We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe
Ranked #61 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Washington DC Metro
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Great Accommodation”
Reviewed 17 November 2008

I flew in to Frankfurt, took train (3.60 euro) to Haupbanhof, and city bus to the hotel (1.50 euro). Only 3 or 4 stops from the station. If you're really traveling light, it's not too bad a walk. Taxi comes in under 8 euro.

The check-in staff was very friendly. My reservation was in order, and my PC Platinum status was acknowledged. Including a ticket for a complimentary glass of wine. I mentioned the activities that would interest me (art museums), and they gave me a city map with everything highlighted for me.

There was a great deal to enjoy on the breakfast buffet, which is set out for a generous amount of time, especially on weekends.

My departure was very early -- 6:00 -- so it was nice that the check-out went so well, again a courteous person on staff; and a taxi arrived minutes later to take me to the train station.

Please note: the neighborhood has nothing to recommend it. But it's really not the point. I found it convenient for everything I wanted to do. And I had no plan to hang around the hotel. I was there to sleep and to have a nice breakfast. It was quite a bargain, and a pleasant one at that.

Only one complaint: the person at the desk on Saturday night did not know what "on-line check-in" was for my flight the next day. More or less she figured out she couldn't help me and my only option would have been to spend 5 euro for the business center computer. In this day and age, I think every hotel should have easy and complimentary access to on-line check for its guests.

  • Liked — Great staff, bargain, good breakfast, convenient to sites in Frankfurt.
  • Disliked — No on-line flight check-in available.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Capital Culture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    208
    142
    33
    5
See reviews for
117
100
61
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2008

We stayed at the Express Holiday Inn in Frankfurt over the October half term holiday and found it to be very child friendly, extremely well located considering the city centre is a Red Light district. We were very glad that we had booked this hotel instead anything in the town centre! It really would not have been suitable with children. The hotel was clean,tidy and very efficent. The staff were very much on the ball and the breakfasts were good. The standard was very high for the price you pay. The number 37 bus route is excellent-it takes you to the city centre in about five minutes. The bus is a frequent service and is really close to the hotel. The rooms are well maintained,very clean and the bathrooms very hygienic. The hotel doesn't offer a restaurant service but you are able to go to the bar and order pizza only. Which is not very expensive-a basic one cost £6-and it taste quite good. They give menus for local eateries but the town centre is close enough for you to just hop on the bus and pick something up. In the evening the city is not pleasant as it is a open red light area and you will be very glad that your hotel is not in the heart of it.!!! The staff are helpful and I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Liked — That it was NOT in the red light district!!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing!!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Zara77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota, US
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2008

This hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere. Claims to be near the airport, and is instead a 20 min drive on the highway.
The hotel only has ONE shuttle bus for the entire hotel and there was a lot of chaos among guests about who should get priority to ride on the shuttle bus (there are only 8 seats). You have to take the shuttle bus to get back to the airport to go to the train station to actually get somewhere. If you can afford a taxi, you could call one everyday, but I personally think that is too expensive.
The rooms are decent.
There is wi-fi in the lobby and one computer for guest use that costs euros per an alotted time.

Helpful?
Thank Gormanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRAGT, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, 29 November 2008
Dear Guests,

The hotel you are referring to seems to be the Express by Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport, which operates a shuttle service to and from the Frankfurt International airport. The Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Messe is not operating a shuttle service.

The reviewed hotel Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Messe is about 14 km away from the airport and involves a travel time of 25-30 minutes by taxi at a charge of approx. 30 Euros. Public transporation is also available at a charge of currently 3,60 Euros. Take the S-Bahn S8 and S9 to Frankfurt Hauptbahnhof and then change to bus 37. Travel time is approx 35 minutes.

However thank you for comments!
Martin Nock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY/Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2008

Stayed there in April 2008. Typical HI Express - basic and in a remote location, but clean and affordable. At least a 20-minute walk to the main trainstation/subway or a 5-minute ride by a local bus (poor service on weekends). Lots of industrial buildings in the area, but didn't feel unsafe. Complementary breakfast was ok. Would stay again. Not much to do in Frankfurt - one day is enough to see all the tourist sites and everything is very expensive compared to North America.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nycnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2008

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend and enjoyed it very much. Since we had a car, the location was not of too big importance to us. The hotel has its own parking lot, they charge EUR 12.-- per day. However, there are plenty of public parking spots on the side of the street free of charge, and it seems a reasonably safe area, so we parked there, no problem.

But I must say, the area is not attractive at all. No restaurants nearby, to walk to the centre it is quite a way, more convenient is the bus. The hotel has no restaurant! However, you can ask for menues at the reception from restaurants that will deliver the food, that is a nice idea, you can eat the food that they bring at the breakfast restaurant.

Breakfast was fine, very nice selection, and, it is free of charge, like at all the express by Holiday Inn. The room was fine too, nothing to complain. The queensize beds are on the small side, though, for 2 adults.

The closest highway exit is "Frankfurt-Westhafen", it takes you directly into Gutleutstrasse where the hotel is located. However, this exit is only accessible from/to the North! If you come from the South, you drive past the "Westhafen", make a u-turn at Frankfurt Westkreuz, and head South again.

The hotel is not really near the Messe. I find the name a bit mis-leading.

The hotel was definitely worth the price we paid. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — free breakfast, nice niew (top floor)
  • Disliked — location, no restaurants nearby
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank luke.traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRAGT, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, 29 November 2008
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments!

The Holiday Inn Express brand is not providing restaurants and room service being a limited-service brand. In about 10-15 minutes walking distance you can find a variety of restaurants, such as German, International, Fast Food, Chinese/Korean, Turkish or diners serving Helal food.

The hotel is located 2-2,5 km from the Messe Frankfurt entrances and can be reached with a taxi in approx. 10 minutes. For major fairs, the hotel is usually providing a morning shuttle service to the fairgrounds (no return; at charge; subject to changes)

Martin Nock, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2006

Stayed here for 1 night in November 06. Newcastle were playing Frankfurt in UEFA cup. 20 min walk from Ryanair bus drop off point and 25 min walk from central rail station. Its in the middle of a industrial area on a main road. Nearest dodgy bar about 10 min walk. Hotel is standard H.I express, all staff speak excellent english and so did everyone we came into contact with in Frankfurt, hotel is clean, light. Rooms are small but all the football traveller needs, shower, WC and free Frankie Vaughan on the Tv. Hotel bar only open 18.00 - 23.00 hrs. So if a night time kick off dont expect to get a beer when you get back from the match. Bus (number 37) runs every 10 mins through the day to the city centre. take 3 mins. cost about 1.30 euro. but you can get a cheap day ticket. The easiest way to get to the ground is by the tram or tube that runs from outside the main train station. Match tickets are valid for public transport 5 hours before game. If you want to fall out of the Irish bar by the train station into your bed this is no good, but for value and quality its ideal. Would stay again.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamJarWilkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2006

Just had one night at this hotel waiting for a connecting flight the next day.

Hotel runs a very efficient shuttle service to and from airport.

Staff all very friendly - speak perfect English.

Breakfast bar, excellent - ham, cheese, cereal, fruit, yoguart, pastries, tea, coffee, fruit juice etc etc.

Very clean room, smallish in size, but adequate.

Pre-booked on the net 71 euro including breakfast for two, represented excellent value for money.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Bockenheim
Novotel Frankfurt City
Novotel Frankfurt City
#54 of 269 in Frankfurt
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#32 of 269 in Frankfurt
250 reviews
Hotel Excelsior
#60 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,496 reviews
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#47 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe

Property: Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe
Address: Gutleutstr. 296, 60327 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomeChoose the sleek Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe hotel for a convenient location 10 minutes by taxi from the Messe exhibition grounds, and 20 minutes from Frankfurt Airport. Continental buffet breakfast in our airy Great Room prepares you for a fruitful day at the Messe or exploring the Old Town. Return to your warm-hued Guest room with free wireless Internet access. If you're arriving by car, we're just 1.5 km from the A5 motorway. Frankfurt's Gallusviertel and Gutleutviertel business quarters are 1 km away, while Höchst and Eschborn industrial parks are less than a 15-minute drive. Complimentary wireless Internet in our smart Lobby area means you can plan your day over coffee. Our 2 meeting rooms, with wireless Internet access and natural daylight are tailor-made for private conferences. Bus 37 takes you from our door to Frankfurt central station in 7 minutes. Take a 10-minute stroll from the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe to the River Main promenade for panoramic Frankfurt views. The cobbled Old Town and bustling Zeil shopping promenade are 4 km away. Meet and mingle in the granite-floored, open-plan Lobby and browse complimentary newspapers over drinks and snacks. You can check your emails in the 24-hour self-service Business Centre. For restaurant tips and Frankfurt city maps, just ask the friendly staff at our 24-hour Front Desk. At Holiday Inn Express children and teenagers are special guests: up to two children under the age of 18 stay free of charge, sharing room with their parents. According to Holiday Inn Express standards, also breakfast for children is without extra charge, already included in accommodation price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe Hotel Frankfurt
Frankfurt Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing