We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stylish hotel with standard service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan
Ranked #80 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
A TripAdvisor Member
Ottawa, Canada
217
Reviewed 20 July 2005

I stayed at the Metropolitan for a week in July 2005 while attending a seminar at the European Central Bank.

To keep it short, this hotel featured very stylish, modern decoration. Even the lights in the nice wide hallways light up as you walk down the hall. The rooms are of a good size by European standards and are fitted with a very nice bathroom, also of a modern style.

My only minor complaints:

- the service was fine, but the staff didn't seem to go the "extra mile"
- no internet computer terminal in the lobby for guest use
- I had no English TV channels during my stay because "a recent storm knocked out the satellite", although the hotel right next door had no such problems.
- for most of the week, the hotel was out of North American electricity outlet adaptors
- this may be standard in Europe, although I've never seen it there before...the staff made up your bed in the late morning and returned again in the evening at about 6:30pm to "take down" the bed and prepare it for the night. This touch seemed like style taken to excess, in my opinion. I found it intrusive to have someone knock and enter my room each night when I was relaxing after the seminar. Making the bed once in the morning is enough, thanks!

Overall, I had a satisfactory stay at the Metropolitan, and would definitely stay there again. It was good value for the money and likely the best hotel around the main train station area.

  • Stayed: July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2005

I can't really write a review on this as when I arrived at 1830 was told that there had been a mistake and that my reservation had been cancelled. When I pressed them to tell me who had cancelled it they admitted that they had over-booked and thus had arranged for me to stay at their sister hotel next door - the Intercity.

Not impressed - will never stay there again.

8  Thank Swindoneric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 28 January 2005

The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and the rooms were very new, clean and modern. Loved the bathrooms!

Ordered room service on evening for dinner which was a bit pricey but very good nevertheless. Recommended!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
10130
Reviewed 26 January 2005

Steigenberger Metropolitan is very well located in Frankfurt, right beside the Bahnhof (Train Station). This makes the airport only 15 minutes away (Euro3.25 by train - no need at all to take a taxi) A tram stop is within seconds of the front of the hotel also.

My hotel has some positive points, but surprisingly many negative points also.

My room (on the fifth floor) was nice, with a great bathroom (complete with heated marble floor - nice touch on stepping out of the shower). However the room had a connecting door, and the guests in the adjoining room were very noisy. The room had two large single beds - something quite frequently seen in Germany - rather than a double bed.

The room was not overlooked either - being higher than the station- a nice touch in such a big city.

The carpet in the room was in very poor condition - it was badly stained, and a section of the carpet right in the middle of the room was cut out and replaced - but glued back down badly resulting in stains around the cut out section. This makes the room look very tatty, and not what you would expect from a five star hotel.

Checkin staff gave me the wrong room number which involved me going back down to get the right room number. Apart from this staff were friendly, and helpful.

Room price also includes a city public transport ticket. I was not given this on check-in - only later did I find out.

I had a problem with my quoted price (quotedEuro150, charged Euro249) which took twenty minutes to resolve at reception. Needless to say I was not impressed, and was late for my meeting.

Breakfast buffet at Euro 19 is a rip off, considering the nearby shops, and the food available in the station opposite. I had warm Cheese Croissant every morning from the station. NB this is the going rate for breakfast in good european hotels - but with such choice so close, I wonder how many guests vote with their wallets and cross the road into the station.

The hotel has free internet access - via Dial-up, ISDN or wireless - a great service.

An area close to the hotel is seedy - probably not advisable for women to walk alone in the evenings down that area. Naturally this is not a problem of the hotel but the area. However - the immediate area outside of the hotel is very safe, and there are plenty of police around at all times.

No coffee making facilities in the room.

Room service charge is price plus Euro4 delivery charge.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2004

Stayed at the hotel for one night on a quick business trip to Frankfurt. The staff was gracious and most helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and the bathroom was wonderful. Gym was solid, but not outstanding. Would definitely stay here again as it was great value.

7  Thank yvrhab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Omaha, Nebraska
13
Reviewed 15 November 2004

We spent two nights here at the end of a business trip to do some sightseeing in Frankfurt. This is an excellent hotel with a very convenient location. The hotel is clean and modern and the staff is exceptionally courteous and helpful. The high tech bathrooms were especially fascinating.

Having made the reservation sight unseen on the web, we were somewhat anxious about the location in the Hauptbahnhof district. This was not an issue. The hotel is literally across the street from the north train station exit and we had absolutely no problems walking to the Allstadt area from there.

There are many other hotels in the immediate area, and having seen some of them from the street, I am happy we chose this one. Most of the others were old and run-down.

We were able to secure a weekend promotional rate of E99, far below the normal rates which made the stay a bargain as well. The breakast is a bit pricey for what you get and eating elsewhere is the only thing we would have done differently.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2004

This five-star hotel is conveniently located accross the Frankfurt train station. It is brand new, the decoration in the rooms is very contemporary, no old-fashioned painting on the wall, no out-of-date furniture. I would describe the rooms as 'zen'. The bathrooms are hard to describe but I would say they come right away from a design magazine! Everything is modern and elegant, it is one of my best hotel experience ever. One thing though, I thought the breakfast at 17 euros was overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank estelle t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Innenstadt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
#58 of 270 in Frankfurt
106 reviews
InterContinental Frankfurt
#33 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#7 of 270 in Frankfurt
767 reviews
Innenstadt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
#35 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan

Address: Poststr. 6, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#39 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#50 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £107 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan it takes only a few minutes by public transport or taxi to the Frankfurt Exhibition and Congress Centre, Frankfurt Airport, the banking quarter and the famous shopping mile, the Goethe Strasse and to the Zeil shopping mall. Other landmarks of the Main metropolis such as the Alte Oper, the theatre, galleries and the Senckenberg Museum are not far from the hotel either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing