We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice part of Frankfurt”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bornheimer Hof Hotel
Ranked #213 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice part of Frankfurt”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I used to live in Bornheim and like staying there when I am in Frankfurt on business. I get to jog my old routes, walk up and down Berger Str., and generally enjoy a quieter, more traditional part of Frankfurt than is available in the center of the city. This is not a luxury hotel, but (in my opinion) very adequate, clean, good breakfast, and a location that allows use of the U-Bahn (underground). Berger Str. has lots of dining options (most of them priced moderately) and lots of opportunities to sit outside. There is an Irish Pub 100m away that I hadn't seen before (and didn't try on this trip). The reception area is tiny, but the two staff members I dealt with were friendly. Don't know how good their English is as I still speak pretty good German, but the young lady in the morning helped get my train tickets (booked online) printed out. All in all, a great value for the money and a really nice part of Frankfurt.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Berger Str. are obviously going to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
9
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I had to go to Frankfurt for convention. Bornheimer Hof is a very expensive three star hotel. maybe all hotels in Frankfurt are overpriced during the convention, i do not know. The room is extremely small, no space to open your luggage. Plenty of street noise. Inexperienced young staff at the reception. Breakfast ok though. Hot water comes late. A bottle of water costs three euro.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goettingen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Perfect for seeing Frankfurt - in a cool and characterful area but at the quieter end of the street so not noisy; the hotel is moderately basic but clean and welcoming and still has some character; it's not luxurious (thin walls, squidgy beds) but it is still a nice and cosy base, and great value for money. The staff were very helpful, printing us maps and sending our keys when we left them behind, and the breakfast is really great - generous and good. A great German restaurant just down the street and scores of nice cafes, and the half-hour walk into the centre is a great excursion in itself through the neighbourhood and some beautiful parks. Would absolutely go here again if ever in Frankfurt. It's ideally located if you have to go to the American Consulate and much cheaper than the chain hotel near the consulate.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cautioustraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This place to say the least just sucks. We were visiting family and friends and decidied to stay close by. we are positive they went through our luggage when we were not there. The rooms were cleaned by dirty people who use the same cloths on the sinks and glasses that they used to clean the toliets. They turned off the hot water in our boys room so no matter how much we ask them they refused to turn it on. When we were half way through our stay while having breakfast in the morning the lady in a very loud voice demanded we pay for all of our stay in advance. This was done in front of other guests. We have travelled the world and stayed in some fantastic places but this place is just sucks. The walls are paper thin and you drag your luggage up many flights of stairs. They are not helpful for any information and refused to call a taxi when we wanted to go somewhere. Avoid the restraunt downstairs also as it really sucks. The breakfast room is okay but the lady is from a place called hell.

Room Tip: do your homework on the hotel, location and be careful of reviews not all sound as good as they say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank livingmauitime g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Very nice breakfast with HUGE variety and volume though it's the same everyday. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. It is convenient to public transport (don't get caught without a ticket!) and the neighborhood is picturesque and has lots of eateries and so on to make staying there even more pleasant. The Italian restaurant downstairs is fine too. The internet conked out in the rooms while we were there, but we could access it from the breakfast room anytime and it wasn't the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: There are two nice cats in the window across Freihofstrasse. Get a room where you can see them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jbbmiramar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

A mutual friend living down the street from the Bornheimer recommended this hotel....perfect location close to lots of restaurants and bars. Our room was at the end of the hall and perfectly secluded. I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast buffett and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a decent hotel at a good price. We also tried the Italian restuarant below the hotel - very good food and wine.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank purple_247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed at the Bornhneimer Hoff for four days in June. The Hotel looks to have been recently renovated, the rooms were pristine. Helpful friendly staff.

This may look like it's out of the way but actually the street it's on has some great restaurants and bars within a few minutes walk that aren't aimed at tourists (i.e. expensive) plus there's a historic bar/restaurant virtually across the road (look for the original town hall 100m which has a courtyard where you can enjoy great traditional food and beer under the trees.

There's a subway stop close by putting you within easy reach of the central city - one advantage with being a little out of the central area is it's quieter. They don't mention this in their ad or on their website, but they have free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pirrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Mercator Hotel
Mercator Hotel
#192 of 269 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Alexander am Zoo
#59 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Innenstadt
Alleenhof Hotel
Alleenhof Hotel
#246 of 269 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Villa Orange
Villa Orange
#87 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
25hours Hotel The Goldman
#19 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Select Hotel Aria
#186 of 269 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bornheimer Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bornheimer Hof Hotel

Property: Bornheimer Hof Hotel
Address: Bergerstrasse 283, 60385 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bornheim , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bornheimer Hof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bornheimer Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bornheimer Hof

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing