We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museum of Modern Art (Museum fur Moderne Kunst)
Ranked #36 of 434 things to do in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: MMK Museum für Moderne Kunst Frankfurt am Main is one of the world’s most renowned museums of contemporary art. With its large-scale monographic exhibitions and its outstanding collection comprising over 5,000 works the MMK has been a center of attraction for local and international art lovers since its opening in 1991.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not my thing”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

There's not much in this museum, so it didn't take too long to walk through it. I'm glad I didn't have to pay to get in.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EUReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    101
    55
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Strange museum”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Strange museum, with strange exposes. Maybe its because I don't understand the modern art, but I wasn't the only confused person in this place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Piotr1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I thought this museum was awful. There wasn't a single piece of art I wanted to see. Overall, the quality of museums in Frankfurt was less than I expected and certainly worse than Berlin or Munich - no real comparison- but is one was the worst. The fish place across the street was good for lunch though!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaminDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Whimsical but you can do better....”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have been to quite a few art and modern art galleries. I would say that the Museum of Modern Art in Frankfurt is about average. Like most modern galleries, there really aren't that many exhibits and you can do the place in an hour or so. Some of the art bored me, some was quite whimsical and some was interactive. However, if you've been to places like MOMA in New York, the Hirschorn in DC and many other modern art museums, this one is probably a bit less--but you would expect that given it's in Frankfurt and not in a city like Berlin or Paris. My feeling is that if you are nearby (such as visiting the Cathedral or Film Museum), stop by for a brief visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank planktonrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Franz West exhibit should not be missed”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

From the building to the exhibits this was a great art experience. Not a lot of english but not really necessary. Photography was allowed too. We have not stopped talking about the Franz West exhibit and the other permanent installations we found.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Modern Art (Museum fur Moderne Kunst) also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Modern Art (Museum fur Moderne Kunst)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing