We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Ranked #138 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We had a 2 night layover in Frankfurt and chose this hotel for its affordable price and convenient location. It's right across from the main train station so it was very to get around Frankfurt from our doorstep.

The room was very spacious and although it was older it was clean and in good shape. The bed was very comfortable. There was renovations happening on our floor but we never heard it from our room. Also, as long as we had the windows closed we heard almost no street noise.

We had the buffet breakfast once and it was amazing! I have lots of allergies so buffets can be hard to eat at but I had plenty of options to choose from.

Check out was quick and easy and the gentleman behind the desk was extremely polite and helpful; he even printed off our boarding passes for us!

Would definitely recommend and stay at this hotel again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    168
    132
    35
    37
See reviews for
53
90
104
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

A change from my usual hotel in Frankfurt, First impression was favourable. You can see the hotel when exiting hauptbahnhof and once you find out which exit from the station is the best one to use access is really easy.

I arrived early in the morning expecting to be offererd a baggage drop until check in time but they actually had a room available that I was allocated at no extra cost.

The room was small but adequate it did however have one or two issues. The shower room was bijou. It was impossible to sit on the toilet without squeezing up against a radiator. Fortunately the radiator wasn't on during my visit or certainly would have had a roasted thigh.
The shower was a glass cubicle, nicely tiled and spottlesslessly clean however when opening the glass doors of the cubicle one of them hits the wash basin. I tried to open them very carefully but was ready for the horror of being naked in a room full of broken glass everytime i got out of the shower. Fortunately this didn't happen to me, but it will do to someone.

No tea or coffee facilaties were in the room. Both are in constant supply in reception but not much use when you are on the 6th floor!

The room did have a minibar but its empty so in effect there is a fridge in the room.

Ther is no aircon. I slept with window open which obviously let in the city noise. I enjoy the noise so it wasn't an issue for me and the double glazing does block the noise but obviously its a choice of ventilation or noise.

Breakfast was served from 6.30 good if you have a morning schedule to keep. It was a good selection if not particullarly well laid out of everything you would expect of a continental breakfast.
There was also a limited cooked option of scrambled eggs, sausage, and bakedbeans. Then if you look right at the opposite end of the buffet you will find hot hard boiled eggs.

The staff on the hotel reception were all helpful and pleasant. Only one lift and I was on top floor however i never had an excessive wait for the lift.

I have already booked this hotel for my next stay in Frankfurt. Having stayed there now I shall not be cancelling my reservation because even accounting for the issues i have described this hotel does offer an excellent location for access to Frankfurt transport system and if it is prebooked through one of the hotel finding sites is exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scagway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Carlos, SP
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Apesar da ótima localização com relação à locomoção em Frankfurt, uma vez que está situado em frente à Hauptbanhof, dentro do hotel estava muito quente, as janelas estavam com defeito e, talvez o pior, os funcionários eram muito muito muito rudes. Eu não recomendo.

(Despite the great location in relation to locomotion in Frankfurt, as it is just opposite Hauptbanhof, inside the hotel was very warm, the windows were defective and, perhaps worse, the staff were very very very rude. I do not recommend.)

Room Tip: Há outros hotéis nas proximidades. (There are other hotels nearby.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

As you would expect the Hotel delivers for service and comfort. I was on business so do expect everything to work efficiently which it did. Hotel internet was complimentary (as it should be), high speed and very reliable. The room log in also worked in the public areas and conference rooms which was helpful.
Only complaint was the room heating which was too hot with no obvious way to turn it down.
Overall a good stay.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pablo9522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

The positives about the hotel: Location, free and well functioning wi-fi, comfortable bed, clear room, kind personnel, reasonable prices, good heating system.
But; although I am not a guy who is affected by noise but the noise level was too much even for me. There are two factors contributing to the high level of noise; the noise isolation of the hotel is bad and the noise created around the neighbourhood is high. Our room was quite small, and there were no mini refrigerator, kitchenette, kettle or any other kinds of utilities. The shower cabin was extremely small, so that someone over 90-100 kg may have troubles in bathing. In conclusion, the hotel is suitable for short-term and budget-friendly accomodation.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel. Front side of the hotel is extraordinarily noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed in this Hotel in December with my mother after Aida Night of the Proms. I had paid a surcharge for a "soundproofed room", and I had received a confirmation in English in writing. However, the room was not at all soundproofed. Instead, it was right at the Corner of two busy streets with several tram lines (given the Location I woulnd not normally complain about this, but given that I had paid for a soundproofed room and requested same in German on booking form I think this is a cheek). The walls were as thin as cardboard, we could hear the electrical cable of the vacuum cleaner being dragged across the floor upstairs. In the Lobby, there were supposed to be tea making facilities, but they were out of Cups (seriously). When we asked for instructions how to get to the concert, the Girl in reception actually sent us the wrong way. When we checked out, I complained about the noisy room and was told (I Quote translation from German) "at your rate the Hotel almost make no money on your room as it is. We have staff to pay". Seriously.
We were told our booking Website had defrauded us and we should take it up with them, but male receptionist refused to confirm out non-soundproofed room in writing. When my booking Website contacted them, the same guy lied and told them we had had a soundproofed room!!! A few days later, I was in Frankfurt again and walked over. The staff on site laughed at my complaint, claiming the croassroads were tiny (compared to New York Standards maybe!), and the Manager was in a different Hotel, At this stage, I was so mad I walked over there and met the Manager who told me in the most condescending manner "Fifteen euros isn't worth my time Standing here argueing with you" (That was surcharge.). No apology for the fact we hadn't slept in two days or the fact we had been lied to and misrepresented by his staff. He promised to refund the surchagre only, which, of course, he never did. Unbelievable. The booking Website in the end refunded part of booking, but there was no remorse or apology from Hotel.

Room Tip: Apparently, if you are really lucky they have rooms out the back that some fortunate travellers can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephaniehk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We chose this hotel for an overnight stay in Frankfurt, as we had an early flight and needed to take the train and get to the airport in time. The location is of course the main selling point - a hotel could not be closer to the main station. It is literally 2 minutes walk. From outside the hotel looks rather scary, like an old socialistic building. But once we got to our room we relaxed: it was modern, everything looked recently renovated, both room and bathroom. Very clean and comfortable, absolutely no complaints. It was a good stay, and great value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Colour Hotel
#213 of 267 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Hotel Excelsior
#49 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Innenstadt
National Hotel - Frankfurt
National Hotel - Frankfurt
#146 of 267 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savoy Hotel Frankfurt
#211 of 267 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Innenstadt
Munchener Hof Hotel
Munchener Hof Hotel
#153 of 267 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt

Property: Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Address: Baseler Str. 56, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Hotel Continental Frankfurt)
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home - in Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt - close to the main station! The central location in the state capital allows both the business and the leisure travelers all the targets in Frankfurt can be reached quickly and easily. The Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt is comfortable and contemporary in design, from there you can reach the fairgrounds and the airport optimal. Functional rooms in different categories, free WiFi and an extensive breakfast buffet await every visitor in a newly designed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing