We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Money Museum (Geldmuseum der Deutschen Bundesbank) - CLOSED

Money Museum (Geldmuseum der Deutschen Bundesbank)
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Money Museum of the Deutschen Bundesbank contains an extensive collection of coins and currency. The museum is currently closed for renovations until the end of 2016.
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

The museum is very informative. There is a big collection of money from all over the world. Good explanation for every item and even some nice games and lectures that help to understand different economic terms. Free entry. Very recommended!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it, but am a finance geek...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Loved every minute in this place. So interesting, although I am a geek for finance and money. Gift shop wasn't much good, except for chocolate coins just for the novelty.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Conor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“interesting for a short trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was a fun museum and interesting. Not a must see but nice if you're here for awhile or interested in money

Helpful?
1 Thank StaceyM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,019 reviews
735 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
“Cashing In”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Although a bit off the beaten track it is nevertheless easy to reach.The museum is in the basement.The most interesting parts deal with the use and creation of money.Also there are some interactive screens.there is a lot that deals with bank policy and the exchange rate mechanism.I found that all rather dull but the rest of the museum kept me interested for an hour.Not a must see but still worthwhile if you have the time.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wingate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Finest Gold Coins on Show, and a free shopping bag with my purchase”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

The museum is situated in a multi-story building in a pleasant district. Two floors are dedicated to the history of money in Germany. Admission is free. I must have spent two hours doing the rounds, all sorts of money that once was in use is on view. Of course also the current euro banknotes. There are many easy to follow exhibits, but the one interested me most was the wealth of German and other countries' coins in a circular viewing room that is well lit. There are magnifying glasses to slide up and down to enlarge your view of the georgeous gold coins, all well described, German, French, English, many dating back to the Hundred Years War in France, a visiual delight hard to forget!
There is also a gift shop where you can buy mounds of shredded euro notes, but for me
I simply had to get a book on Medieval Coins that I saw earlier in the book section of the museum. Pity, the two pleasant ladies said, we are out of this one. But then one of them said, wait 5 minutes, I will see if there is another copy in the store room upstairs.
Promptly, she appeared with this fantastic bargain for 20 euros, showing hundreds of coins, including 67 colour tables of the finest gold coins in the possession of the Museum. They have been enlarged so that you have 3 inch (7.5 cm) full colour pix.
Ask for MITTELALTERLICHE GOLDMUENZEN. The lady said, that's like a gift, as she handed me my purchase. And got a free GELDMUSEUM cotton shopping bag. WOW!

Helpful?
6 Thank Savvytraveler1586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Money Museum (Geldmuseum der Deutschen Bundesbank) also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing