volker Koerdel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
346 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel is our #1 choice when flying into or out of Frankfurt. We have stayed there many times. Located across the street from Frankfurt's Hauptbahnhof / central train station, this hotel makes a quick turnaround in Frankfurt easy. The hotel supplies city train tickets, so you can get to Frankfurt's airport quickly without mastering the train station's ticket machines. Minibar contents are free, so there's no hassle checking out. Fleming's Restaurant, just two blocks away, has its menu in the hotel lobby, and the area is full of other interesting places to eat, too. The cable TV always amazes with its comprehensive display of international channels. Rooms are spare, but always well-equipped and spotless. Your wake-up call rings on time. The hotel's WiFi is reliable. This is a busy hotel, but always quiet. A great place to stay for a night or several, in our experience.

Room Tip: Regardless of where we travel, we always request a room away from the elevators, and away from any i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tampatowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks a lot for your repeated stays in our hotel and your good comments about your stay. Nice to hear that you had a good time and could use our complimentary ticket for Frankfurt`s public transport.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again and hope you had a nice trip back home.
Kind regards
Julia Lemoniatis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Cristall
#86 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#18 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#14 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Hotel Excelsior
#50 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#49 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterCityHotel Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterCityHotel Frankfurt

Property: InterCityHotel Frankfurt
Address: Poststr. 8 | Bahnhofsviertel, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — InterCityHotel Frankfurt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not only business but also cultural and entertainment events attract many visitors to the Metropolis on the Main, Frankfurt. In any reason for visiting our attractive city, the InterCityHotel will be your ideal base. Located directly at Frankfurt Main Station and being connected to the subway and tram networks, take advantage of your free local public transport in connection with your room ID card and quickly reach Frankfurt's shopping mile, the Zeil, as well as our historic city and the Romer, interesting museums, the financial district or the fair grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterCityHotel Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercityhotel Hotel Frankfurt
Frankfurt Intercityhotel Hotel
Intercity Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing