We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good service makes up for the outdated rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Frankfurt
Ranked #35 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The good service makes up for the outdated rooms.”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed at the Intercontinental Frankfurt in October. The hotel is conveniently located close to grand central station. Overall the rooms as well as the lobby area seem a little outdated and need some renovation - urgently!

On a positive note, the service is exceptional, an overall friendly and helpful staff throughout the whole hotel. Especially check in and check out who happened to be with the same agent Ms. Isabel Montano. If you could bring the hotel facilities up to the standards of such outstanding employees, you would be my first choice in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear DavidP321
we are delighted to read that your stay during the fair was exceptional. We will give the feedback to our staff and honour our Front Office employee for her perfect achievements.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to the InterContinental Frankfurt.
best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    666
    258
    79
    35
See reviews for
142
299
204
828
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Firstly, I'm still waiting to get my airmiles from this stay. I discussed it a number of times to make sure it would all go throuhg, yet it's been over a month and I'm still waiting.

Upon check in I was offered an upgraded room which I accepted. I was told it was a much bigger and nicer room but that it had a single bad. I didn't mind this as I was not expecting company. Before I left reception the staff member told me he would call me in five minutes to see if I was happy with the room. This struck me as odd. Long story short, it was a lounge from a suite room but with the door to the bedroom locked. Hence I had a temporary camp bed thing in the lounge of a club suite room. Unacceptable and not as described when paying hundreds of Euros a night. They knew this was not acceptable so why try to con your customers?

After much a do I was able to change rooms and got a suite which was a good result. This took up valuable time and I lost about 2 hours of sleep time which impacted my travels the next day as I was on a very aggressive itinerary.

I was surprised at this Intercon, it's the worst one I've come across and has put me off the brand.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Mr Pete R
thank you explaining your experience after your stay on TripAdvisor. We are truly sorry about what happened to you with the offered room. We really do apologize that you did nor feel it as an Upgrade. With best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
5,231 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11,631 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

As a royal ambassador
They gave a suite in the 18 floor
With club access
The rooms nice but the tv not flat
And small screen
The hotel needs renovation.
And the club needs more staff
All other things great

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bnghanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Mr Bghanem
thank you again for staying as InterContinental Royal Ambassador with us. We highly much appreciate your loyal feedback and look forward to welcome you back soon.
best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Intercontinental Frankfurt is a quality hotel, with nice rooms and a great staff. We stay there during the International Book Fair, and the staff is usually two steps ahead of us anticipating our needs. We host an annual party there, and the chef, the head waiter and their team always make the evening a smashing success. The cost of the breakfast is outrageous, unless you have 3+ hours to sit and enjoy it all, and the 20 Euros a day for Wi-Fi that keeps collapsing is way over the top. However, they are starting a remodel, and adding new wifi that will see that cost drop over the next few months. Overall, it is convenient, comfortable, and friendly.

Room Tip: Always ask for a higher floor, and upgrade to a room with a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Booklover1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Booklover1962
we are delighted to hear that your book fair stay was exceeding your expectations as every year especially your event with us. May be for next year we can negotiate rates including breakfast for you? As well as Internet will be complementary for all our guests. We are looking forward to welcome you next book fair! Again thank you as a very loyal customer! best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is incredibly dated. Furniture and amenities are really worn. The room was always warm and the electricity went off in the middle of the night. They charge eur 20 for wifi. Ridiculous. I feel like I completely overpaid for the room. Oh and the porter gave my taxi driver the wrong directions to the HBF.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank zephyrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Mr zephyrous
We are very sorry to read that your stay with us not pleasant at all. We really do apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. Would you please so kind to write a short email to my Personal Assistant so we can get in contact with you directly. best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager ( Sibylle Dickmann- sibylle.dickmann@ihg.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
680 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel during the Frankfurt International Book Fair.

It has the good standard from Intercontinental, meaning charming rooms, well decorated, even if most of the time a bit small, good shower and comfortable bed. Staff generally effective and friendly.

In Frankfurt, the service was alternating between good and reasonably, depending on the staff member. For instance, at the Bar Daxx, service was always great, at the breakfast depend on who was serving, at the business center was quite bad, at the restaurant Veranda, the Philippine waitress was ver friendly and generally good.

The hotel is located some 10 blocks from the old town, 1 block from the river Main (great view from the window) and some 5 blocks from the central Station. So, I considered a very good location.

The hotel advertise the lounge in the top floor, but my husband and I experienced it very much as a lounge from airports, lacking something to make it different and special.

The spa unfortunately has not a proper space for treatments. So for example massages are done at your room or the concierge can book in another hotel some 10 minutes walking. Pity,because I was expecting to have a massage exactly while my husband was in room in a conference call.

The restaurant veranda is less then it advertises in my opinion, but the bar in the ground level has a nice environment for a conversation, a drink and a light meal. Great breakfast!

All in all, still a good hotel to stay in frankfurt am Main.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view to the river Main.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear JuSouza
thank you for sharing four feedback with TripAdvisor while you were staying with us during the Book fair. We will share your positive comment with our staff and are happy to have you as a loyal customer. In the near future we will offer a dedicated area for treatments in the hotel, so you do not have to arrange in your room. We are looking forward to welcome you again may be for the next fair.
best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stay started out rough due to a housekeeping problem, but the staff more than made up for the initial inconvenience. It is within walking distance to the central train station, shopping, and many great restaurants. The club lounge had all the appointments you would expect along with a great view. The one downside was the t.v. as others have stated, but your in Frankfurt so why would you be watching t.v. anyway?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Changzhourbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Changzhourbust
thank you for sharing four feedback with TripAdvisor We will share your positive comment with our staff and are happy to have you as a loyal customer. We appreciate your feedback about our Club Lounge and we can tell that we will get new TV´s in November this year. We are looking forward to welcome you again!
best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#24 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Roomers
#14 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
#45 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Innenstadt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
#28 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Frankfurt

Property: InterContinental Frankfurt
Address: Wilhelm-Leuschner-Str. 43, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Frankfurt 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental® Frankfurt welcomes you to a metropolis which successfully combines international flair with regional traditions. As one of the largest conference & business hotels in the city of Frankfurt we offer 467 elegantly designed rooms and 19 flexible meetings rooms, out of which 17 offer natural daylight. Our hotel is ideally located on the banks of the river Main and in the heart of the city with easy access to Frankfurt International Airport which is only a 20 minutes’ drive away and the Main Train Station that is within 5 minutes walking distance. If you visit the Trade Fair Grounds “Messe Frankfurt” – you only need to travel one stop on the underground. We provide the perfect location to experience the best of Frankfurt as most of the cultural, historical and recreational sites are within a short walking distance of the hotel. Visit the city hall “Romer”, to discover historical treasures, loose yourself in one of the many museums that are located alongside the river banks or experience the best shopping opportunities the city has to offer. Internationally renowned designers and trendy fashion labels invite you to enjoy extensive shopping sprees. Our 467 rooms and suites are elegantly designed and offer you all the amenities for a relaxed and enjoyable stay - including complimentary internet access during your stay. Our meeting space on the 2nd floor accommodates 12 meetings rooms of different sizes with the 605m² large ballroom that can accommodate up to 700 persons as the centerpiece. The exclusive meeting rooms with floor-length windows on the 21st floor are ideal for confidential meetings and private conferences above the city´s roof tops. The highlight on this floor is the Salon Silhouette with an exclusive ambience and breath-taking panoramic view of Frankfurt. Our experienced conference team provides a seamless service from start to finish and the know-how to make every meeting or even a success. If you cherish culinary delights, let us pamper you in our Signatures Veranda Restaurant. Our international kitchen crew – lead by our Chef de Cuisine Klaus Bramkamp – combines traditional crafts with creativity, focusing on sourcing all ingredients from carefully selected local producers in the region of Hesse. Or unwind in our DAXx Mainhattan´s Bar and enjoy delicious cocktails, fine wine and exquisite snacks to end the day. If you are looking for an offsite catering in Frankfurt, we offer tailor-made event concepts in spectacular external locations to create magical moments through our own Caterings’ Best by InterContinental® experts. We look forward to welcoming you in our hotel for your next stay in Frankfurt! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing