We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and functional” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Memphis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Memphis Hotel
Ranked #128 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cheap and functional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011


Rooms were clean but the pillows on the bed were lumpy!!
The advertised free wifi wasn't free until we kicked up a fuss
The breakfast was standard European buffet
Good location walking distance to the Hbf about 5 mins and about the same in the other direction to Altstat
The best thing is the Irish pub at the end of the road!! O'Reily's

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig0austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    78
    72
    20
    13
See reviews for
32
60
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I was travelling to Munich, however for 1 day i was to visit my Frankfurt office, so the office staff booked me into this Hotel for 1 day.. However i ended up stayed there for aover a week finally and then i was forced to checkout as the rooms were not available.

This hotel is small tiny place in the Frankfurt centre. Its has a very small room but the room has almost all the neccesary stuff. The front desk gal was more then helpful to keep extending my stay from 1 day to another continously for 1 week. The internet is pretty cheap in the room and cost jsut about 15 euros per stay.. So if you stay for a long time then u almost pay nothing for internet.... The hotel has complimentary breakfast with decent options... Mostly non veg options....

The hotel is very close to the Neue Mainzer street where most of the offices are located. Also we have a tram and Underground very close to the hotel and there is good connectivity. The main tourist attractions are just 20 mins by walk and we will enjoi the places and museums on the way.

there are many small reat outs and restaurants close to the place. The Only drawback to this hotel is that if you are carrying too much luggage then u might not have enough space in your room to keep your luggage.

Mine was a single person stay rrom and was carrying 2 suitcases, but then i had very little space to move about in the room. So everyday i would decide whether to stay here or not to stay.. but finally i stayed for a week, until being forced to checkout for non availibity.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunil-Globetroter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saint petersburg, Russia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

me and our classmate just came back home from frankfurt, we'd been stayed here four 9 nights.
the room there is clean and comfortable. but in the night outside is noisy!
breakfast there is also not satisfied...
the most important is some of the staffs there are not very friendly.
if you were westerner, you can think about this hotel!
but, if you were oriental, maybe you can just choose another hotel.
especially, we met a woman there, and greeted with her, but she just saw nothing...
we also tried to be friendly next time, but in vain...
when she saw the westerners, she was talking to them actively and greeting.
we don't know why she treated us like this...
and we won't choose this hotel anymore!!

Room Tip: our room is near to the road, very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hsiao_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

Golden Lake
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

We were stuck in Frankfurt having missed our connection due to a snowstorm. The airport line-ups were horrendous and we were advised that most hotels were full, so they found us a room at the Memphis Hotel. The taxi driver was not happy with the location of the hotel and it was a small, somewhat shabby entrance. However the room was clean, the girl at the desk was ultra helpful with all our international phoning, faxing and internet use due to this unplanned stay. There was even a little bar beside the front desk. Our luggage was somewhere at some airport and they gave us toiletries. We walked down to the Christmas market that eve and it was magical. The next day, after a wonderful breakfast in the hotel (we were surprised to get one) we walked to the train station and took a train back to the airport. Our insurance is covering the stay which was cheap. We wouldn't have changed this unplanned experience and it is one of our best memories of that trip. With all the walking, we never felt unsafe. The friendly, little hotel was our homey haven from the storm and fuss at the airport. We will always fondly remember the Memphis.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dutti57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

I stayed at the Memphis hotel for one night. It is convenient to the Frankfurt train station- just a short walk. It appears the hotel was recently rewnovated. I had a single room which was small but not too small for one person. The room had everything needed. It was very clean and quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. And the room rate included a free breakfast which was very good. It had a very large selection to choose from. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

I just got back from Frankfurt were we stayed at Memphis hotel. I didn't like the hotel: we booked a non smoking room and they gave us a room for smokers, the smell in the room was awful, then the room was small, dark, noisy with a very small window. The bathroom was extremely small. The place for breakfast looked like a fast food; breakfast was ordinary, without cappuccino, only regular coffee; the parking place was small again, everything is small at this hotel. The staff seemed bored without any intention of helping you with something. The only good thing is the location, that's all. No more then 2 stars hotel! Avoid the place!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

This hotel is a good 15 minute walk from the main train station (hauptbanhof) and is parallel to Kaiser Strasse which some would term as the red light district. Act like a tourist and your pocket will be picked , act confident, avoid eye contact and you should be fine.

The only good points of this hotel is its proximity to the train station which can bring you all over Germany, free internet and the relatively cheap parking rate of ten euro a nite if its available. But then there are dozens of hotels closer to the train station too.

Other than that this is just a small inn, with a small breakfast nook and with an even smaller bedroom. I requested for an inside room to avoid the noise from the street tram and while I did get an inside location, the room I got was pretty worn out and came with a non-working safe.

Everytime I tried to inquire something from the front desk i.e. directions, store hours etc.... I felt like I was like disturbing them from their TV or internet. Either management has poor control over its front desk personnel or customer service is something they still have to learn.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Bahnhofsviertel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
#95 of 267 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Bahnhofsviertel
Ramada Frankfurt City Centre and Financial District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Colour Hotel
#213 of 267 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Hotel Excelsior
#49 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memphis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memphis Hotel

Property: Memphis Hotel
Address: Muenchener Str. 15, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Memphis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Memphis Hotel enjoys an excellent location in the city centre, 5 minutes away from the main train station. It is only a short walking distance to the Frankfurt Fair, banks, Stock Exchange, art galleries, cultural attractions, the shopping boulevard Zeil, Sachsenhausen or the town hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Memphis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing