We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good hotel near Frankfurt airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Frankfurt Niederrad
Ranked #31 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I stayed there for one night in July 2013. The reception area, restaurant and bar of good standards. Rooms are clean and spacious with all essential amenities. Only drawback of this hotel that it provides wi fi only in the lobby and not in the rooms. You can have only wired LAN for internet. While you can borrow cable from the reception desk, it is still inconvenient as you cannot connect your mobile devices to net.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vijay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

we sayed for 1 night after arriving to Frankfurth.
It is near the airport about 20 min on car . It is clean, rooms average size and good showers.
The breakfast is very ample and the staff friendly.
Take it as a bussines or just one night hotel since the location is not on a tourist area. '

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rororo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Staff are pleasant enough, although sometimes can look a bit grumpy. Regardless they were always helpful and polite.

If you've breakfast included in your room rate then my big tip is to have breakfast delivered to your room for €5. I've attached a picture of what I had although there's a bigger choice than this.

CRT analogue TV's (not many English language programmes) and no Wi-Fi in your room is a little annoying. There is internet access available via a cable and reception can supply you with one.

Airport shuttle is extremely useful to get you from and to Frankfurt airport.

Biggest reason for me to stay in this hotel was location, as my company office is less than 5 minutes away. It's a decent enough hotel, just not great.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron_Galbraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Let's start with a couple of positives. I like NH hotels. I am a member of their frequent stayer club and pay a lot of my own money to stay at their place in Venice. Overall I like the corporate philosophy, and frankly if I am forced to stay anywhere in the vicinity of Munich airport on company business I would not stay anywhere else than their airport hotel there.

In this hotel, one can say that it is clean, the rooms are well maintained and reasonably large, and the internet access is free. So that is the positive review. Now let's get to the meat.

First, price. OK, this is Frankfurt. This hotel is not cheap, and is on an industrial estate. There is one restaurant in walking distance, but that is it - everything else is taxi, car or s-bahn ride away, of which more in a moment.

Second, breakfast. €20. Really? Are you serious? Happily there is a Rewe store next door that opens at 0700 which has a bakery and coffee bar.

Third, internet. OK, it is free, but wired. Along with the cathode ray tube TVs in room this gives a retro 1990's feel. But at this price? no wifi in room?

Fourth - on a business trip with a group, bar service is REALLY important....

So the bar staff.....oh my. Adam Smith's "Invisible hand" is at work. Risking a short digression - in the US, bar staff in get paid largely in the form of tips, and the result is superb service - people who recognise that if they don't provide good service, they don't get paid. In family hotels with no corporate chain, if they do not develop a reputation for excellence, they don't get bookings and they lose their job and don't get paid. But here.... In a chain hotel in Germany, well....at this particualr NH the bar staff have read about serivce and appear to have decided "that isn't for us...after all we get paid whatever happens ....". If ever there was an example of the lack of economic incentive then the NH in Neiderrad could keep flocks of behavioural economists in study material for decades.

Where else could one expect to have a group of 11 people sit in a bar and not get a waiter to appear, despite having one have polishing glasses for 7 minutes in full view? (I know, but as a statistician/ecominst I timed it). Here in the NH in Neiderrad.

Where could one complain to the reception that 11 people had sat for 7 minutes etc.....only to have the duty manager be the glass polisher, and angrily point out to the complainer that "the beers were being poured"....and not acknowledge that this was only happening because a delegation of prospective drinkers eventually interrupted the polishing....you guessed it - here in the NH in Neiderrad

Then, where could subequent rounds be met with a scowl? Do I need to go on? And then on following evenings have groups order and then leave the bar to walk to the nearby restaurant for a drink after beers showed no signs of appearing........you guessed........

If anything the evening male reception staff are even more fawltyesque. One colleague reported calling the hotel from the s-bahn station asking for walking directions. He was told "ask a passer by." The response that this had been tried but no-one was able to help was met with "ask for the police station". When the next passer-by was unable to help, then "I can't help you" was the response. So if you need to get to the holel from the single exit from the s-bahn, turn right, then right again near the Aral gas station, then left at the Dorint hotel.

And whlie you are there, ask if they have a room - becuase sure as heck, you would rather stay there where the staff are at least helpful in the bar, than this god-awful, unhlepful shambles of a hotel.

So until the reviews show that service improves, stay somewhere else. They don't deserve your custom. Let the invisible hand sweep you elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daisy_ZB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Hotel offers a free airport shuttle - but take care an preorder it there are only 8 seats - and if it s full you have to wait to the next one . The first shuttle in the morning is 6:15 to the airport - with could be quiet later to catch an early flight .
from the hotel it s a 7 minutes walk to the s-bahn which you can take to downtown or to the airport .
Hotel is ok , clean and friendly Staff

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khzuerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I was alone in Frankfurt, on a business trip, and this hotel made all the difference! My room was at the top floor, with a wonderful rounded window allowing a great view over the wole city. It was a treat coming back in the evening, just to enjoy the sunsets from the bed, and it was a pleasure going down in the morning to the breakfast, which was the best of my experience, and I stayed at better graded hotels! The thai and Japanese specialities, the cheese (I am really sorry I haven't ask it's name), the pancakes, all the fresh fruit that kept coming. The cook was one morning verifying the food and didn't allow me to take the last piece of a grilled salmon, said it was cold, and brought me another one fresh from the kitchen himself. I really enjoyed my stay in Frankfurth thanks to NH and am very grateful.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I spent two nights here and regret it. While traveling for business (and this was business) or pleasure, I do like to take in the local sites and walk at night. The hotel is not centrally located so evening walks are definitely out unless you want to walk around a modern-day business park. There are very few restaurants within walking distance so the hotel has a monopoly on food. Menu was limited but all food was good, service was spotty at best.Rooms were very good, but to get any WiFi, one must go to the lobby. (they do provide intranet service so bring an adapter if you have a more contemporary computer or tablet). Breakfast was 29 EU which is expensive, even more than in Munich hotels which are the priciest in Germany.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetBlue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Niederrad
INNSIDE by Melia Frankfurt Niederrad
25hours Hotel The Goldman
#38 of 269 in Frankfurt
705 reviews
Innenstadt
NH Frankfurt Messe
NH Frankfurt Messe
#9 of 269 in Frankfurt
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#47 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,959 reviews
Westend-Süd
NH Frankfurt Villa
NH Frankfurt Villa
#40 of 269 in Frankfurt
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Frankfurt Niederrad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Frankfurt Niederrad

Address: Lyoner Str. 5 | Niederrad, 60528 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Niederrad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#24 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#26 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
#34 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £47 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Frankfurt Niederrad 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star NH Frankfurt Niederrad hotel is conveniently located between the Frankfurt International Airport, Frankfurt city center, trade-fair grounds and Niederrad business quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your NH Frankfurt Niederrad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Frankfurt Niederrad Hotel Frankfurt
Nh Hotel Frankfurt
Nh Hotels Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing