We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Ranked #134 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel.

The hotel is located near the main train station, which is the main reason why we chose this hotel.

However, as our room faced the main road, it was very noisy. Even if we closed the windows, we could still hear the traffic and the people talking and shouting in the restaurants near the hotel.

Not recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calla12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

i stayed there 3 nights.

hard to sleep in the morning due to they start cleaning room at 7:30 with vaccum you cant realy sleep well.

shower realy small.

you have to pay 5 euro for use internet (12 hours). wi-fi in room.

only positive point. its close to main train station.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plc55ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankfurtwolf, Public Relations Manager at Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Dear guest,



we would like to thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel Continental Frankfurt for your recent stay. Of course we are not pleased to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate that you found the location of the hotel to be very convenient.

Regarding the noise disturbance in the morning, we would like to sincerely apologize for this unfortunate event. It is of course very important that you place your do not disturb doorhanger outside your room to avoid this from happening.



As for your comment about the internet being at a cost, we like to point your attention to the fact that our roomrates are extremely competitive so that we cannot include any such services in the roomrate. We feel that if we would do that, we would of course have to calculate a certain cost in the roomrate for all guests, since infrastructure for wireless internet comes at a considerable cost for a hotel.

But having a very moderate fee for usage is fair to those guests who do not use this service. Also, we do offer a free of charge internet pc in the hotel lobby.



We would love to see you back as our guest at our Hotel Continental Frankfurt, upon your next visit to Frankfurt



best regards

Igal Lemler

Managing Director

Hotel Continental Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I stayed several times in the hotel over the past years..and I have to say things are changing, some for the better, some not...unfortunately.
That I have to send my request several times before I receive an answer was not always like this, normally I got an answer from Cora or Aleen (?) within 24 hours - and we are not talking about the weekends, although I have to say sometimes I did receive a prompt reply at weekends - that was great, especially for planning the next steps.

As always I have to say the young gentleman in the afternoon is really great, helpful, with a lot of recommendations..even when he is really busy...compared to the elderly guy from the morning, who seems really rude to me..and hard to understand sometimes...(that is the main reason - plus the late reply - why I only give an "average").

The location is great - close to the train station, not far from the center or the river. I always prefer the room to the street side - with balcony :), of course it is a little louder, but hey, it's the city center...They seem to renovate step by step, I could notice some changes in the room decoration and also in the breakfast room (they should think about a "cool counter" for cheese, butter, yoghurt and this stuff..now that it gets warmer).
Depending on the time you travel, you can get a really good price for this location :)
I will come back again..and hope to see the young gentleman again and the ladies...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorritaSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankfurtwolf, Public Relations Manager at Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Dear MorritaSD,



thank you so much for having taken the time to be so detailed and precise with your comments about our Continental Hotel Frankfurt. We highly appreciate guests like you, who see the good things happen, but also tell us where we have to improve.

You can rest assured that we take this very seriously. The comments about the reservations handling and front desk will certainly help us.

We are very happy that you noticed already that we are working on improving the hotel step by step.

Also the note about the breakfast is very important to us and it is already taken on our list of further improvements.



Next time you visit us, you will hopefully continue to see the changes and we are happy that you are a returing guest to the Hotel Continental Frankfurt



Igal Lemler

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

15 minute train ride from the airport ....great location ....good price...very clean. stay away from the elevator though, its kinds of scary.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank marcy_lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This hotel is the best hotel that I have found in Frankfurt. Because, it is located one block from the main train station and you can ride the train from the Air Port for 8 Euro, the ticket is good on any public transportation in and around Frankfurt until midnight the day of purchase. Green Line Tours is four doors down and the tour guides are professionals at their job. The hotel staff, Renee, David and Susanna will go out of their way to assist you and they know the best places to EAT. The Main Train Station also offers a large variety of reasonable places to eat.

Room Tip: I recommend that you call the front desk and ask for David and tell him that Clint said to call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clint_c4516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

2 star room and service at 5 star rate (€ 300) during recent L+B exhibition. Bedroom with 3 small single beds, perhaps 80 by 200 cm. TV set around 50cm, if at all, with bad signal.
Totally out of date, probably not renovated since the late 70s.
Even the breakfast (add 18 bucks) was not worth half the price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinsberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankfurtwolf, Public Relations Manager at Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear guest,

we thank you very much for your recent stay at our Hotel Continental Frankfurt. We appreciate the time you took for rating our hotel eventhough it was not to our benefit in this case.
We would like to take this opportunity to clarify a few facts about tradefairs in all cities and in particular in Frankfurt. Outside of tradefairs we do charge far lower rates that are very competitive and certainly within a rate range of our 3 star standard.
During those few weeks of the year of full occupancy and demand, roomrates like in any other city of the world, will go up to the maximum regular rate which is clearly dictated by supply and demand during those periods.
We believe that if you check rates next time, we will find out that we are even in the mid-range of those high season rates within our category.
You also mentioned a breakfast rate which we would like to correct for other readers. It is indeed 8 Euros

And finally, we are happy to let you know, that we have just changed all our TV's to high definition flatscreens with radio function this week and a large renovation program is also on its way.
We would love to welcome you as our guest again for the next tradeshow and please make sure to contact us before so that we can show you the changes we have made.

very best regards
Igal Lemler
Managing Director
Hotel Continental Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

During our Europe trip in May '09, we stayed at this hotel for one night. We were looking for an inexpensive place close to the main train station so we could catch our train early. We got in to town in the afternoon by train and started our search for the hotel. We weren't exactly sure where it was so we took a little trip around the first block to the south of the train station. Just as we were at the end of the block, right across the street was the hotel. We walked in to the lobby, whose decor was a bit outdated, and checked in. The receptionist was OK, didn't quite seem as energetic as other places we stayed at, but not necessarily crude or rude, just seemed indifferent. We went up to the room, relaxed a little bit, then walked on over to the old city center.

The room itself was simple with some outdated decor. Our room came with a couple of twin beds, a wooden desk with chair, and built-in closet. As with most places we just needed somewhere to sleep more than anything else. The beds weren't necessarily great, just average, maybe even a little below average. The bathroom was simple, but everything was working and not bad in terms of decor. Our room was facing the street so at night we got a bit of noise, but after a while it was fairly quiet. The room was just basic and simple.

If I had more time to do research I might be interested in seeing what else is available in the area and next time might try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankfurtwolf, Public Relations Manager at Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Beenaround73,

first we would like to thank you for having taken the time to rate our Hotel Continental Frankfurt on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate our guest's time and cooperation. This helps us setting priorities in upgrading our facilities and services. In your case, we do apologize for the front desk staff attitude which you found indifferent which is not acceptable.
We are also sorry that you did not like the decor of the lobby, which of course is always a matter of taste. But we are actually working on plans to change that.
Regarding the rooms, we do have a variety of rooms with different furniture, decoration and sizes at various rates.
Therefore we would highly appreciate, while planning Frankfurt in your travels again, to choose one of those other roomtypes which we will gladly show you if you give us the chance to stay with us again.

we are looking forward seeing you at the Hotel Continental Frankfurt soon

Igal Lemler
Managing Director Hotel Continental Frankfurt, Germany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Bahnhofsviertel
Novum Hotel City Stay Frankfurt
Novum Hotel City Stay Frankfurt
#229 of 270 in Frankfurt
227 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Memphis Hotel
Memphis Hotel
#135 of 270 in Frankfurt
232 reviews
Hotel Excelsior
#66 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt

Address: Baseler Str. 56, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Hotel Continental Frankfurt)
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: £38 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home - in Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt - close to the main station! The central location in the state capital allows both the business and the leisure travelers all the targets in Frankfurt can be reached quickly and easily. The Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt is comfortable and contemporary in design, from there you can reach the fairgrounds and the airport optimal. Functional rooms in different categories, free WiFi and an extensive breakfast buffet await every visitor in a newly designed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing