We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“***AVOID AVOID AVOID***”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Luxor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luxor Hotel
Ranked #247 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“***AVOID AVOID AVOID***”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

You will be met by a man/woman in a cloud of smoke as you enter the lobby. If you're lucky that they are not working you will have a young male at reception with his feet up on counter listening his Ipod. He'll pop out one earphone to listen to your request. When you do get to your room you will greeted to the grubbing, filthiest excuse for a room there is. The carpets, furniture and beds were filthy. And the bathroom is not much better with its bloodstained towels either. And on a finishing note you get one key only for each room, the safe is for decoration and there is no such thing as aircon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Irish_Villan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    16
    46
    28
    56
See reviews for
18
52
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

No air conditioning. (Lady, this isn't Las Vegas) was the response when I asked for a fan. Only decent thing was breakfast. Towels and sheets were threadbare and had to park on street as garage was closed. It was walking distance to zoo and some decent restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandavidson19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

athens
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Dirty hotel everywhere (bed, chair, bathroom, floor), poor service, no feeling of hospitallity. Stay onkly if you can't afford to pay more than 10 euros, which is the right amount of money for this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinyo92000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We never chose to stay at this hotel, but when we arrived at our booked city centre hotel we were told it was closed due to an issue with the water!

We were given this hotel Luxor as a replacement, it was about a 15 minute walk from the city centre which we didn't really want.

The hotel is very budget, very. The rooms and building are in poor condition, and the breakfast also poor, there is nothing positive I can say about the hotel.

The girl on reception however was very friendly and helpful.

We stayed here July 2012

Would we recommend this hotel? NO.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodyWoodwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

My experience of this hotel was bizarre! I had requested a non-smoking room only to be be nearly blown away by the ingrained stench of stale cigarette smoke-in everything from reception to my room and linen and curtains.
I then tried to leave to go for a walk only to find I was unable to open the door. No worries I thought, I'll ring reception. Guess what? The phone didnt work. After banging on the door for nearly one hour a non-English speaking gentleman answered my call. Shortly after the phone rang but I was still unable to answer it. Nearly 40 minutes later the same man came back and opened my door. He brought with him the missing door handle which he then attached! No apology or explanation as to why I was booked into a room with no working phone or door was offered. Oh and I should mention the windows were fixed open at 3inches.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Come on guys, this is 2013. Enough with the staff smoking in Reception. it is terrible for your guests ti have to walk into a smoke filled foyer. The receptionist was lovely and helpful and I asked her why they smoke? She said the the owner does so, they are also allowed to smoke. It was not good. Our floor was a non smoking floor but the smell of cigarette smoke came up the stairs. The rooms were ok. Someone loves bright wall paint. hmmmmm. The carpets were in need of a serious shampoo, but the bed was clean. It is a budget hotel and only $50 euros a night, so good value. It would get 5 stars if they stopped smoking and cleaned the carpets. Oh and paint the rooms and foyers white. It would feel so much cleaner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DunedinBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel was excellently located in terms of proximity to the city centre and the river, however was rather shabby. The whole place reeked of cigarette smoke and the towels were less than fresh smelling. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was modest but plentiful.

Room Tip: Stipulate non smoking, however, I think the rooms may all need a refresh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troccadero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
mainhaus Stadthotel
mainhaus Stadthotel
#142 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Innenstadt
Admiral Hotel
Admiral Hotel
#228 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Grand Hotel Dream
Grand Hotel Dream
#195 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Zeil
Hotel Zeil
#130 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxor Hotel

Property: Luxor Hotel
Address: Allerheilugentor 2-4, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Luxor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxor Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing