We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night when in transit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
Ranked #50 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We booked the hotel for one night after a flight from Singapore that arrived in the evening. It's easy to get to the hotel as very close to the airport. Unfortunately as we arrived so did many others and we had to wait for half an hour before it was our turn to check-in, not what you need after 13 hours in a plane with 2 small kids!
Even so the room was pre-booked and paid it still took 10 Minutes to complete the check-in process - not much of German efficiency here....!
The family room consisted of 6 bunk beds, we were upgraded as the rooms for 4 were full. The rooms are small but clean. Although it's a 2 star hotel max they do use Hans Grohe Bathroom appliances and the shower was great. However you had to put on the pillow cover and duvet cover yourself.
We were out first thing in the morning after a Coffee and Croissant and can only recommend the place under circumstances like ours.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DT8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback - we hope you a nice stay in Frankfurt
Until the next time....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

Well, this place is located very close to FRA airport and I believe this is the only advantage it has.
Traveling a lot through FRA airport I stayed in many nearby hotels and this one by far is the worst.

First, there is no shuttle service TO the hotel when you arrive (or it is next to impossible to locate and catch): all of the airport-hotels use the same pick-up point near gate A of Terminal 1 (properly indicated spot with a time-schedule, hotels' names and phone numbers) but Meininger is not among them. So, take a taxi for 10 EUR Fortunately, there is a shuttle FROM the hotel to the airport for 3 EUR (not a big deal, but in all other places I stayed near FRA shuttle was free) and the time I requested there were no places available (small mini-bus running).
Second, rooms are very tiny and extremely basic - like a hostel or a dormitory. Bathroom is so small I could hardly get onto a WC pan which is literally squeezed between a shower and a wall
Third, and the worst for me: bed is very cheap and has a very hard mattress and a pillow so it is really uncomfortable (I am used to traveling and not very much demanding about plush luxurious bedding but this one was really a piece of wood with some squeaky springs covered by a thin bed sheet).
Forth, they charged for that type of lodging more than 150 USD per night (!) as of end of Dec 2013 (breakfast is extra 10 bucks).
On top of that the guy at the reception was very inhospitable: neither a smile nor a polite welcoming word or an explanation about hotel and its services (probably, there are no services to tell about?)
Would definitely never come back or advise this place to anyone

Room Tip: The best tip: chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viktor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is the best value hotel I have ever stayed in. And I am typically travel 100k miles per annum for business. Its small, but clean and updated. Excellent staff. Decent wifi. Excellent choice for overnight before flying out of Frankfurt. The small rooms would not make it suitable for an extended stay, but for a one-nighter before flying out, this is truly a great value hotel. Limited meal options, but that is easily solved by a 5 minute taxi ride to neighboring villages. Inexpensive shuttle to airport, but book early, ideally at check-in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadWarriorMom4Girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Had the great pleasure to stay for one night last week. There are many positive aspects why I would return if the need arises.
Staff at reception. Very efficient, professional and friendly. Good looking too.
Room. What do you really need for one night? It was there.
Eating. Some would say, it is limited, but IMHO food offered appears to be good, even though I did not have the opportunity to partake of their breakfast.
Adult beverages. Available. Prices are not unreasonable.
There are some opportunities.
Pick-up at FRA. Only in Terminal 2 Door D/E 8? Suggest to add a small drawing to your website about the exact pick-up location, as the hotel shuttle pick-up lane is on the outside of three possible lanes. Why not also in Terminal 1?
Bus. Only 8 pax at a time. Observed that drivers cooperate with each other and take care of passengers. Very good.
Although not asked for, was dropped off at Terminal 1 (like many other pax).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMX280150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I think this is the most cleanliness and value hotel that i have ever stayed during my holidays.
The room is simple with modern design, the bed is very comfy, the location to airport and the shuttle bus is on time.

Keep it up !

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

nice hotel , minutes to airport , comfortable room and a friendly and helpful staff
I was pleased with the value and the quiet room being so close to the airport. took a cab to the airport since the van was already in route but it was very reasonable

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

It's very basic hotel near the airport but extremely clean and good value for money with free transport from the airport but with a little surcharge when return back,The breakfast is adequate
The rooms are very comfortable and the hotel is Eco friendly which is a plus point and the entire hotel is non smoking with free Wifi and the breakfast is around seven euro.The staff are efficient and humble.The restaurant is very small and most of the time crowded so no place to seat.
The choice of food is limited and the taste is so so.Apart from that I recommend the hotel for a one
Night stopover.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor away from the lift with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hilmiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you very much for your nice feedback. We apreciate your comment.
It is very nice to hear that you liked your stay in our house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Frankfurt Airport
4.3 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Messe
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MOXY Frankfurt Airport
MOXY Frankfurt Airport
#62 of 270 in Frankfurt
165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frankfurt Airport
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
#42 of 270 in Frankfurt
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport

Address: Bessie-Coleman-Str. 11, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: £42 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... it doesn't matter what you take off with, you'll always land well at the MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport. The modern airport hotel is located at Gateway Gardens, only a short walk from Terminal 2. The entire hotel down to the 168 rooms is playfully themed "The Golden Age of Travel". An overnight stay at the airport has never been cheaper, and you can even hold your meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing