We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Favored Hotel Scala
Ranked #104 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Central and quiet”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I arrived by s-bahn from Frankfurt bahnhof, three stations, and found the hotel easy. Central to the shopping area and old town, just a short walk. Small hotel, friendly staff and a good breakfast. Elevator a bit strange but working. Reasonable pricing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndersPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneSchue, Director of Sales at Favored Hotel Scala, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Anders,
thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and for your positive review on tripadvisor.com.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoeyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
With best regards from Frankfurt
The team of the BEST WESTERN Hotel Scala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    138
    82
    17
    15
See reviews for
37
83
46
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

In May 2014, a friend and I (in our late twenties / early thirties) stayed at Best Western Hotel Scala in Frankfurt am Main for one night.

The staff was very friendly and I felt welcome.

The hotel is located in the city center of Frankfurt and a five-minutes-walk from the metro-station “Konstablerwache” as well as the shopping street “Zeil”. There are plenty of shops and restaurants in walking-distance of the hotel.

Our room (Comfort Room 85) was located on the 8th floor of the hotel. It was spacious and welcoming and there was free Wi-Fi. The only negative thing about the room was the fact that the window didn’t seem to cose properly. The bathroom was small and a little outdated but clean.

We really enjoyed the breakfast which consisted of mostly cold but also a few warm dishes.

We paid about 115 Euro per night including breakfast. Considering this price, I choose to give the hotel 4/5 stars. I recommend the hotel and when I return to Frankfurt, I will definitely consider staying at Hotel Best Western Scala again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_us_worldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneSchue, Director of Sales at Favored Hotel Scala, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your reservation in our hotel and for your recommendations on tripadvisor.
It´s nice to read, that you had a good stay with us in Frankfurt.
We are looking forward to welcome you next time.
With best regards from Frankfurt
the team of the BEST WESTERN Hotel Scala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I spent a night here with 2 clear objectives - shopping in Zeil and catch my flight next day noon. Both met, in fact exceeded.

Hotel is located in the shopping district of Zeil and is about 3-4 mins walk from Knostablerwache station. This is the second station to Frankfurt if you take any S-bahn (S1 to S9). It is a typical european eco hotel. Compact lobby, Small corridors, small but clean rooms that can fit a bed and a chair & table. But I wasn't quite looking for a luxury, it was just a night and the place was just right.

Reception staff was helpful and communicative. In fact, I must thank the lady at the reception who safely kept my card wallet that I had forgotten while checking out. A big 'thank you' for that!

I didn't try the breakfast as it was mostly continental I was eating that stuff for almost 2 weeks. I had asked for a Taxi and it was ready before time. Transit to airport was a breeze, didn't take more than 20 mins.

All in all, a good place to stay if you intend in a bustling locality and do some shopping. 4 out 5 from my side. 5/5 to hotel staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank y2ksaurabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneSchue, Director of Sales at Favored Hotel Scala, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your reservation in our hotel and for your recommendations! It is our pleasure, that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Frankfurt
Your BEST WESTERN Hotel Scala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed at the ‘Best Western Hotel Scala’ for 3 nights.
We arrived at the hotel about 10pm, check-in was smooth, fast and we were given our free WiFi codes straight away at reception, our room was on the 8th floor and on the front of the hotel looking over the street, the hotel is situated just off the main shopping street in Frankfurt (Zeil), making it about 30 seconds walk to the main shopping street and about a 10 minute walk to the river and Roma (the old touristy area), if you are thinking of going to the Zoo then the Zoo is about a 10 minute walk away too.
Be warned though that everything, and I mean everything in Frankfurt shuts on a Sunday, including museums, we knew this beforehand so choose to do all our shopping on the Saturday and left Sunday for strolling by the river and visiting parks / churches.
Our room was very clean and fresh, there were toiletries left in the bathroom along with x4 towels, the bedroom had a stocked mini bar and large safe, I would happy stay here again. I can’t comment on the breakfast as I didn’t have this included in our stay. The WiFi worked perfect and was fast enough to stream TV on our iPad (as there was only 1 English speaking TV station – CNN)
The hotel is about 5 minutes’ walk from the metro station, this metro station has x2 trains (purple and green lines) that also go straight to the airport for €4.25 each.

Room Tip: front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanWhiteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plaza_11, Verkaufsleiter at Favored Hotel Scala, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Alan,
thank you very much for your reservation in our hotel. It is our pleasure, that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Have a good time.
With kind regards from Frankfurt
BEST WESTERN Hotel Scala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed there for a week during a business trip. Positive thing(s) first: the room was clean.

Service was awful on so many levels: the guys at the reception didn't even care, that I arrived (there was one positive exception, the girl being in charge upon check-out).

Wireless connection is super super super slow and you need to get a voucher every 24 hours for every device.

The room service i.e. the cleaning was ok, as regards to cleaning. But don't think, that they refilled the minibar, threw away trash… The only thing she did: turning down the radiator, so that I was cold during the night.

Upon arrival there even was a feedback-sheet on my bed - already filled in :) When I made a note, that this already is used, this note remained untouched for days…

Laundry service in principal worked well, but when asking if I could have a new form (since there was only one in the room) I was told, that she does not have any. Don't even think about that they'd pick up the laundry bag in the room or would bring the laundry into your room…

I'd pick another hotel somewhere in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plaza_11, Verkaufsleiter at Favored Hotel Scala, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you for your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is important to us.
We are sorry, that you felt, that the reception did not care, when you arrived. This is not our intention and of course we do look after every guest.

About the wireless connection we do not have any requests of other guests, but we will contact our provider, if there are any issues. The voucher contains user name and password for free wireless internet, which is important for your own security.
We are really sorry about the feedback sheet, but it has not been there for days! It has been taken on Monday and you have checked in on Sunday.

About the laundry form: You actually went to reception to ask for it. The receptionist could not grab it in that moment but she looked for it. But you had not even a minute of time and you went straight ahead to the elevator.

However we are sorry and desolate about your impressions. It is not our intention and as you can see many guests in the past were quite happy.

For any further questions please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Best regards
BEST WESTERN Hotel Scala Frankfurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here for the Xmas markets and later prior to flying out to UK. Close to the airport and a good inner city location. They have a driveway which makes unloading cases easier than doing so in the street. Staff are very friendly and got us into the room early. Rooms and the attached bathrooms are smallish but adequate. Has a fridge and free wifi which worked fine. Bed and chairs were comfortable and the room was clean. Views are not especially good but it is inner city. Heating works too well but opening a window for a while fixes that. Parking is in a garage some 200m away which charges per hour during that day and a low flat rate overnight. There may be cheaper options but nothing more convenient. Breakfast was ok with good range of continental items and small amount of hot food. Was expensive at 14E and if you are up for a walk you could find a lot of places cheaper quite close by. If you need an inner city location then this will suit you well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueswarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plaza_11, Director of Sales at Favored Hotel Scala, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear, we would like to thank you for taking part in this survey and for your reservation in our hotel.
Your feedback is important to us and we are happy, that you had a good stay at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Scala.
We hope to welcome you again.
All the Best for you and kind regards from Frankfurt
BEST WESTERN Hotel Scala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

After visiting Frankfurt many times, we were looking for a centrally located hotel that was a good value. This hotel was prefect. It was much better than we expected for the price we paid. The room was well appointed, had free Wi-Fi, and the location was minutes from the Zeil main shopping area. We could walk everywhere. We did have breakfast in the restaurant one morning, and it was very good, but a bit pricey for 14 Euros per person. However, that seems to be normal for a large buffet breakfast. Since we were visiting friends outside of Frankfurt, we did need to sue the U-Bahn to get to the train station, but the station was also only a couple of minutes away. Having stayed in hotels near the Frankfurt rail station previously, we preferred this location of the BW Scala.

Room Tip: Choose the quiet rooms even for the slight upcharge., It is worth it. We had that kind of room, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaa0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plaza_11, Director of Sales at Favored Hotel Scala, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Sir,
thank you for choosing our hotel and thank you for sharing your impressions.
We hope to welcome you for your next visit in Frankfurt. Wish you all the Best and looking forward to welcome you again.
Kind regards
BEST WESTERN Hotel Scala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
EXPO Hotel
#126 of 269 in Frankfurt
138 reviews
Altstadt
Miramar Hotel
Miramar Hotel
#68 of 269 in Frankfurt
263 reviews
Altstadt
Das Spenerhaus
Das Spenerhaus
#90 of 269 in Frankfurt
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Hotel Neue Kraeme
Hotel Neue Kraeme
#128 of 269 in Frankfurt
112 reviews
Innenstadt
NH Collection Frankfurt City
NH Collection Frankfurt City
#7 of 269 in Frankfurt
757 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Zentrum
Hotel Zentrum
#139 of 269 in Frankfurt
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Favored Hotel Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Favored Hotel Scala

Property: Favored Hotel Scala
Address: Schaefergasse 31, 60313 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Scala)
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Favored Hotel Scala 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel Scala is located conviently in the city centre of Frankfurt. You will find shops and department stores within a few minutes by walking. Our Hotel provides 40 guest rooms, standard and comfort class. The comfort rooms offer an aircondition and a safety box. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom, hairdryer and cosmetic mirror. The rooms also have free wifi, minibar, telephone and Satellite- TV with more than 100 international TV channels. In the mornings you can enjoy our hot/cold buffet breakfast. Reception is available 24 hours. We look forward to welcome you at the Scala Frankfurt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Favored Hotel Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Scala
Best Western Frankfurt
Frankfurt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing