We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan
Nearby Hotels
US$129
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum(Frankfurt)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$99
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$125
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$200
US$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$136
US$111
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$269
US$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Frankfurt)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NH Frankfurt Niederrad(Frankfurt)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
161
194
84
31
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
194
84
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main train stationtravelling by trainnice hotelgood sizeseparate showerfirst morninga lot of noiseminute walkbusiness stayhotel is locatednespresso machinethe air conditioningconvenient locationsingle roombreakfast was excellentyogurtcity centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night (5th November) 2013 with D. Hotel is opposite the Hauptbanhof which is really convenient. Its also within 10 mins walk to the new Skyline Plaza shopping centre which is worth checking out.

The entrance of the hotel is a bit strange but I suppose it's standard in Germany?. You walk up some stairs and reception in on the right. On the left is a restaurant and directly in front of the reception is a lounge. There are no where for one to sit as there was no lobby as such. The lift is located at the back of the hotel.

We got a room on the 6th (top) floor. This is where the sauna/steam room and gym is located. The room has 2 single bed joined together. The bed is fairly comfortable. Wifi is available free for 24 hours only.

The room was big and clean and come with 2 radiator but when we were there it doesn't seem to be working. Create a lot of noise though. The bathroom is the best. Its big with his and her wash basin and a stand alone shower and bath.

We had a look at the gym which is standard, nothing special. The sauna and stream room is much better with hot and cold shower and The White Company toiletries. However our room card does not give us access so every time we want to go there we had to ring the front desk, which is a pain. I think they are trying to fix it.

Overall a nice hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sundancekid73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear RL,

thank you for your positive feedback on tripadvisor.com and your stay with us.
It is a great pleasure to share your comment within our team.

Please note that our lounge is inviting you at any time upon availability to sit and relax with no obligation to order.
Also ist our WIFI access free of charge for the duration of your stay. Our colleagues have provided you with a voucher for only 24hrs as you were staying for one night only. Due to Network balance we do issue free WIFI tickets only for the duration of your stay.
Please be assured that your noisy radiator as well as the room key that did not grant access to the sauna is not up to our regular standard and has been fixed already.

We do hope to welcome you soon back to Frankfurt.

Sincerely
Your Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

It was ok-nothing special....Great Location,close to the central station. Staff spoke good English and kind.comfy bed. But if you expect the 5stars service you would be disappointed...no body came to entrance to pick up luggage, also after check out we asked reception to call a cab for us cos we have so much luggage,but we were just told there are plenty of taxi if we walk to right side..but we asked because we really had a lot to carry.... Bath room, room are comfy and bed was nice too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MCocoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear MCocoon,
thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor.com. It is a pleasure to hear that we have mostly met your expectations and we are looking forward to share that within the team.
Please accept our apologies in regards to the porterage services. We do provide doormen services, but our colleague must have been with other guests at this moment. Please be assured that we will discuss your matters within our team in order to sensitize for future purposes.

We do hope to welcome you soon back to Frankfurt and the Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan.

Most Sincerely
Steigenberger Hotel Metropolian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of September 2013. The hotel is located just outside of the North exit of Frankfurt Central. It is a comfortable hotel with a great location. However, the area towards the back of the hotel made us a little uncomfortable, so we decided to avoid the area by traversing the train station and getting to the other side using the station main entrance and doing the same on our way back to the hotel (main entrance to north entrance).

The room was comfortable, roomy and extremely quiet, which is surprising since the trains are right next door. It was so quiet that we did not hear anyone on our floor, not even the personnel that were cleaning the room next to ours. The bathroom had a bath and a shower. The shower is small. I'm 5'3"/106 lbs and I was comfortable showering here; however a bigger person may have difficulties. So if that is the case, you might want to take a bath.

The Wi-Fi connection does not work in the room. It only works in the lobby and restaurant. Breakfast is a buffet consisting of cold items: cold cuts, fruits, yogurts, several types of bread and pastries. The personnel offers you coffee (cappuccino, cafe late...) and eggs prepared to your liking which are delivered to your table. Service personnel is friendly and well trained. Tables are dressed with real linens.

We were happy with this hotel and definitely recommend it for your stay in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear MarianC,
thank you for your kind feedback on tripadvisor.com and your recent stay with us.
It is a great pleasure to hear that we have met your expectations and we will happily share your comments within the team.

Please accept our apologies in regards to the poor WiFi connectivity, but we can already confirm that 80 additional access points will be installed in the following week within the entire building in order to fix the described challenges.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon back to Frankfurt as well as the Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan.

Yours sincerely
Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Arriving in rainy dark Frankfurt on an average tuesdayevening, I was glad to find out that the hotel looked nice from the outside and the parking garage was just in front of the hotel. We were welcomed in a good manner, the rooms were adequate, clean and had a nice view(I stayed on the 6th floor). The room lacked a bath however and the Wifi(for which a code was provided at reception) did not work, minibar had only drinks no snacks. However, I had a nice sleep and my colleague was also satisfied with her stay in the room opposite of mine. But I am a man of simple pleasures and so I like the typical German Breakfast with “Kaiserbrotchen”, some nice “Schinken”or other sausage. In that respect hotel Steigenberger Metropolitan is not serving that, it just caters for foreigners the same boring breakfast buffet that you will find in so many hotels. And then I missed the nice Gasthofs that are so dear to me in Germany. All-in all, nice hotel for the tired businessman, not for a melancholic traveller like I am. I would recommend it anyways if somebody would ask.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willem_ter_Haar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Willem_ter_Haar,

thank you for your positive feedback on tripadvisor.com.
It is a pleasure to hear that we have mostly met your expectations and we are looking forward to share that within the team.

Please accept our apologies in regards to the poor WiFi connectivity, but we can already confirm that 80 additional access points will be installed in the following week within the entire building in order to fix the described challenges. Due to the historical building a double amount of access points than in usual buildings have been necessary.
Pleas also accept our style of breakfast in order to meet international requirements due to the majority of our guests. Anyway, we are serving traditional as well as regional goods on our separate breakfast menu as you might have seen. Bavarian “Weisswurst” as well as “Nürnberger sausages” for example are served a la carte but without any additional charge.

We do hope to welcome you soon back to Frankfurt and the Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan.

Most Sincerely
Steigenberger Hotel Metropolian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We got upgraded to the Suite on last floor with a tiny window view upon the train station roof but the room was exquisite with a very homely feel big sitting and dining area, a work-desk area with own toilet, a large bedroom with en suite bathroom with separate shower (and bathtube, really unnecessary IMO where hotels should think Green & save water!)
Fun point: the hotel oldest concierge is "very" famous for his unbeatable knowledge!
Overall good service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lysdor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Lysdor 11

Thanks for your positive feedback of your recent stay with us.

We are honored to share your compliments with our team and do hope to welcome you soon back to Frankfurt.

Sincerely

Johanna Wamser
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews