We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dated, no air con and unbearably hot rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Frankfurt
Ranked #35 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“dated, no air con and unbearably hot rooms”
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Staff were lovely, although the barman was overly suggestive to my female colleague and I when we sat down to have a snack. After exploring the surrounding area, we discovered we were surrounded by sex shops, tackyness and leering men, so unless you are looking for this, I suggest another area of the city. The rooms were clean and quite nice, but the decor looked at least 15yrs old, with peeling wallpaper and scuff marks on the walls/furniture. Not what I expected from a 5 star hotel. The other big problem, and the reason I will not return here or recommend it, is that although it was January and freezing outside, the room was unbearably hot - even with all the heating turned off. The window only opened slightly and although we tried to sleep with it open (and therefore noisy), the stuffy atmosphere kept us awake and very uncomfortable for 2 nights. Checking out took ages too, and BEWARE of your bar bill when settling the bill... we were charged for moving drinks about when looking at flavours etc. They did take off what we said we hadn't drunk.
Fantastic shower and Elemis freebies, but overall disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    676
    266
    84
    35
See reviews for
148
305
206
853
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
austin, texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Service was excellent, location excellent by Frankfurt Hauptbahnhof, right on Main river. Food was good. Absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Booked on a special through Expedia, for a 1 night layover in Frankfurt en route to Sydney via Thailand, this hotel turned out to be one of the worst I have stayed in. Crowded with international business guests, the staff at reception were polite but overwhelmed, making check-in slow. Although the room seemed reasonably clean, the discovery of a previous guest's used band-aid stuck to the back of the Intercontinental Hotel magazine, was a rather unsavoury experience. The main problem however turned out to be the inability to adjust the air conditioning. Heated to almost 30 degrees the room was unbearably hot. When a staff member came to assist, their solution was to lock the window open. This resulted in alternating waves of heat and cold drafts continuously throughout the night. The staff member was reasonably apologetic but the problem remained unsolved resulting in NO SLEEP, partly because of the cold/hot situation and partly because of the street noise that was audible through the open window.

How is it that a 5 star hotel doesn't have individual thermostats or heaters in each room? VERY POOR.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydneysider3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, 21 January 2011
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your experiences in the hotel during your stay. We are truly sorry about what happened to you as a valued guest to our hotel.

Unfortunately we are not able to undo what has happened and that you had an unpleasant stay with us.

We are taking this information very seriously and really want to work out a solution together with you. In order to have a more detailed insight into your complaint we would like to get in direct contact with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAPAN
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Intercontinental Hotels never disappoint. This is a classy hotel, close to the city center with first rate restaurants and bars. Parking is expensive, but if one looks there can be plenty of parking space around, especially around the river Main. The rooms are small, but not cramped. The same cannot be said about the bathrooms, which require a bit of aerobics to move around. Amenities provided are of good quality. Free Internet only at the business center in the reception area. The staff is very attentive, responsive and helpful. The city center is within walking distance. Surprisingly rates are extremely competitive compared to similar properties.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WEISSBIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Large professionally run hotel a 20 minute walk from the main shopping street in Frankfurt. Just around the corner from our paymasters in the ECB. Room was clean and comfortable but the bathroom was a bit small. My only two criticisms are that although it was -2 degrees outside and we had turned off all radiators and air conditioning, the room was swelteringly hot; and that the bar is horrendously overpriced. Near the train station.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GromitDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

......the staff was extremely accomodating. We enjoyed a breakfast buffet that tried to accomodate the tastes of people from all over the world. We weren't bored with that! The staff answered our questions, gave directions and advice, when asked. We will go back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveandcynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We stayed for one night in December 2010 between arriving from Asia on a long-distance flight and taking an early-morning train the next day. The hotel was very easy to find, about ten minutes' walk from the main Frankfurt train station. The hotel was clean

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Traveller06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#23 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,332 reviews
Innenstadt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
#46 of 269 in Frankfurt
905 reviews
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomers
#13 of 269 in Frankfurt
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Frankfurt

Property: InterContinental Frankfurt
Address: Wilhelm-Leuschner-Str. 43, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Frankfurt 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental® Frankfurt welcomes you to a metropolis which successfully combines international flair with regional traditions. As one of the largest conference & business hotels in the city of Frankfurt we offer 467 elegantly designed rooms and 19 flexible meetings rooms, out of which 17 offer natural daylight. Our hotel is ideally located on the banks of the river Main and in the heart of the city with easy access to Frankfurt International Airport which is only a 20 minutes’ drive away and the Main Train Station that is within 5 minutes walking distance. If you visit the Trade Fair Grounds “Messe Frankfurt” – you only need to travel one stop on the underground. We provide the perfect location to experience the best of Frankfurt as most of the cultural, historical and recreational sites are within a short walking distance of the hotel. Visit the city hall “Romer”, to discover historical treasures, loose yourself in one of the many museums that are located alongside the river banks or experience the best shopping opportunities the city has to offer. Internationally renowned designers and trendy fashion labels invite you to enjoy extensive shopping sprees. Our 467 rooms and suites are elegantly designed and offer you all the amenities for a relaxed and enjoyable stay - including complimentary internet access during your stay. Our meeting space on the 2nd floor accommodates 12 meetings rooms of different sizes with the 605m² large ballroom that can accommodate up to 700 persons as the centerpiece. The exclusive meeting rooms with floor-length windows on the 21st floor are ideal for confidential meetings and private conferences above the city´s roof tops. The highlight on this floor is the Salon Silhouette with an exclusive ambience and breath-taking panoramic view of Frankfurt. Our experienced conference team provides a seamless service from start to finish and the know-how to make every meeting or even a success. If you cherish culinary delights, let us pamper you in our Signatures Veranda Restaurant. Our international kitchen crew – lead by our Chef de Cuisine Klaus Bramkamp – combines traditional crafts with creativity, focusing on sourcing all ingredients from carefully selected local producers in the region of Hesse. Or unwind in our DAXx Mainhattan´s Bar and enjoy delicious cocktails, fine wine and exquisite snacks to end the day. If you are looking for an offsite catering in Frankfurt, we offer tailor-made event concepts in spectacular external locations to create magical moments through our own Caterings’ Best by InterContinental® experts. We look forward to welcoming you in our hotel for your next stay in Frankfurt! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing