We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Frankfurt City Centre and Financial District
Ranked #165 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Ok ... So first off ... This hotel is in the red light district. Can't really fault them for that but it's worth noting.

However the room was at the top of an unlit stairwell. Light broken and not fixed during my stay. Very dangerous as it was very dark at night.

In the room the tv initially did not work. Tried to call reception but the phone was dead. Someone did fix these things as when I came back from dinner and switched on the tv it went straight to a hardcore porn movie. I imagine that might upset some people.

The room was also extremely cold. The heating was ineffective and the radiator pipes rattled all night which kept me awake. Also didnt help that my phone rang at 3am with someone looking for Gunther.

Bottom line. Will never stay at a Ramada again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Viltvodel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at the hotel in April 2011. The hotel is close to hauptbahnhof. And it takes you only 15 min to reach hauptbahnhof from the airport by train. Our room was good but small. You can reach city center and Zeil on foot, it takes you about 20 min.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bazik_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This hotel sells itself as a "classical 4 Star house". Trust me (and previous commenters), it is not even worth 3 stars. The hotel consists of two connected houses. The one where my room was had dark unfriendly floors with dirty old carpets. In contrast to what I had ordered, the room turned out to be one of those "budget" rooms. It was super small (I have never seen such small bedrooms in my live), with the same dirty carpets, a very old TV (which did not work properly) and a minibar. To be fair I should say that the room was clean. However, giving such terrible rooms to customers and then sell the hotel as 4 star is just outrageous! "Budget" or not, I don't care. If I order a 4 star it has to be four star and the rooms should not look like they are 30 years old. Second, the hotel claims to allow free wireless internet access. This is only partly true. The wireless is indeed free but slowed down to a few kilobits/s traffic. I have never ever experienced such a cheat. The breakfast buffet is unacceptable as well. At around 8am, at least 5 plates on the buffet had been emptied already. Finally, a few words about the location. This hotel is very close to the main station of Frankfurt. However, what I did not know then but do know now: this area is a red-light district with an open drug scene. Coming home at around midnight, I had to pass by a drug addict injecting heroine into her veins on the street. Furthermore, the main station turned out to be not very central at all because it is only connected to a few metro lines.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bioko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramadafra_11, Manager at Ramada Frankfurt City Centre and Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Thanks for your comments which we would like to reply to. You are refering to our Economy rooms, which are in the description refered to as small. We have several categories of rooms and always give the option to upgrade. The breakfast buffet is refreshed if a plate is empty, so sorry for the inconvenience if you came at a very busy time. The wireless is free and usually very stable at an average speed. Maybe not enough for movies, but to do regular emais and check for updates on the web. We hope you give us the opportunity to make your stay more comfortable next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

If money is the object and you need to be near the train station, this is hard to beat. Neighborhood is a little gritty and air conditioning is weak or non-existent but free WiFi and very good breakfast balance that. Staff was good and rooms clean, so can't complain - just not a place to go for vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueSk1z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Hotel was clean, quiet and close to most tourist activities. Breakfast in the restaurant was good with wide selection of food to choose from. Reception was friendly and efficient. would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daljj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I booked a twin room for single occupancy. The actual room was no larger than a cupboard & only had one bed and no desk or chair. The reason I had booked a twin was to have a bit more space as I was on business. The manager was very unhelpful and said that it was a twin room, but a "single twin"! To cap it all the TV remote control did not work (held together with tape) and the tea/coffee supplies were not refreshed until prompted. Very dissapointing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lhscontrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Good hotel. Clean rooms and bathroom. Helpful, English-speaking staff. Good variety of food and drink at breakfast. Comfortable beds. A bit characterless in the rooms, but I've been to worse hotels. The rooms had obviously been recently renovated.

I was travelling on my own, but had I been with a partner, I think I might have been annoyed that the bathroom light shines over the bed through a big opaque glass window. As it was, I used the bathroom light for extra light in the main room, but if someone was getting up in the middle of the night and trying not to wake their companion, it could be difficult.

Before I went I saw that some of the other reviews mentioned feeling unsafe in the streets around the hotel. I can't say that this was a problem, though I did not have occasion to do any wandering around on my own after dark. Some of the surrounding streets did seem a little bit sketchy, but the actual street where the hotel is had nice looking restaurants and cafes and did not feel at all unsafe.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Bahnhofsviertel
Memphis Hotel
Memphis Hotel
#130 of 269 in Frankfurt
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsviertel
Ibis Styles Frankfurt City Hotel
Innenstadt
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Frankfurt City Centre and Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Frankfurt City Centre and Financial District

Address: Weserstr. 17, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Cosmos Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £42 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Frankfurt City Centre and Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our four-star hotel captivates because of its classy and timeless character. Only five minutes of walking distance away from the Frankfurt central train station, especially our business travelers appreciate the excellent location directly at the financial district. To make your business trip successful, we offer you well-spaced and equipped hotel rooms, provide a meeting room for up to eight people and cater for a culinary experience and entertainment in the evening. Enjoy oriental delicacies in the Lebanese specialty restaurant L’Emir, watch the exciting belly dance show every Saturday or start into the evening with live music. In summer you also have the opportunity to sit on our terrace and spend mild evenings outdoor. The balance between job and relaxation is very important. Latter you get when you take some time to discover Frankfurt’s interesting sightseeing spots that are all reachable by foot. Museums, malls, the Main riverside or the fair can be reached fast. Not only the excellent location but also the premium service shall enhance your visit and make your trip as pleasant as possible. Moreover, we provide free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel and you have the opportunity to brew tea and coffee in your room. Your comfort and welfare lie at our hearts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Frankfurt City Centre and Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Frankfurt City Frankfurt
Ramada Frankfurt
Frankfurt Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing