We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
United Hostel Frankfurt City Center
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great value for money. Hip, clean, great breakfast, amazingly close to central station. Not sure about a common meeting room since wifi works in rooms. There was a chill lounge but I didn't go. Great music was playing and front reception guy was friendly. Only downside was the weirdness of having to contact reception if you wanted the power turned on by your bed so you could charge devices.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Elanachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hostel was very good: central location, nice and friendly staff, good breakfast (worth the extra 4,50€). The room (female 10bedded dorm) was clean and big enough and the environment is very young and colourful. I would surely suggest it to young travellers (solos or with friends)!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Valeria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The good:
Clean, comfortable, flashpacker-style hostel located minutes from Frankfurt's main train station. Bedding was particularly clean and comfortable. Convenient lockers (without locks) available for each guest. Plenty of toilets. Helpful front desk. The hostel is very secure at the cost of always needing to have your card key with you (even when going to the toilet) No funky smells, no broken furniture or doors, all has been maintained very nicely.

Things I didn't like:
Paying to use electricity is annoying and not convenient in regards to deposit and device.
Needing a card key to power on electricity is also odd.
No free towel. A room key deposit that is valued at more than the key itself. This is an extra large hostel and I can imagine there might be long lines during busy seasons.

Room Tip: Beds in dorms are given as a first-come-first-chose basis. They have a nice system that is simple ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aaroncolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I came to Frankfurt a bit unexpectedly; I hadn't done any research on the place so I felt like a fish out of water--United Hostel was my "oasis" for the week I was there. The cleanliness, decor, and professionalism of the staff made this place feel like a modern hotel with hostel prices! Furthermore, I misplaced a valuable item, and the staff was super-helpful about helping me find it, and even followed up by sending an email after I left!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very close to the main train station - just 10 minutes walking distance. Room is a bit noisy if it is located in the face side of the building and the locking door system is also too loud because you will be listening to all the doors opening and closing in your floor. BUT it is safe, clean and staff people very aware and nice to what you ask for. About the Red Light District, it is not a problem at all because you can avoid it walking along paralel streets during the night time and during the day you would never tell it. From the hostel you can walk to anywhere in town if you are a good walker. There are cheap markets on the street to buy basic products to keep in your room and a McDonalds is just by your side to your convenience too. It is very fare

Room Tip: If you have a room with street front window, you may consider it a bit noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndersonAmorim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is part of a growing trend of hostels that are bring hostels a new name. The economical value for what you get is wonderful. For under twenty euros you get a bar, a large community room to hang out in and play pool, watch tv, or simply catch up on work with plenty of tables ot work on. The hostel rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful. Internet acted up a little but I was appreciative of the fact it was free. A fun time was had by both my friend who was experiencing her first hostel and myself who has stayed at many hostels throughout the years.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center was available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nvphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I chose this because it was just a block down the road from the train station, which i was very interested in staying close to just for convenience. First off let me say that the staff was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The rooms were clean, but the bathroom smelled like urine which was off putting, but it was a decent sized bathroom that I could at least shower and change in. The hostel beds were fine, but it was a little different because in order to have electricity in the room someone had to put their room key in a slot and keep it there for the power... Additionally to have power in your little bunk you had to go rent a light for a refundable 20 euro, but then also pay 1 euro per day of having used it.... whatever not a huge deal, but inconvenient. Then the wifi sucked... and I mean sucked :( i ended up having to go to Starbucks down the street to use their wifi to book my next hostel in the next city. The location was okay... right next to a large sex shop and apparently just a block a way from the red light district. I didn't ever feel unsafe, but I also didn't leave the hostel alone at night. There were people sitting in the hang out areas, but everyone was entranced with their technologies and no one was conversing or making friends. It didn't seem like the bar got very popular for happy hour either. It was an okay place, but I wouldn't choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#8 of 269 in Frankfurt
813 reviews
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#30 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,511 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsviertel
Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt
Frankfurt Central Hostel
#29 of 45 in Frankfurt
110 reviews
Frankfurt Hostel
#5 of 45 in Frankfurt
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United Hostel Frankfurt City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Hostel Frankfurt City Center

Address: Kaiserstr. 52, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Frankfurt
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your United Hostel Frankfurt City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing