We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy Access to Transportation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan
Ranked #70 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Easy Access to Transportation”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Right across the street from the Frankfurt train station - easy access to airport. Secure hotel for being so close to train station. Good size room. Air Conditioning and hot water. Breakfast included - pastries and cold meat/fruit and fruit. Friendly, english-speaking reception desk.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samaka05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    177
    65
    26
    15
See reviews for
43
97
57
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Convenient location and clean rooms. The hotel is directly across the street from the Hauptenhof and there's a trolley stop around the corner. Area is convenient but not pretty. Room size is small but clean, I hate their closet! It's infuriating that they use they little pole like knobs with no grip points. It's impossible to open! Service is ok if you need basic things but not if you have special requests. It can get noisy if your room faces the front and near the little bar that's next to the hotel. I always ask for rooms opposite of the little bar. Convenient for business as they have wifi.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Frankfurt is not a place I'd choose to visit on a holiday, but work demands it annually. Thankfully, the Metropolitan is comfortable enough to take some of the ache out of the endless days at the Messe (where the trade shows happen). The hotel is about a km walk from the Messe, and is right across the road from the main train station (which in turn connects with the staggeringly large and complex underground metro system).

The plusses are there: the rooms are spacious, the bathrooms are large, the beds are excellent, the staff try their best, and there are a constant stream of taxis at the front door. (It's about 32 Euros and 20 minutes to the airport, by the way)

But the hotel suffers from a few things - its breakfasts are inadequate; the staggeringly slow elevators irritated me no end; the weak wi-fi signal required constant re-login; and there's not enough selection in the mini bar (I regard this as a fundamental human right for anyone returning from a day at a trade fair).

I'm giving it four stars because, let's face it, it's not its fault that it's in Frankfurt. And it is a nice hotel. But there will be no five star rating for the Metropolitan from me until it manages to lift its game on these fundamental points.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peekay68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear peekay,
thank you very much for your visit in our hotel and for your good opinion of your stay.
We thank you also for your comments regarding our service, of course we will discuss these points with our appropriate staff.
We are sorry you could not see our house as a five-star-standard, but we hope to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Knut Anton Werner
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed here on a recent quick business trip. The hotel is easy to find and near to the Messe for trade shows etc, you also couldn't get any nearer to the train station. If you're on foot or arriving by taxi, as I did, then vehicular access wont' be of concern to you but if you are, or have a group in a coach, then the parking/waiting areas outside are few and far between.

The room itself I had was perfectly fine - modern, clean and with a comfortable bed. There were decent White Company toiletries in the bathroom, a safe, a JBL iPod dock and a complimentary bottle of Vittel water. On the downside there was only one large pillow on the bed and one bath towel in the bathroom (I had booked single occupancy but there's no need to only provide one of each). The dressing gown was rather cheap feeling and small.

Internet is often charged for in business hotels on mainland Europe so it was a welcome change to see the Steigenberger offered WiFi for free. I would have prefered to have been offered the password upon check-in though rather than having to phone up. The internet worked fine but after my device had turned off overnight it didn't want to work the next morning - rather frustrating and inconvenient, especially for a "business" orientated hotel.

My main concern before arriving was would there be a lot of noise form the train station? Aside from a couple of police sirens I must stay I didn't hear any noise from the station from my front room on the first floor. The double glazing seemed to do a good job of shielding the city centre.

The hotel check-in staff were very poilte and efficient, as was the concierge in arranging me taxis. Breakfast was fine despite the busy time I chose to go and eat.

I would go back but I would like to see the internet improved.

Room Tip: Most rooms with an even room number face onto the back, even numbers onto the front (and railway sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonbristolboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Good day,
thank you very much for your visit in our hotel and for your good opinion of your stay!
We are delighted that you have felt comfortable with us. We are sorry that your WLAN access did not work the next morning.
Of course, we have already spoken to the technical department of our house and which has fixed this problem immediately.
Hope to welcoming you again soon,
best regards
Knut Anton Werner
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot,
Level Contributor
283 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

The Metropolitan isn't at the peak of the Steigenberger's chain, but this is a perfectly acceptable hotel for a business visit to Frankfurt as it is ideally placed next to the railway station for an easy jurney in from the airport and itis also just a short walk from the Messe where most of Frankfurt's big trade shows take place. Parking outside the hotel is a bit imited if you are being picked up or dropped off by colleagues and the entrance is a little unprepossessing but the interior is imprssive and the front desk staff are truly excellent - fast, efficient and helpful. The rooms are comfortable but compact although the bathrooms are good and include baths and separate showers. Some strange artwork on the walls! Odd choices - the Mona Lisa for example! Breakfast is good and swift but for a business hotel the wifi wasn't, though it is free. The wifi kept droppig out and wasn't always easy to join - I woud urge the hotel to look at this as it is vital for business travellers, but I do applaud them for providing it for free. The Metropolitan may not stand out, but the pricing was fair and if you are there to work then it is a very good option in the heart of Frankfurt.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue-and-Steve-Ascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Sue and Steve,

thanks a lot for your visit in our hotel, we are glad, that you had a nice stay.
We wish you a good trip and hope to welcoming you again soon,
Best regards,
Knut Anton Werner
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore,MD
Level Contributor
260 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Clean standard room --adequate stay for getting to the buses for touring the next day or taking a train to a new destination---20 min walk to Meyer's restaurant (D)--good German food-- during daylight hours--take taxi back to hotel at night--Staff friendly and helpful---Breakfast good continental plus- included in room rate

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor--quiet room---Beware--Standard room has an elevated step to the bathhroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzannePC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Suzanne,
thank you very much for your visit and for your good opinion of your stay.
We are glad that you have felt comfortable with us !
Have a nice trip,
Best regards
Knut Anton Werner
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Hotel was near the north exit of Frankfurt main station. The reason why we chose this hotel was due to an early train connection the following day. The hotel was clean but not as spacious as i expected it to be. Breakfast also fell below standards. It offered the worst breakfast during my 3 weeks stay in europe.

Overall a good hotel is if you have to catch a train connection. Otherwise, there should be better hotels for the given price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pradalover1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#17 of 269 in Frankfurt
698 reviews
Innenstadt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
#43 of 269 in Frankfurt
891 reviews
Hotel Cristall
#82 of 269 in Frankfurt
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#10 of 269 in Frankfurt
766 reviews
InterContinental Frankfurt
#38 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,607 reviews
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#15 of 269 in Frankfurt
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan
Address: Poststr. 6, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#29 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#40 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#44 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan it takes only a few minutes by public transport or taxi to the Frankfurt Exhibition and Congress Centre, Frankfurt Airport, the banking quarter and the famous shopping mile, the Goethe Strasse and to the Zeil shopping mall. Other landmarks of the Main metropolis such as the Alte Oper, the theatre, galleries and the Senckenberg Museum are not far from the hotel either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing