We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Frankfurt
Ranked #35 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I recently spent several days at this hotel. At first, I was a little hesitant to stay there based on prior reviews regarding the out-of-date TVs and slow WiFi.. But being an IHG Platinum member I decided to give it a try. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the televisions had been upgraded to HD flat screens and the internet had substantially been improved. There were very few upgrades available to me considering I'm a platinum member and that was somewhat disappointing. However, I had reserved a superior room facing the river and that was great! I was on the 17th floor and, needless to say, the views are spectacular. The staff and service was great. The daytime concierge, Constantin Bock deserves special recognition. He is truly an invaluable source of information. He is very friendly, extremely professional and always ready to assist.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the river is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottsdalelarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear guest Scottsdalelarry
great to read the outstanding praise of Mr Constantin Bock. People like him makes the different in a hotel. We will honour him of course! Thank you for sharing the excellent feedback, especially after you convinced yourself staying with us and give our hotel a try. You could feel the changes which make it more pleasant for our guests.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to the InterContinental Frankfurt.
best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    679
    266
    84
    35
See reviews for
150
305
207
855
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

A fairly good business hotel with good location . Rooms are spacious , somewhat dated . Service level is good , friendly and happy staff.
Restaurant , typical hotel .
Great parking under the hotel.

But what about the ac system , completely out of order , like staying in a sauna . Not acceptable . And not a on off thing. Stayed there several times over the years , always the same problem.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jetlaggad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear guest jetlaggad
thank you very much for sharing your detailed feedback, also about the AC. We have a system which cools in summer time and heat during winter time. We can not have both ways. We would recommend to switch the heating off during winter season and just if the room gets a cold temperature, switch on for a while but not permanent.
We look forward to welcome you again.
best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Had a great experience while staying in Frankfurt, IHG still lives up to the standards even in Germany. Only the cold attitude of the staff members must something typical German. Not a real warm Hospitality after travelling the several other countries definitely cold. Slept well, eat good and paid a fair price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Frank S
thank you for your stay with us and your entry on TripAdvisor. We thank you for your honest feedback and we are surprised to read about the "cold" attitude of our staff members. We will ensure that our entire staff will be warm hearted to all off our our guests.
We look forward to welcome you back to the InterContinental Frankfurt.
With best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liedekerke, Brabant, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed here for only 1 night, but was very happy about the stay.
The hotel is quite old, but still in quite a good shape.
I booked a Classic room, received a Superior room with River view. It's a really nice room and more comfortable than most other hotels in Frankfurt.
Compared to other reviews: they also recently renewed the rooms and it now has a good LCD tv with quite a big choice of TV channels.
When we arrived we have checked in very fast by the super-friendly staff. They were always happy to help and gave us very good tips what to do in Frankfurt for such a short stay.
The staff also proactively offered us the benefits to which we were entitled to.
We also took a Club package which was totally worth the money! (club lounge was closed, but we were offered
As for the location: this is possibly the best hotel you can find. It's easy to find when you arrive by car, it's not far from the railway station and it's very close to the city center. So really the most perfect location you can imagine. If you've got a room with a river view, it makes the location even better!
In short: it's one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. When I come back to Frankfurt, I'll definitely stay at the Intercontinental!
The only negative point is the expensive parking: 27€. In the hotels defense: it's a standard rate, but they could have offered a discount for hotel guests f.e.

Room Tip: Get a river view room, preferably at 10th+ floor. Parking in town is free in weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliynyk_Dima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear guest Oliynyk_Dima
we thank you for the extreme high performance rating of our hotel. Myself and the entire hotel team say thank you for the honest feedback. Regarding the parking fee, the garage is not owned by us, we are paying the same amount 1:1 to the company.
We look forward to welcome you back once again at the InterContinental Frankfurt.
best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed several times at the Intercontinental. Go for the Club Level with view over the river. You will enjoy the sun rising over the river and see the barges floating by.
Very friendly and helful staff!!!

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sorensenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear guest sorensenCopenhagen
we say thank you for your excellent review on TripAdvisor. We will share your positive comments with our staff. Loyal customer who are returning back to their hotel is the most important thing in hospitality. Again thank you for being our guest.
Best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Intercontinental Frankfurt is located right in the middle of the financial district which makes it very easy to do business from there. It is also only a ten minute taxi ride to the Messe which means that it is great for attending trade shows as well. Take a walk on the river at night - it is lovely!!

The hotel is looking its age. The lobby is a bit cramped and dated. The bar is generally busy at night but overprice to say the least.

Staff are friendly, speak English and are very professional and helpful.

The rooms are dated. All done in yellow without a soft referbishment in years they are a bit on the tired side. My room was clean, not particularly big and comfortable enough. The bed, was actually the best bit as it was done with top notch sheets and a cuddly duvet. The mattress was fairly new or at least felt it.

The bathroom was ok - clean with great towels but hot water and water pressure were lacking.

Wifi is exhorbitantly expensive - 20 Euros a day - I skipped it...

Breakfast is likewise very expensive. I had it once and it was a good spread but not worth the 25 Euros they were charging unless you were planning to eat enough not to want to eat more for the rest of the day.

All in all if you want a good 5 star hotel in Frankfurt you can do better.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachellejv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Mrs Rachellejv
thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are sorry that you did not have a overall satisfied stay with us. We will discuss your mentioned points with the involved departments. From January 2014 the internet is free of charge for all member of IHG Rewards Club.
We thank you again and wish you all the best.
Best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed here for two nights in November. The hotel was full so it's always going to expose any stresses.

Check in and out were quick and efficient, if you avoided the rush periods, and the staff were friendly enough.

The rooms themselves are a little on the small side, and the decor is very 1990's, nice enough but certainly not the calm neutral tones one expects. The bathroom in particular seemed to be showing some signs of wear and tear and was also quite small. One bonus is that it is possible to open the windows in the room to let fresh air in. This was needed as when I was there the heating and air conditioning was not functioning properly and the rooms were hot. This was something the hotel was working on, but was a significant disappointment.

Other than that the only other issue is the cost, but it is in Frankfurt....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwaredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear guest gwaredd
thank you very much for sharing your detailed feedback. We will discuss your mentioned heating issue with the technical department. You point about the room size will monitored with our owning company.
We look forward to welcome you again.
best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#24 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,359 reviews
Innenstadt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
#47 of 269 in Frankfurt
913 reviews
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomers
#14 of 269 in Frankfurt
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Frankfurt

Property: InterContinental Frankfurt
Address: Wilhelm-Leuschner-Str. 43, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Frankfurt 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental® Frankfurt welcomes you to a metropolis which successfully combines international flair with regional traditions. As one of the largest conference & business hotels in the city of Frankfurt we offer 467 elegantly designed rooms and 19 flexible meetings rooms, out of which 17 offer natural daylight. Our hotel is ideally located on the banks of the river Main and in the heart of the city with easy access to Frankfurt International Airport which is only a 20 minutes’ drive away and the Main Train Station that is within 5 minutes walking distance. If you visit the Trade Fair Grounds “Messe Frankfurt” – you only need to travel one stop on the underground. We provide the perfect location to experience the best of Frankfurt as most of the cultural, historical and recreational sites are within a short walking distance of the hotel. Visit the city hall “Romer”, to discover historical treasures, loose yourself in one of the many museums that are located alongside the river banks or experience the best shopping opportunities the city has to offer. Internationally renowned designers and trendy fashion labels invite you to enjoy extensive shopping sprees. Our 467 rooms and suites are elegantly designed and offer you all the amenities for a relaxed and enjoyable stay - including complimentary internet access during your stay. Our meeting space on the 2nd floor accommodates 12 meetings rooms of different sizes with the 605m² large ballroom that can accommodate up to 700 persons as the centerpiece. The exclusive meeting rooms with floor-length windows on the 21st floor are ideal for confidential meetings and private conferences above the city´s roof tops. The highlight on this floor is the Salon Silhouette with an exclusive ambience and breath-taking panoramic view of Frankfurt. Our experienced conference team provides a seamless service from start to finish and the know-how to make every meeting or even a success. If you cherish culinary delights, let us pamper you in our Signatures Veranda Restaurant. Our international kitchen crew – lead by our Chef de Cuisine Klaus Bramkamp – combines traditional crafts with creativity, focusing on sourcing all ingredients from carefully selected local producers in the region of Hesse. Or unwind in our DAXx Mainhattan´s Bar and enjoy delicious cocktails, fine wine and exquisite snacks to end the day. If you are looking for an offsite catering in Frankfurt, we offer tailor-made event concepts in spectacular external locations to create magical moments through our own Caterings’ Best by InterContinental® experts. We look forward to welcoming you in our hotel for your next stay in Frankfurt! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing