We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired InterContinental”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Frankfurt
Ranked #35 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
607 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Tired InterContinental”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

InterContinental Hotels tend to be in the upper category of accommodation. This hotel wasn't up to the normal standard but maybe that's because my room was located in the annex across the street (connected by an underground tunnel) away from the main hotel where all the restaurants and meeting rooms are located. I hope that the room is due for refurbishment because it was badly in need of a refresh. On the upside, it was clean and the bed was comfortable, but the fittings and carpet looked tired. With respect to the rest of the hotel, the highlight was the breakfast buffet, which was well up to standard and worth having. All in all, despite its central location (a 5 minute walk from the railway station) I'm not sure that I would ever use the InterContinental Frankfurt again until it's been brought up to scratch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel and not in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Knocksinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    676
    265
    84
    35
See reviews for
148
305
206
852
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The location is ok. Couple of minutes to the river and around 10 minute stroll to the Zeil (shopping street). Service at this hotel was fine and I found the breakfast to be very nice!
Room was very clean and the bed was comfy.
Stayd in the "city wing". (the hotel has 2 buildings that are connected by an underground hallway) I found the access to the main building to be very easy and wouldn´t hesitate to stay in this part of the hotel again.

The only thing I could possible say against this hotel, is the selection of TV stations.
I found only 2 stations that were in English....news stations.
And with every shop closed in Frankfurt on sundays, it would be nice to have some more english selections.

Overall very pleased though maybe next time, if in Frankfurt, I would try to stay closer to the shopping street(s). If in Frankfurt for busines/conference, this is a good choice.
Around 20 min walk to Frankfurt Messe or 8-10 EUR in a taxi

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guðbjörg I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed for one night for a meeting. The hotel rooms are vey clean and of very good standard, have very nice views of the city of the riverside. The main attraction is the top floor restaurant (we had dinner buffet there) with its big terrace where u can enjoy breath taking panorama of the city. The location is good a short walking distance to the city center and about 10 minutes to the main shopping center. U can get 2 hours free wireless internet during your whole stay. Enjoyed the breakfast which was very diverse and of high quality. No complains. Very quite hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faris010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Very nice hotel in a fabulous location. Friendly, safe, modern and chic

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetdriver11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I would like to say that this is not your typical IC of the Far East and the service culture is not as refine. However, the experience is very good. I was here for the Frankfurt Book Fair and I guess, it is probably the worst time of the year to be here in Frankfurt. The hotel is fully book and I could not get a room despite that I am a Royal Platinum Ambassador. I had to call before they could make some arrangements. So instead of 4 nights, I had to go to Holiday Inn for 1 night.
Anyway my experience was pleasant. I didn't get my usual upgrade because of the book fair and they were very apologetic. I didn't mind. I got the use of the Club lounge and it was OK. I guess because of the high occupancy, it is very busy on the club floor and it is pretty hard working when you need some peace and quite.
Overall experience is above average, but I like to quite location of the property and yet it is very close to all. Definitely will be back but will probably not during peak time!!

Room Tip: Stay away from the 'Blue Building' and ask for the river view. The IC floor is worth the mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMMAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This property has good & bad points:

Pro's:
Great location
Nice views
Great restaurant & breakfast
Excellent meeting space

Con's:
Guest rooms are outdated
Bathrooms (in rooms) are very small
TV in room is hilariously old-fashioned

Major Con:
Air conditioning doesn't seem to work properly

As a platinum Priority Rewards member, I was expecting an upgraded room - and usually receive a club floor room. No such luck here. My room was small, and while fine as I wasn't spending a lot of time in there, I expected more. The air conditioning did not work at all, and when I asked the staff about this, they recommended opening the window (!!!?). I did, which certainly brought in some fresh air, but then was faced with loud sirens, car sounds and other city-noise all night.

That said, if you don't mind a hot, small room, the breakfast was fantastic, the location is great, and we ate in the Signatures restaurant one night, and while pricey, the food was fantastic.

Meeting room sizes are good - and staff, while European style (not attentive), are fairly helpful. That said, we again had major problems with temperature control, which I would consider in the future.

Room Tip: Top floor? Maybe city-facing? I faced the river, which had a busy road right there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
escondido, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We booked a room here at the end of our trip, we were happy we did. The hotel is located right on the Main river which has beautiful walking trails to the old city, only 10 minutes away. the rooms are spacious and clean, with all the amenities. we had a rental car and parking was no hassle. The porter took our luggage and parked the car for us. Everything was better than expected. This was the perfect way to end a vacation. The only downside was that the pool was being worked on and not open.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#23 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,329 reviews
Innenstadt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
#46 of 269 in Frankfurt
905 reviews
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomers
#14 of 269 in Frankfurt
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Frankfurt

Property: InterContinental Frankfurt
Address: Wilhelm-Leuschner-Str. 43, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Frankfurt 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental® Frankfurt welcomes you to a metropolis which successfully combines international flair with regional traditions. As one of the largest conference & business hotels in the city of Frankfurt we offer 467 elegantly designed rooms and 19 flexible meetings rooms, out of which 17 offer natural daylight. Our hotel is ideally located on the banks of the river Main and in the heart of the city with easy access to Frankfurt International Airport which is only a 20 minutes’ drive away and the Main Train Station that is within 5 minutes walking distance. If you visit the Trade Fair Grounds “Messe Frankfurt” – you only need to travel one stop on the underground. We provide the perfect location to experience the best of Frankfurt as most of the cultural, historical and recreational sites are within a short walking distance of the hotel. Visit the city hall “Romer”, to discover historical treasures, loose yourself in one of the many museums that are located alongside the river banks or experience the best shopping opportunities the city has to offer. Internationally renowned designers and trendy fashion labels invite you to enjoy extensive shopping sprees. Our 467 rooms and suites are elegantly designed and offer you all the amenities for a relaxed and enjoyable stay - including complimentary internet access during your stay. Our meeting space on the 2nd floor accommodates 12 meetings rooms of different sizes with the 605m² large ballroom that can accommodate up to 700 persons as the centerpiece. The exclusive meeting rooms with floor-length windows on the 21st floor are ideal for confidential meetings and private conferences above the city´s roof tops. The highlight on this floor is the Salon Silhouette with an exclusive ambience and breath-taking panoramic view of Frankfurt. Our experienced conference team provides a seamless service from start to finish and the know-how to make every meeting or even a success. If you cherish culinary delights, let us pamper you in our Signatures Veranda Restaurant. Our international kitchen crew – lead by our Chef de Cuisine Klaus Bramkamp – combines traditional crafts with creativity, focusing on sourcing all ingredients from carefully selected local producers in the region of Hesse. Or unwind in our DAXx Mainhattan´s Bar and enjoy delicious cocktails, fine wine and exquisite snacks to end the day. If you are looking for an offsite catering in Frankfurt, we offer tailor-made event concepts in spectacular external locations to create magical moments through our own Caterings’ Best by InterContinental® experts. We look forward to welcoming you in our hotel for your next stay in Frankfurt! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing