We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Frankfurt
Ranked #37 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

If I could, I would rate this hotel around 4.7 on a scale of 5.0.

I stayed here for three nights during April 2014 while attending a trade fair. My room was 2008 on the 20th floor (executive floor). A colleague stayed in 2007 across the hall. Both rooms were large, nicely furnished, and – most important – very quiet. (2007 had a connecting door, but it was not a problem for him. My room did not.) The spacious bathroom had a large tub as well as a separate shower. After reading some of the comments here about the age of the property, I was a little concerned, but there was little evidence that the hotel is old that I could detect. The standard rooms on the lower floors might be different.

Check-in went smoothly. After arriving in my room, I asked housekeeping to replace the duvet (which I always find to be too hot – why do hotels use these awful things?) with a regular blanket. This was done almost immediately. The first night, I found that the bedside lamp was too dim for reading and the next morning I asked housekeeping to put in a stronger bulb. This also was taken care of almost immediately. My colleague across the hall couldn’t get his bathtub to drain, and this was also handled quickly.

I prefer a wired LAN connection, but the wifi worked pretty well, although not good enough for Skyping.

The breakfast in the executive lounge on the 21st floor was excellent with plenty of variety and a very helpful and friendly attendant.

I have two complaints. First, the doors on the 20th floor made a loud slamming noise when the room occupants did not take care to close them softly. Experienced businesspeople are usually considerate of their fellow travelers and try to prevent this annoyance, but not everyone is mindful of this. Perhaps this is one result of being an old property, although this certainly is not the only hotel where this is a problem. Less forgivable was the way that the room maid allowed every door to slam behind her as she tidied up the rooms in the evening. This is a matter of poor staff training and is not something that should happen in a first-rate hotel.

The second problem was that the air conditioning was not working throughout the night and I found that the room grew a little warm in the middle of the night. Even-numbered rooms are on the sunny side of the hotel and become warm in the daytime. The windows will open but there are no screens and signs caution that insects can enter the room when the windows are opened, so I was reluctant to open them. Fortunately, this was not a big problem in April, but could possibly be an issue in warmer weather. I asked the technician who came to change the light bulb about this, and he said that if they leave the air conditioning on all night, the rooms get too cold and they receive complaints. Since each room is equipped with its own fan and temperature control, this was not a convincing explanation. Before I stay in this hotel in the summer, I would want to be assured that the air conditioning would be available throughout the night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear guest Hal O
thank you for writing an excellent review after your stay with us. Your mentioned points with the doors I will inform the Department Head´s to make sure the issue can be fixed. Regarding the Air condition, we have the choice either to cool or to heat. It depends on the season. In April, when you were there we had already some warmer days and especially the Riverside is the sunny south side. The AC was still in warming mode due to the cold outside temperature. Now at this time we changed the whole hotel into cooling. We have a very strong AC in summer, when we need to cool the hotel down. Only a renovation of the hotel can make sure, every individual guest room can regulate their own temperature. We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel.
With best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 1,663 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

The location is great, where is very close to main train station & business district. Also not far from the shopping area. short walk to train station and right beside the Main River Rooms are pretty standard, serves it's purpose and facilities .Wi-fi in the room is not free.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, general Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear guest Lalan K
thank you very much for staying with us and leave an excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest words and look forward to welcome you back.With best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Intercontinental looks a little dated from outside but rooms i have stayed in have been in good order. They are a reasonable size with good comfortable beds. Bathrooms are not up to the bedroom standard but for the business traveller are functional and well stocked with good quality toiletries.
There is an excellent gym and what I think is a new service this year is the supply of running route cards in the foyer with bottles of water for joggers. This is a nice touch. Service generally is excellent.
Breakfasts can get very busy just before 8am. There is a an excellent waitress who serves coffee at the front of the restaurant who despite being the most overworked waitress I have ever seen is fantastic at cheering up guests and keeping breakfast stresses down.
Location is good for business, shopping and nice walks. Overall a worthwhile consideration for business travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonwells1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear guest Jonwells1
thank you for your review on TripAdvisor after your stay with us. We thank you for loyal feedback especially for the restaurant breakfast and their staff. Also the good words about our gym and the new Running table in the lobby. We provide the items like running maps, towels and water for our guests in the morning and in the afternoon.
We look forward to welcome you back to the InterContinental Frankfurt. With best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The location is great, where is very close to main train station & business district. Also not far from the shopping area. The hotel is facing to river, which is very nice view. Buffet line is excellent, wide variety foods. Even the room is quite old, but everything still be good condition. Wi-fi in the room is not free.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollymoon_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear guest Molly_moon 26
we thank you for your excellent review and the good rating. We appreciate that you enjoyed the breaKfast. The basic internet is for all IHG Rewards club member free of charge. It is very easy to join the program and also it is for free.
We are looking forward to welcome back tot he InterContinental Frankfurt. With best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I may be slightly unfair with the heading as they are merely capitalizing on the fact there is the worlds largest lighting trade fair taking place at the nearby Messe
Location is great - short walk to train station and right beside the Main River
Rooms are pretty standard, serves it's purpose and facilities may not be extensive, but gym is adequate
Breakfast buffet is decent and waiting staff are fairly alert and service is good
I had an issue with the water pressure in the shower, but this was fixed almost immediately after the issue was raised

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank j100lok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear guest j100lok
thank you for your stay during the fair Light & Buidling. We appreciate your honest feedback and thank you for your loyalty. With best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Perfect location , very close to the business district and the shopping area.
Very nice view for the river and perfect breakfast buffet.
The room is small, if you will compare to any other Intercont hotel . Furniture is quite old and the hotel required a full refurbishment from the top to the bottom .
The room rate is acceptable

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maldeiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear guest Maldeiri
thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We will discuss your mentioned issues with the relevant department.
We look forward to welcome you again.
best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

There's nothing fondamentally wrong with Frankfurt IC. Well located, big enough to have many services, international flavour.The problem is, there is nothing very good either. Rooms (at least the one I was in) are a little old style, and badly need refurbishment. Hall is very crowded at times, and not such a comfortable place to stay. On the plus side, staff is kind and helpful, and the restaurant is unexpectedly good. Breakfast buffet is plentiful, with a wide choice, and I had dinner twice at the restaurant, and I found it very good and reasonably priced. Not too bad, in a nutshell, but it would not be my first choice if I had to choose a hotel in FFM.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giorgio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear guest Giorgio D
thank you for sharing four feedback with TripAdvisor. We will share your positive comment with our restaurant team and your advise for renovation to our owning company. We are looking forward to welcome you again!
best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#21 of 271 in Frankfurt
1,409 reviews
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Innenstadt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
#62 of 271 in Frankfurt
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomers
#13 of 271 in Frankfurt
930 reviews
Innenstadt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
#36 of 271 in Frankfurt
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Frankfurt

Address: Wilhelm-Leuschner-Str. 43, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: £91 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Frankfurt 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental® Frankfurt welcomes you to a metropolis which successfully combines international flair with regional traditions. As one of the largest conference & business hotels in the city of Frankfurt we offer 467 elegantly designed rooms and 19 flexible meetings rooms, out of which 17 offer natural daylight. Our hotel is ideally located on the banks of the river Main and in the heart of the city with easy access to Frankfurt International Airport which is only a 20 minutes’ drive away and the Main Train Station that is within 5 minutes walking distance. If you visit the Trade Fair Grounds “Messe Frankfurt” – you only need to travel one stop on the underground. We provide the perfect location to experience the best of Frankfurt as most of the cultural, historical and recreational sites are within a short walking distance of the hotel. Visit the city hall “Romer”, to discover historical treasures, loose yourself in one of the many museums that are located alongside the river banks or experience the best shopping opportunities the city has to offer. Internationally renowned designers and trendy fashion labels invite you to enjoy extensive shopping sprees. Our 467 rooms and suites are elegantly designed and offer you all the amenities for a relaxed and enjoyable stay - including complimentary internet access during your stay. Our meeting space on the 2nd floor accommodates 12 meetings rooms of different sizes with the 605m² large ballroom that can accommodate up to 700 persons as the centerpiece. The exclusive meeting rooms with floor-length windows on the 21st floor are ideal for confidential meetings and private conferences above the city´s roof tops. The highlight on this floor is the Salon Silhouette with an exclusive ambience and breath-taking panoramic view of Frankfurt. Our experienced conference team provides a seamless service from start to finish and the know-how to make every meeting or even a success. If you cherish culinary delights, let us pamper you in our Signatures Veranda Restaurant. Our international kitchen crew – lead by our Chef de Cuisine Klaus Bramkamp – combines traditional crafts with creativity, focusing on sourcing all ingredients from carefully selected local producers in the region of Hesse. Or unwind in our DAXx Mainhattan´s Bar and enjoy delicious cocktails, fine wine and exquisite snacks to end the day. If you are looking for an offsite catering in Frankfurt, we offer tailor-made event concepts in spectacular external locations to create magical moments through our own Caterings’ Best by InterContinental® experts. We look forward to welcoming you in our hotel for your next stay in Frankfurt! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing