We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third visit to this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan
Ranked #77 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 25 March 2013

On our first visit, we chose this hotel solely due to it's close proximity to the railway station (it's right next to it!). However, we have grown to like this hotel - the superior rooms are well equipped, have nice bathrooms but are only average in size.
The room price includes a buffet breakfast with a very generous selection available. This is one of the best buffet breakfasts we've had in a long time.
The restaurant is pleasant, has a reasonable menu but to my mind is well over-priced compared with independent restaurants in the area (having said that, they're prices are comparable with other main hotels in the area).
The reception staff are very well trained, speak perfect English if required and were extremely helpful.
My only criticism was it proved difficult to get a drink from the bar - we waited for over 10 minutes - no bar staff to be seen. Six other customers were also waiting. I mentioned the problem to the Reception staff and they promised to get somebody to serve us. A few minutes later two staff arrived and served us. It's not a major issue, but it would nice if the hotel management could keep an eye on this.
To sum up, we still like the hotel enough to be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear dmg31,

Thank you for your positive feedback and recent stay with us.
We are happy to share your appreciation with our team.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences we may have caused in regards to your visit to our Metropolitan Bar & Lounge. We hope you agree with us stating that this is not the regular standard. Please be assured that we will brief this within our team.

It is our pleasure to be of service again for your upcoming stay.

Sincerely
Johanna Wamser
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank a1234554321z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I booked 1 night here in a single room for a business trip. The room i was allocated was right next to the lift and it was incredibly noisy. I asked to be moved and they said there was only one room left which was a smoking room, which I looked at and didn't like as it smelled of smoke. I went back to booking.com and was able to book other rooms at different categories for that night. So clearly they did have rooms available. I am not sure why they wouldn't offer them, but i wasn't happy with the room or the service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Dear Andrea,

thank you for your feedback. We do apologize for the inconveniences we may have caused.

Unfortunately we have to confirm the procedure of our colleagues concerning the availability that day. It is always our main concern as well as standard procedure to accommodate the individual requests of our values guests in order to personalize our provided services.
The system setup of booking.com as well as all other online travel services allows always to look at all existing room categories as in your case. If you would have proceeded to actually book a room, you would have been prompted to a message that states, the chosen category is not available. Unfortunately that is only visible for an actual booking attempt.

Dear Andrea, we do hope to have answered your questions sufficiently. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the not too far distance.

Sincerely
Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan


Mit herzlichen Grüssen,
Ihre
Johanna Wamser
i.V. Stellv. Direktorin / Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I spent here three nights during new years eve in december 2012. The hotel is located in front of the main station, so a perfect position to arrive from airports and move around rhe area. The area is not the best one, as in many big city the railway station is not he best, but here I felt safe. The red zone is in a close street, but choosing the other parallel street is a good deal, avoidi g this area.
Room was nice, with big bath well equiped. Wellness area not so big, with a steam room ( unfortunately out of order) and a Finnish sauna.
Staff really nice and helpful in each request.
Breakfast service good, with plenty of choice: eggs, omelettes, bacon...on request.
We spent also the new year's eve in the restaurant. Really calm and pleasant dinner with really good food.
I can suggest this hotel to all want a good accomodation for a good price!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natanBologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013
Google Translation

Guten Tag,
herzlichen Dank für Ihren Aufenthalt in unserem Hause sowie Ihre gute Bewertung . Wir freuen uns sehr, dass es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat und Sie einen angenehmen Abend an Silvester bei uns verbringen konnten. Gerne geben wir Ihr Lob an unsere Mitarbeiter weiter und freuen uns , Sie bald wieder im Steigenberger Metropolitan Frankfurt begrüßen zu können.
Eine gute Zeit im Neuen Jahr wünscht Ihnen
Knut Anton Werner
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Rooms: I stayed in this hotel about 7 years ago and got a good impression of the rooms. However, now I stayed here again for business 2 nights and noticed nothing got changed, meaning, you can see the rooms are getting worn out. The room size is OK, a bit on the small side. To open the closet doors is not too easy due to the unhandy design of opening the doors. The shower is nice and bright. The shower was very clean, the room was OK from clean point of view.

Breakfast: Rather good. You can order certain items from the waiter/waitress such as eggs, porridge, etc. The porridge is however the worst I ever had, it is very dry, lukewarm and no taste.

Location: Not the nicest area of Frankfurt, but a good location in any case. Right next to the main trainstation and walking distance to the business district and even shopping districts.

Reception: Friendly, however, when asking for a nice Italian restaurant, we got directed to a pizza place.

Paid 148 Euros a night including breakfast, which is way too expensive for this hotel. Also the 5 stars the hotel is, is in my opinion overrated. I would say an average 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helsinki1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013
Google Translation

Guten Tag,
vielen Dank für die Bewertung Ihres Aufenthaltes . Wir sind immer dankbar über Anmerkungen unserer Gäste, die uns helfen, unseren Standard zu verbessern , gerne geben wir Ihre Anregungen an unsere Mitarbeiter im Frühstück und an der Rezeption weiter. Es tut uns sehr leid, dass Ihnen von unseren Mitarbeitern eine Pizzeria empfohlen wurde, selbstverständlich verfügen wir auch über Informationen über andere italienische Restaurants.
Wir wünschen Ihnen eine gute Zeit im Neuen Jahr und grüßen Sie herzlich aus Frankfurt,
Knut Anton Werner
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I stayed at the Steigenberger Hauptbahnhof twice this year, and all went smoothly. The location right next to the railway station is fantastic... given that I travelled around Europe by train! This is not a 5-star hotel, though: there are no porters or car valets waiting for you on arrival, no swimming pool etc. But there is 24hr reception, and room service. My in-room breakfast was quite good. Above all, the price was very competitive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

My objective to book the hotel was the location. It's literally Next to the train station.
I didn't have much expectation but I found the hotel staff efficient and friendly. I had a few request at reception and they responded well. The room was clean and comfortable. The quality of breakfast was good. If you are looking for a decent place close to the train station, this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciaohawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#7 of 269 in Frankfurt
783 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#18 of 269 in Frankfurt
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
#56 of 269 in Frankfurt
123 reviews
InterContinental Frankfurt
#32 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan

Address: Poststr. 6, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#39 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#49 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £111 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan it takes only a few minutes by public transport or taxi to the Frankfurt Exhibition and Congress Centre, Frankfurt Airport, the banking quarter and the famous shopping mile, the Goethe Strasse and to the Zeil shopping mall. Other landmarks of the Main metropolis such as the Alte Oper, the theatre, galleries and the Senckenberg Museum are not far from the hotel either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing