We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer Beware”
Review of Goethe Apartment

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Goethe Apartment
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Buyer Beware”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I booked 3 apartments for 6 days each to attend a family wedding. Without question, the Goethe Apartments advertisement on Expedia is fraudulent. The apartment looks nothing like the photographs. Contrary to the photos and description, allegedly there is only one apartment with a sitting room. We were shown that room and it was dirty and appeared to have a water leak issue in the bathroom. Our room was small, dirty, smelled and looked in many ways like part of an abandoned building, i.e., marked walls, stark and dingy. We checked out after one day due to the condition of the room and the fact it was not as advertised, I explained to the Front-desk person the issues and that we would seek our money back – He simply grunted. Since checking out, I have attempted to work with Expedia to secure a refund. Frankly, they have not met our expectations at all. Expedia promises to call back with a response but does not. Accordingly, we are planning on pursuing an EU Consumer Fraud claim. Whoever wrote the glowing Trip Advisor report was clealy paid to do so or is related to the owner. Buyer Beware.
Bill H

Room Tip: Avoid this establishment entirely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    0
    3
    0
    6
See reviews for
6
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

My mom was in germany fir treatment and we booked an spartment for comfort but the hygiene of this place was so bad she got an infection which we went to the hospital for.

one of the cleaners used body towels to wipe the floors.

we reserved the biggest apartment and they gave us A small one. Only when we complained did they offer an exchange to a bigger room. There is no justification for a mistake like this.

the pictures of the apartments misrepresent the actual rooms. The pictures and rating are far from reality.

The beds were in bad condition which gave my parents back pain

the general state if the rooms bathrooms and the apartment is filthy.

The minor ones are not being offered amenities expected from a four person facility( we booked the biggest room for 4 people)For example dining tables lacking chairs and lack of cutlery and plates. These are insignificant compared to the bad hygiene and lack of decent comfort of this place.

It was a no smoking apartment yet neighbors were smoking and management wasn't responding.

When we wanted to talk to the management they would say he is in Switzerland and can't talk. Only when we called the police did he amazingly show up.

We had reserved this apartment for 14 days and we left after four days because we couldn't take it anymore. They charged us for the entire stay, and at they returned a small portion of it when we took extreme measures.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramintor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Less than 48 hours before our stay, we've been told, like Karan3842 was, that there was a "technical problem" and we must be booked in some partner hotel 10 km west of where we planned to stay.

This is a completely unacceptable business practice, and we will never again stay with any hotelier affiliated with Goethe Apartment.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We booked this apartment through venere.com for four nights in late August. A week after our booking, the management sent me a mail saying that they are shifting my booking for the first night to Everest hotel which is also seems to be managed by them as they have some ‘technical’ problem on that day. I was worried as the hotel has no good reviews and its ranking in TA is way below.

On arrival we reluctantly went to the Everest Hotel which is close to the main train station and we were given a two bedroom attic room at the top which was neat and clean and spacious to our surprise. Frankfurt was unusually warm and this hotel (not Goethe apartment) has no air-conditioning but the guy provided us with two air coolers that made us spend the night comfortably. The breakfast next morning was also good. The hotel actually deserves to a better rating.

We shifted to Goethe apartment after breakfast before we started out to explore Frankfurt. The Goethe apartment is really spacious and new but furnishing was unsatisfactory. There were extra beds and pillow lying in the corner and we had to ask the reception girl to remove it. There was a dining table but no chairs.

The weather was very warm and after much repeated requests we were given one old, small fan and it was difficult to manage those warm nights. The management doesn’t seem to bother to listen or take care of the guests requests in such circumstances.

Our stay wasn’t pleasant but just OK.

Room Tip: Beware it is not aircondtioned so not good during wrm temperatures or very cold nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karan3842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

A fantastic Apartment. Full furnishen with a excellent Kitchen, Very clean and big rooms.The Stafft were very friendly and helpfull. The are ready to help any time.Very close from the Main station and City center.I was there just for 3 Nights but I wished to stay longer coz the apartment was so nice

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Pearl Hotel
#124 of 269 in Frankfurt
150 reviews
Innenstadt
Favored Hotel Plaza
Favored Hotel Plaza
#74 of 269 in Frankfurt
343 reviews
Lloyed Hotel
#170 of 269 in Frankfurt
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Excelsior
#59 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,511 reviews
Hotel Villa Oriental
#121 of 269 in Frankfurt
165 reviews
Minerva
#175 of 269 in Frankfurt
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goethe Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goethe Apartment

Property: Goethe Apartment
Address: Werftstr. 15, 60327 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Goethe Apartment 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Goethe Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing