We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ranked #47 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
An Accor traveller
1
Reviewed 11 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 1,927 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

I) HONEST Cancellation policy

While more and more hotels are adopting an advance cancellation policy of one or even more days before the arrival date, Ibis hotels still maintain an HONEST cancellation policy of 6 or even 7 pm of the arrival date when you guarantee your room with a credit card.

Better yet, they are among the very few hotels left which accept the old "6 pm courtesy hold" policy without even asking for your credit card!

This summer 2013, I had about twenty reservations between Madrid, Paris, Vienna, Buenos Aires and now Frankfurt, all of them on a "6 pm courtesy hold" without giving my credit card, not even once, between May and August 2013. And I still have two more for Germany and one for Buenos Aires; all of them, on a "6 pm (or 7 pm for most of them) courtesy hold" without giving my credit card number.

Naturally, I had the courtesy of canceling some reservations in Madrid a few days before the scheduled arrival date, because I preferred to stay at the four star Florida Norte, which was a far better value.

But now, more and more hotels are not only asking for your credit card information; worse yet, they are also adopting an advance cancellation policy of one or even several days prior to the arrival date or you lose your money!

They get away with it because people accept it. Until the day their flight is cancelled at the very last minute, they lose their money and learn the hard way that they should never accept this lion to monkey deal!

A few years ago, while I was checking in at a hotel in San Luis Obispo (California), I witnessed a phone conversation between the hotel manager and an unfortunate passenger to whom this had just happened, and I heard the manager say that it was not the hotel's fault and that he couldn't do anything about it!

This explains my preference for IBIS hotels and their outstanding policy of "6 pm courtesy hold". Again, most Ibis locations will hold your room without a credit card, not until 6 pm but until 7 pm in many locations. As we say in France: "Qui dit mieux"?

II) QUEEN BED, AC and RIVER FRONT, RIGHT DOWNTOWN for only 59 €

In fact, 59 € was the counter rate when I arrived, but I only paid 49 € because, as usual, I made my reservations longtime ahead via the Internet. This is easy for me because I have the misfortune of being a professor, working almost for free, but knowing longtime in advance the dates of my four months vacations without pay...

However, even at 59 Euros, this is an OUTSTANDING VALUE, considering that, since I discovered this city in 1990 thanks to my beloved Pan Am, I have seen many hotels in the area charging more than that for an army bed in a closet without AC!!! And I'm not talking of 1990; I still saw this kind of room in several hotels in August 2013!

The "superior" room that I had last year at the Best Western Scala (which now sells for 30% more than the price of this Ibis one) was smaller than this one, didn't have such a wide open view over the river, and was noisier than the room I currently have here. You may want to read my review about it, posted in June 2012. This year, they are charging almost $100 for an even smaller room without AC!

As always with IBIS, there is NO SURPRISE, good or bad.

Same queen bed (in many French locations they only have a double bed), same small 20 inch LCD TV, same two towels (never one, never three...), same green wood chair without padding, same large wood shelf serving as a desk. The only difference is that, in here, it is by the wall (as it was at the Paris Brancion location) instead of being under the window as in most locations where I have been.

Between the bed and the desk, there are two AC outlets, very handy to recharge your laptops, tablets, etc. BUT REMEMBER that in Europe, like in South America, they have 220 VOLTS instead of 110 back home!

It would be a euphemism to say that the bathroom is small... In fact it is as tiny as the BW Scala one, which room currently sells for 30% more as I said! However, it has its own small window, which is always convenient in order to ventilate the bathroom.

The AC is over the door, as in many locations like Lima (Peru), for which I posted a review in May 2012, and has a wall selector with three fan speeds and a manual temperature selector which is very efficient.

There is also a telephone and a hair dryer, two features that you won't find at the cheaper Ibis Budget where I spent a short week in May 2012 and again in June-July 2013 at the Vienna (Austria) location.

But that's about all for the comfort.

NO club chair (but I saw a "superior" room yesterday at the Clarion Hotel and it didn't have a club chair either at twice this rate!) NO "mini bar" like in the more expensive Best Western or Clarion hotels and, naturally, NO microwave, NO iron and NO ironing board, which you will find in most BW and Choice hotels in the US at half this rate. But this is Europe, where rooms are smaller, less comfortable and more expensive...

Last but not least, my room (532 on the fifth floor out of seven) where I spent a short week in July-August 2013 has a wide open view over the river, but there are also rooms on the back.

III) EXCELLENT LOCATION

Although this Ibis is NOT as close from the main train station as the Ibis Styles (which is only two blocks instead of four, but which also costs twice as much...) it is still very close and you can easily walk the 400 meters more or less from the Hauptbahnhof. Unless you travel with 200 pounds of luggage, in which case you would probably be using a limousine and going to a Sofitel, like the other guy...

As you exit the main train station coming from the airport, turn right and walk about four blocks towards the river. Then, turn right before the bridge and you will see this Ibis about fifty yards on your right hand side.

If you bought a day pass at the airport (8.30 € for one day or 23.80 € for seven days, including the airport surplus a/o July 29, 2013) you may take trams 16 or 21 right in front of the main station for one stop and get off at the BASELER PLATZ stop (the very first one), then walk a couple of blocks to the river and turn right.

At the same Baseler Platz stop, you may also take tram number 12 in the opposite direction, which will take you to the zoo and also to the old town, a few blocks from the main pedestrian street running from the Hauptwache to the Konstablerwache subway stations.

IN SHORT, this IBIS FRANKFURT CENTRUM is currently, in my opinion, an EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY in this rather expensive city, mainly for eating.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a wide open view over the river, although there is a round building in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Efrin_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

With hotels in major cities often being a lottery in terms of cleanliness, value for money and location, the Ibis Centrum proved to be a very welcome find. Firstly, it was very clean and the rooms were modern, if a bit on the small side. The value was excellent overall when compared to other options I had looked at, and the reception staff helpful, and friendly, without ever being unprofessional. The breakfast was also good value at €10 for a large selection of buffet items, with unlimited drinks, etc.

Finally the location, a few minutes walk from the main station meant it was easy to get around town and to find the hotel on the way back. The nearby River Main, marina area (only one restaurant/bar), shops and riverside walk to the Old Town all made it a pleasant stay and the whole area despite being near to a main station felt very safe.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pripyat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The location is great. Only10 min walk from main train station. The rooms were very clean and nicely designed. It was a best hotel in terms of price and facility for our fast trip to frankfurt. I think this ibis branch was much better than some other branches that I have been.To make the long story short, it was higher than only 3 stars hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Bangalore, India
Reviewed 1 August 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 July 2013

we stayed only one night. The rooms were clean, modern but kind of small (but we already knew this from other Ibis hotels).

The staff people were just correct. They answer your questions politely but I think that a grin would make the guests more welcomed. We've stayed in other hotels in Germany and we saw smiles everywhere, so it's not a matter of the country's character.

The hotel is located close to the train station and it's not too far from the old part of town. You can even go on foot if you want to.

I must add that the hotel's barmen were nice and the beverages prices were any higher than prices outside the hotel, so there's no need to go anywhere for a drink

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanJoseSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stay here for 3 nights.
Good points:
- Clean and neat
- Strong glass and virtually no noise from outside
- comfortable beds, soft pillows
- centre of the city, 10 mins walk to main train stations
- free wifi in lobby
- reasonable price

Improvement:
- wifi in rooms for a fee
- wifi signal is not strong enough, no free wifi on a morning and they provide us with another account instead
- rooms really small, not suitable if your have lots of luggage

But all in all, given the price, this have been a good stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank norton88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#31 of 270 in Frankfurt
285 reviews
Hotel Excelsior
#66 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,558 reviews
Niederrad
NH Frankfurt Niederrad
NH Frankfurt Niederrad
#29 of 270 in Frankfurt
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
NH Frankfurt Messe
NH Frankfurt Messe
#9 of 270 in Frankfurt
725 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Bristol Hotel Frankfurt
#56 of 270 in Frankfurt
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Frankfurt Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Frankfurt Centrum

Address: Speicherstrasse 4, 60327 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Frankfurt Friedensbruecke)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £49 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Frankfurt Centrum 2*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is everything: The ibis Frankfurt Centrum is within walking distance of Frankfurt main train station and a few steps from the Main promenade. The financial district, old town with the Römer town hall and the museums along the river Main are all just a short walk away. After a busy day, relax in a brand new high-tech bed and enjoy a unique level of sleeping comfort. The ibis Frankfurt Centrum has 233 air-conditioned rooms, and was completely renovated in 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Frankfurt Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum Hotel Frankfurt
Accor Frankfurt Centrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing