We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cocktails”
Review of Cantina Mescal - CLOSED

Cantina Mescal
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sachsenhausen-Nord
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cocktails”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Friendly service although a little slow. Great variety of cocktails tasty & a good price. Extensive menu all dishes very tasty. A lively bar & restaurant in a bustling location.

Helpful?
Thank viewbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    8
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“"Happy Hour" as usual, wasn't packed out for a change.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Sunday afternoon's regular walk down by the river Main, followed by a walk down Schweizerstrasse to one of our favorite Mexican restaurants - Cantina Mescal. For a change we didn't have to wait for a table as you normally need to make a reservation. It wasn't too busy and within a few minutes we we're served our cocktails and shortly afterwards our 'sort of starters' Taco con Pollo and Taco de Carne. Both were tasty and reasonable in price. The young waitress who served us was very pleasant with a friendly smile. My wife recommends the Pina Colada - "it's the best in town".

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAMIAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Plata, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good and cheap”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Food (soup, fish and salad) was good and at a relative cheap price. Service was ok. Good location, with windows overlooking Schweizerstrasse and Textostrasse. Typical Mexican atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not bad for what you pay.”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Good drinks and the food is acceptable for the price. The fajitas serving was so big we could have shared it. Good location in a good "eat street".

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LongBlackCoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst...food...EVAR!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

After ten days in central Europe, I needed a taco. Badly. I mentioned this to a colleague and he took me here, where I ordered Tacos con Pollo. Big mistake. I'm a SoCal taco snob, so I was hoping for good food, not necessarily good Mexican food. I got neither. What I got is best described as a fever dream of atomic gringo tacos leftover from the1950s. I don't speak German and didn't go inside, so I won't comment on service or cleanliness. The other negative reviews here are spot on about location and atmosphere. I'll consider whether or not this was the worst food I've ever had on my flight back to SoCal. If I can recall something worse I'll publish a retraction. Regardless, don't eat here. Don't eat here. Don't eat here. Don't eat here. Don't eat here.

Helpful?
3 Thank cactushunter
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Cantina Mescal also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing