We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option near Hauptbahnhof”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Ranked #141 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
219 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Great Option near Hauptbahnhof”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

The Continental is directly across from the train station and a 10-15 minute walk to the city center and a five minute walk to the Main River. My room was large and modern and had a clean and spacious bathroom. The room had lots of storage space and a small balcony facing the Hauptbahnhof. Steet noise was moderate and there was no a/c but I didn't find it a huge problem. Front desk staff seemed efficient but not overly pleasant. Breakfast wasn't included in my discounted rate. Common areas in the hotel were basic and clean. I found this hotel to be a great choice in a central location and will look at the Continental again when I return to Frankfurt.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    169
    133
    36
    38
See reviews for
53
90
105
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

I picked this hotel based on its 3 star rating and good room price, but it turned out to be more of a 1 or 2 star experience. The main problem was the lack of air conditioning. Frankfurt can be quite hot in August, and it was in the 90's and humid while I was there. The room was roasting hot and I had a miserable stay because of it.

The included breakfast buffet was also just better than mediocre, with less selection than I've seen at other 3 star hotels in Germany. Overall, if you're looking for a cheap place to stay for a night or two, and the weather is cool, it is probably fine. But don't expect a true 3 star experience, and definitely don't stay in an unconditioned room in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomc1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

Very close to Frankfurt mani railway station.So good,if you have to catch early morning flight or train.Service was good.The room was mid,sized but clean.Bathrooms were rather small.There was a balcony overlooking the street which was nice.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solotraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

Hotel Continental is an excellent choice if you have an overnight layover in Frankfurt. It is located across from the main train station. Train from the airport costs 3.70EUR and takes only15 minutes.

My room was small (the bed took up more than half the room), but it was very clean and comfortable. The room and bathroom were newly renovated. Internet costs only 5EUR per 12 hours.

If you have a few more hours in Frankfurt, I suggest going to the tourist information centre across the street in the train station, and join one of their two hour Frankfurt tour. If you get a “Frankfurt card”, you can get free travel around Frankfurt and to the airport, and 15% off the day tour.

There is no need to search for an internet deal, as the regular rate of this hotel is very low and affordable. The location of this hotel is unbeatable - right across to street to the Frankfurt Central Station.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sea2skyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

I paid 37 euros for my single room and thought it was a fantastic deal. Room was small but comfortable. Flat screen TV and writing desk. Bathroom looked like it had recently been redone - small, but very modern and spotlessly clean.

I didn't eat breakfast, but I popped my head into the dining room and it looked like a good deal for 8 euros.

Don't think there was any air conditioning, so could be hot in summer (although there were 3 large windows that could be opened, but might let in noise). No safes in the rooms. Other bad thing: walls are paper thin - I could hear my neighbour's TV. Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper just in case.

I stayed here for one night only. I had a 12 hr layover at the Frankfurt airport (10pm to 10am), had minimal luggage with me, and the trip into the city to stay here was worth it. The Sheraton at the airport is pricy, and I didn't think the reviews for the other airport hotels were all that great, so I was pleased with my decision. This hotel is dead easy to get to. Just catch the S-bahn right at the airport and take it to the main station (Hauptbahnhof), cost is 3.70 euros and takes 10-15 minutes, and trains run fairly frequently. As you leave the main station, the hotel is to the right, just a stone's throw away. There are bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rambling_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

Just got back from a 3 night stay in Frankfurt at the Continental Hotel. The best thing about it is its brilliant location just opposite the central station - Frankfurt HBF. From here you can reach anywhere in the city and even the whole country. Trams, Underground/Subway, S-bahn, Regional and Inter-City trains are all just across the road.
Another great thing about being so near the station is that there are lots of shops, supermarket/convenince stores, cafes, restaurants etc. This is especially helpful on Sundays when most shops are closed elsewhere.

The room was small with a single bed, simple and lacking things like a mini-bar (fridge), safe etc. but comfortable, the bed was very comfirtable. The room I stayed in was one of the older unrefurbished rooms but still not too bad, the bathroom however had been refurbished and had an excellent powerful shower. Room and bathroom were also very clean, the only negative thing I can say is the noise from the trams outside but thats being in the city centre.
The reception staff in general were pleasant and helpful, there was one guy that works in the mornings that was a but pushy though.

All in all it was an enjoyable stay and would definately return, great price and great location.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vman228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Excelsior
#50 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Colour Hotel
#217 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Savoy Hotel Frankfurt
#215 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
National Hotel - Frankfurt
National Hotel - Frankfurt
#155 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#52 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt

Property: Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Address: Baseler Str. 56, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Hotel Continental Frankfurt)
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home - in Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt - close to the main station! The central location in the state capital allows both the business and the leisure travelers all the targets in Frankfurt can be reached quickly and easily. The Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt is comfortable and contemporary in design, from there you can reach the fairgrounds and the airport optimal. Functional rooms in different categories, free WiFi and an extensive breakfast buffet await every visitor in a newly designed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing