We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but overpriced and with numerous deficiencies - internet 12,30 Euros a day !!!”
Review of Maingau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maingau Hotel
Ranked #120 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good location but overpriced and with numerous deficiencies - internet 12,30 Euros a day !!!”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This is the typical hotel that gets away with lots of things just because it is well located to both, the bar district of Sachsenhausen and, more importantly, the Frankfurt trade show ground. There is nearly always a big international fair in town, so the hotel is fully booked for most of the year. In my opinion this is the reason why they feel they don´t have to run the extra mile.
Things I like:
- 5 mins walk to tram stop and 8 mins walk to S-Bahn to the fair ground
- lots of bars, restaurants, convenience shops in the area which is also very safe at night time
- nice breakfast room with good typical cold German breakfast, apparently the restaurant is very good but have never tried it
- overall very clean
- small but functional bathroom, good water pressure and heat though the shower head must be the cheapest they could find
- very friendly and helpful staff
Things I don´t like
- virtually no sound insulation, you can hear everything from next door and the floor you are on
- very basic, dated furniture, not enough coat hangers and storing space especially since most guests come for a trade show with lots of business clothes
- flimsy towels and bedsheets, unusual for Germany where you find a cuddly duvet even in the most basic hotels;
- most annoying: internet costs 12.50 Euros per day, apparently they are in some long-term contract, quite a lame excuse in my opinion
Overall one gets the feeling the hotel tries to get the most money they can from business travellers. I will go back there for shows but will start looking for alternatives.

Room Tip: rooms on the back of the hotel are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liv V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    60
    39
    7
    6
See reviews for
14
30
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Was enrolled at the Goethe Institut for a few weeks and requested accomodation, didn't expect it to be this good. The single room at the back I was in was a little dated but such a great place - fantastic location, breakfast and staff. The room even had a fridge and the staff were more than happy to lend cutlerly
PS Frau Meier at reception is lovely and so helpful, look out for her.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

the good thing about the Hotel:
- very helpful staff
- clean and cozy rooms
- good room's amenities mainly in the bathroom (the hand wash and the shampoo are amazing)
- tasty breakfast especially the croissants
- 7 minutes walk to the old city

the not-so-good thing:
- no late breakfast, and you have to run early to get the good things.
- Avoid doing international calls from the hotel. i did a 5 minutes call to Lebanon that was charged 35 euros!
-internet is only free if you use the hotel ipad displayed at the front desk, don't think you can stay standing for more than 15 minutes it's only helpful if you need to check your email. internet charge is12 euros for 24 hours use.

Room Tip: - ask for the international call rate before calling otherwise you could be chocked
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayaOutayek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

Very clean and nice hotel! Nothing fancy but just nice! Comfortable, bright rooms! For Frankfurt, this place is quite cheap. The location is excellent! Close the river and Old City! The stuff is helpful. I will come back!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kryniooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I spent a lot of time trying to figure out where to stay in Frankfurt, knowing nothing about it. Sachsenhausen seemed like a good neighborhood that was still authentic and dominated by locals but close to the big trappings if you wanted to get there. Turned out to be the right choice.

The staff was pleasant which is always a good start. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet, albeit a bit dark with strange lighting. I really liked the neighborhood - a great mix of residential, businesses, restaurants and a park across the street. It's a short walk to the river and the life that comes along with this. It was warm when we there and people were sitting on their balconies drinking and having a good time - good vibes.

For getting there, it depends which station you use. Go to Frankfurt Main Sud by bus from the airport or the main train hub HFB, and you will just have a 5 minute walk (or 10 if directionally challenged like my wife and I). I think a lot of people just go the HFB, the main station and walk from there, and that is a bit of a hike and a mistake.

The breakfast buffet was quite good with a server that was a bit of a joker (in a good way).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Res_Judicata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The hotel is conveniently located to the train station and about 20 minutes from FRA by bus. Room was comfortable, and very quiet. Front desk was extremely pleasant ans helpful. Breakfast was included with our reservation, which was delicious.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Olivia9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed here one night because we were flying out of Frankfurt the next morning. The website implied that it was a little closer to the airport than it actually is - about a 20 minute cab ride. There is public transit but it is not very close by. It is also not close to the downtown area either. The positives about the location were that the area is safe, and there are many different shops/restaurants nearby. There is also a very nice playground directly across the street if you are traveling with children (as we were). The staff was super nice and helpful, and the included breakfast buffet was probably the best we had while in Europe.

The negatives though were the rooms and layout of the hotel. There are technically two buildings that are connected by a long hallway. This is fine except if you are in the second, further away building, and have a bit of luggage (as we did). It means that you have to drag your luggage up and down several sets of stairs to even get to an elevator to get to your room. The room we stayed in was very spacious, which was nice, and there was a large bathroom as well. Everything was super clean. There is no air conditioning though, and seeing as it was a warm day was quite hot and stuffy. My students (I was leading a study abroad trip) had rooms in the first building and said they were extremely small, so I guess size depends on where your room is. The rooms were all pretty outdated - they looked like they had been decorated in the 70s.

Another negative is that internet is not free - it is 12.50 Euro for 24 hours.

So overall the stay was fine, but I would likely not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scmommy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Hotel Kautz
Hotel Kautz
#141 of 269 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Eazires Royal City Hotel
Eazires Royal City Hotel
#226 of 269 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Süd
Hotel Am Berg
Hotel Am Berg
#98 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Novum Hotel Primus Frankfurt Sachsenhausen
Hotel Cult
#62 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Süd
Derag Livinghotel Frankfurt
Derag Livinghotel Frankfurt
#47 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maingau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maingau Hotel

Property: Maingau Hotel
Address: Schifferstr. 38-40, 60594 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maingau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maingau Hotel with its restaurant "Döpfner's im Maingau" wants to be your home abroad, making your stay as agreeable as possible, no matter whether you are on a business trip or on a privat holiday in Frankfurt.The 78 rooms with their modern style ambiance are all equipped with direct dial telephone, mini bar, satellite TV, internet access (W-LAN), bath or shower facilities, hairdryer and a working desk.The hotel has been managed by the owner’s family for over 60 years now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maingau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maingau Hotel Catering

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing