We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice part of Frankfurt, busy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Frankfurt
Ranked #35 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Verona, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Nice part of Frankfurt, busy hotel”
Reviewed 19 February 2011

I was not familiar with this part of Frankfurt until I stayed here, but this hotel was in a very nice location, within a few minutes walk to the older part of town and very close to the river. The hotel itself was very busy and crowded, but the staff checked me in right away and the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was expensive (but this is true in most European hotels; either the breakfast is included in the room price or it is an exhorbitant extra charge) but tasty. We were able to use the business center in the lobby for free -- we held a conference call in a private office-like setting and it worked very well for us. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenVerona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    675
    265
    84
    35
See reviews for
148
305
206
851
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerpen
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

As in many of Big city hotels this one in not an exception. Outdated and overpriced. Dirty chair in the room, old-fashioned furniture, spots on the walls, low noise isolation... sorry, not for that price. Bar next to the reception extremely expensive! Nevertheless, very helpful and great staff!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elenant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Incredibly disappointed with this hotel. The rooms, while clean, are smaller than a cabin on a cruise ship. My bathroom is 6 feet x 5 feet. I'm here for 3 days/4 nights and am on 3rd floor overlooking the bloody air conditioners units. No facilities to speak of - no spa, no pool, weak gym, etc. No wireless in rooms, just lobby and the TV sets are from the early 1990's.

Overall achitecture is eastern block. I made the choice based on it being an "Intercontinental" hotel. Last time I assume they're all the "Carlton" in Cannes.

Virtually all of the above is trivial and something for which I can survive, but when they knock on your door when the "do not disturb" sign is out - that's when you've lowered your standards to less than a Holiday Inn.

Feeling duped...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, 17 February 2011
Dear User brianterk,

first of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to communicate your experiences during your stay in our hotel. Please accept my sincerest apologies for disturbing you although you have placed the DND-sign. We certainly respect the privacy of our guests and please be assured, that we will investigate in this matter to avoid similar occurrences in future.

Due to the booking situation we were unfortunately not able to give you one of our many guest rooms with a spectacular view over the skyline of Frankfurt or over the river Main.

I sincerely hope that you will give us the chance to demonstrate the high standards you can rightfully expect from an InterContinental Hotel. Therefore we would like to get in direct contact with you.

With renewed apologies I remain,
With best regards

Stefan Frank
Resident Manager / Hoteldirektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

I enjoyed my short stay in this hotel in Frankfurt. The hotel is close to the central station. Hence, the location was very convenient for me as I traveling by ICE to Munich next day. There was no free wifi available in the rooms. This was the only negative about the hotel. So, I felt the hotel was a bit expensive. The rooms were quite and nice. The staff was warm and friendly.

Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank oxymoron2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

This was my second stay with InterContinental Frankfurt, this time in a “deluxe room” facing city.

The room itself was a little disappointing in terms of quality. It is a tad dated and in need of renovations. I must stress that the room and furnishings were very clean, but the interior reminded more of a Holiday Inn.

Despite this being a deluxe room, in hierarchy only a step down from their Club Rooms, there were no bathrobes, slippers or large amenity box (only the small square with bare essentials). There is no ironing board in the room but this and bathrobe was delivered within minutes of requesting it. A flower arrangement was on the desk which was noticed favourably as it does give the room a bit more warmth.

The bathroom is clean but small. The bathtub disappointing as it was (or at least seemed) smaller than the usual standard size bathtub. Fabric shower curtain, so be creative for it not to stick to you while showering.

The minibar is automatic and well stocked and has a top shelf for personal items.

My room was one removed from the elevators. I have not figured out of the constant whooshing sound was from the elevators or strong winds outside but suspect it may have been elevators. Soundproofing is not quite good as you can hear anything and everything happening outside the door.

Windows do open. There’s a request to keep the windows closed as much as possible to avoid mosquitoes entering in the summertime.

The general area of the hotel is spacious and I always found an open elevator on the ground floor, so waits are minimal.

I was offered access to the club lounge which is spacious and separated into half a sitting area and half with tables and chairs. A buffet breakfast is offered with warm items and a good variety of cold options. Plenty of juices and refrigerated drinks as well as a great variety of teas and espresso machine are available. In the evening canapés and even a warm meal is offered which contrasts in a positive way to other IC Club Lounges which offer less.

The staff seems to be the biggest asset here. Concierge was a bit grumpy when handing over an umbrella but the check-in staff and guest relations staff in the Club Lounge were accommodating, friendly and helpful.

Overall and objectively I can recommend this hotel. There are a few inconveniences but made up by other positive factors. It is not up to the standard in furnishings and “feel good” atmosphere as the IC in Cologne or Berlin but sufficient for a brief stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canandorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights, on business (Messe). Made my choice based on the very nice price/quality ratio, taking into consideration the trade fair period.

Rooms:
One of the main cons of my stay there - had a room on 17th floor, facing the city (skyscrapers), but with two! connecting doors. The noise was coming from the doors every evening / night, which was certainly unpleasant. The room is quite big, the bed was good, enough pillows. Tea/coffee set, safe, bathrobe. Bathroom was fine. Another small dissapointment - you can't switch off the light in the room from the bed)) BTW, in-room LAN internet was free of charge.

Location:
Just minutes from the main train station. Taxi from airport ±23 Euro, to Messe ±8 Euro, to downtown ±7 Euro.

Food: charge for breakfast is 31 Euro (if not included into the room rate), I preffered to eat outside.

Directions:
Mosch-Mosch noodle bar 3 mins walk - cross the street (from the river wing), turn left and walk 200-300m forward. The average price for big ramen is 8 Euro.

Leon's Italian restaurant - situated in the city wing of the hotel. Crowdy. Booking is highly recommended. Good deserts, the rest is nothing special.

All in all, the hotel is quite good for the price they offer. Certainly not a 5*star, but if you want to save some money it could be your option.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Staff were lovely, although the barman was overly suggestive to my female colleague and I when we sat down to have a snack. After exploring the surrounding area, we discovered we were surrounded by sex shops, tackyness and leering men, so unless you are looking for this, I suggest another area of the city. The rooms were clean and quite nice, but the decor looked at least 15yrs old, with peeling wallpaper and scuff marks on the walls/furniture. Not what I expected from a 5 star hotel. The other big problem, and the reason I will not return here or recommend it, is that although it was January and freezing outside, the room was unbearably hot - even with all the heating turned off. The window only opened slightly and although we tried to sleep with it open (and therefore noisy), the stuffy atmosphere kept us awake and very uncomfortable for 2 nights. Checking out took ages too, and BEWARE of your bar bill when settling the bill... we were charged for moving drinks about when looking at flavours etc. They did take off what we said we hadn't drunk.
Fantastic shower and Elemis freebies, but overall disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#24 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,320 reviews
Innenstadt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
#46 of 269 in Frankfurt
902 reviews
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomers
#13 of 269 in Frankfurt
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Frankfurt

Property: InterContinental Frankfurt
Address: Wilhelm-Leuschner-Str. 43, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Frankfurt 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental® Frankfurt welcomes you to a metropolis which successfully combines international flair with regional traditions. As one of the largest conference & business hotels in the city of Frankfurt we offer 467 elegantly designed rooms and 19 flexible meetings rooms, out of which 17 offer natural daylight. Our hotel is ideally located on the banks of the river Main and in the heart of the city with easy access to Frankfurt International Airport which is only a 20 minutes’ drive away and the Main Train Station that is within 5 minutes walking distance. If you visit the Trade Fair Grounds “Messe Frankfurt” – you only need to travel one stop on the underground. We provide the perfect location to experience the best of Frankfurt as most of the cultural, historical and recreational sites are within a short walking distance of the hotel. Visit the city hall “Romer”, to discover historical treasures, loose yourself in one of the many museums that are located alongside the river banks or experience the best shopping opportunities the city has to offer. Internationally renowned designers and trendy fashion labels invite you to enjoy extensive shopping sprees. Our 467 rooms and suites are elegantly designed and offer you all the amenities for a relaxed and enjoyable stay - including complimentary internet access during your stay. Our meeting space on the 2nd floor accommodates 12 meetings rooms of different sizes with the 605m² large ballroom that can accommodate up to 700 persons as the centerpiece. The exclusive meeting rooms with floor-length windows on the 21st floor are ideal for confidential meetings and private conferences above the city´s roof tops. The highlight on this floor is the Salon Silhouette with an exclusive ambience and breath-taking panoramic view of Frankfurt. Our experienced conference team provides a seamless service from start to finish and the know-how to make every meeting or even a success. If you cherish culinary delights, let us pamper you in our Signatures Veranda Restaurant. Our international kitchen crew – lead by our Chef de Cuisine Klaus Bramkamp – combines traditional crafts with creativity, focusing on sourcing all ingredients from carefully selected local producers in the region of Hesse. Or unwind in our DAXx Mainhattan´s Bar and enjoy delicious cocktails, fine wine and exquisite snacks to end the day. If you are looking for an offsite catering in Frankfurt, we offer tailor-made event concepts in spectacular external locations to create magical moments through our own Caterings’ Best by InterContinental® experts. We look forward to welcoming you in our hotel for your next stay in Frankfurt! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing