We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoidable”
Review of Hotel Zeil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Zeil
Ranked #155 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 18 February 2012

no pre-prepared rooms. phone not working. very high tarriff for room. free wifi. small park at rear. no aircon, only table fan. cold breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for room on higher floor to avoid noise from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aspi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

Its 150m from the main shopping street Konstablerwashe and so to the closest underground station, it means easy travelling to the Messe only 5 stops, 15min. Make sure you visit shopping centre ZEIL for plenty shops restaurants and other fun.
Hotel itself is very old place, the decor is outdated, the bathroom was cold. Breakfast OK, sausages, eggs, tea, coffee fills you up for the morning and hard work in Messe. On the other hand bed was clean, towels were clean... but its more like a pension not hotel... and ofcourse the Messe rate was skyhigh for this kind of place. I think there are better places to stay during the Messe, but I was happy with the location, during my business trips I choose to stay in the heart of the city, so if you are not a hudge fan of a brand new modern hotels and you like to be always in place and you can get a good rate for the room, than its ok I think. make sure u make a reservation for the German restaurant Zum Grauen Bock for a nice meal with your business partners or family, friends...
Have fun.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ervis555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Near zeil shopping and market that sets up in the square, 2 mass transit stops nearby with 2 trains to airport, nightlife in easy walking distance, rooms are large with moderate furniture, free good cold breakfast, WiFi. Desk fan in room. Room television is small. Elevator is 2 person sized, only 6 small parking spots, but cul du sac behind hotel. Minifridge did not cool. Bathroom needed some repair - toilet seat split. Shower doors open only enough for a hollywood model to slip by, soap and shower fixtures loose, hot water pressure varies with use. Better value hotels for the same price in the area.

Room Tip: higher room is better for noise and breeze if opening window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrErsatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

What a ripoff! My daughter and I booked Hotel Ziel through "booking.com" for a 4 night stay. Shortly after booking we realized we would have liked to rent a car and spend one night of our brief visit to Germany in another City. My daughter contacted both the hotel and booking.com 5 days in advance of our arrival to change the booking. We found out that the fine print says that the entire 300 Euro booking is unchangeable, non-refundable (unless it is 45 days in advance). Who ever heard of such a thing? This wasn't some deeply discounted price or special deal. I have never heard of not being able to cancel a hotel booking with more than 24 hours notice. I will never use booking.com again and advise others to avoid it.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
4  Thank lisabalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We chose this hotel because it advertized "free parking" and also because of the location, and reviews. Parking in Frankfurt can be 15 to 20 euros per day. Upon arrival, the parking lot held only 6 spaces, and street construction did not permit access to the entire parking lot. The young receptionist woman shrugged her shoulders, and was not helpful. I repeated several times that I booked this hotel because it advertizes free parking. She asked what I expected her to do. I said, "provide free parking, or pay for me to park someplace." I was angry, but did not curse, did not call names. My tone, though indicated I was angry. The receptionist said, "You don't talk to people like this" and she went inside. I drove around for 45 minutes, tried to park on the street, lost 4 euros, and eventually came back and the woman told me to park behind two cars in her lot and block them in. Had I been verbally abusive, I would have understood her behavior. However, I was appropriately angry that she initially did nothing to help and felt no obligation to provide parking.
The room was large, clean, except for mold or fungus growing in the tile of the shower. The breakfast was good. I would neve stay here again, though. The woman took no responsibility for the parking situation. She never apologized, thought it inappropriate for me to be upset, and initially did nothing to try to provide me with parking, even though this is what they advertized.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYer_in_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

The price per night is pretty cheap. Bathroom - shower room is very small. No extra cost for 3-Bed room, so that is good thing when you have a bigger group.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dondonibubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Just 400 metres from Konstablerwache station at the quiet end of Zeil. Front desk open 24 hours. Plenty of eateries nearby. Well-appointed rooms with high ceilings. Comfortable beds. Nice hot radiator, and the window and door onto the balcony can be opened. Room 13 is the only one with a balcony overlooking the street. Breakfast included in the price (0800-1100 at weekends), with plenty of variety, but bland quality. This end of Zeil is not busy, but the street noise is obtrusive if you're not used to it, despite the double glazing. The city operates noisy mechanised pavement sweepers, even on a Sunday morning! But if you want the convenience of being comfortably located right in the city, this is really the only compromise you'll have to endure.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seventiesicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Grand Hotel Dream
Grand Hotel Dream
#193 of 269 in Frankfurt
207 reviews
Innenstadt
Favored Hotel Scala
Favored Hotel Scala
#104 of 269 in Frankfurt
322 reviews
EXPO Hotel
#151 of 269 in Frankfurt
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Hotel Neue Kraeme
Hotel Neue Kraeme
#143 of 269 in Frankfurt
120 reviews
Arena am Zoo
#142 of 269 in Frankfurt
8 reviews
Innenstadt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
#38 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zeil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zeil

Address: Zeil 12, 60313 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: £54 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zeil 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Zeil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeil Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing