We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New hotel downtown Frankfurt” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Grand Frankfurt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Ranked #23 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva
Level Contributor
130 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“New hotel downtown Frankfurt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

First of all : the staff make the difference !! They are most friendly and welcoming. The Hotel itself is a regular, typical Business Hotel, however with a good Location. The rooms are regular sized, for me with too much White colour, felt like in a Hospital. Bathroom ok, with a nice rainshower. Air conditioning was not working, however they offered me the Drinks of the Minibar for free because of this.
No Soap in the bathroom, this however should not happen.
Would I go back there ? Probably not before things are working better. But once again : reception staff do all they can to make you feel happy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reto1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand-FRA2014, Manager at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Reto1961,

First of all: your opinion is important for us! Your words in regard to our service and hospitality make us very proud.
We forwarded your feedback to the complete team, so that we can still work on the (daily) process and service improvement.

We would love to satisfy you during your next stay and assure you of your innovative design hotel in the middle of Frankfurt.

Hospitably regards,
- Your Wyndham Grand Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    443
    148
    45
    27
See reviews for
125
446
76
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv District, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Modern new hotel with a great location - walking distance from the main train station and city center. Also very close to the river bank. Ask for the sky view rooms - overlooking the skyline of Frankfurt (reminds you of Manhattan). Very nice design for the room - it was big and comfortable. The hotel is business oriented with the needed facilities. Free wifi. The staff was friendly and helpful. I will come back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand-FRA2014, Manager at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Dan B.,

thank you very much for your stay at the brand new Wyndham Grand Frankfurt and your honest feedback.

Your words are very important for us and make us feel proud and happy regarding to our hotel, the rooms and also the hospitality of the staff.

We forwarded your feedback to the whole team and looking forward to welcome you again in our "urban Networking Resort" in the middle of Frankfurt.

Best regards,

your Wyndham Grand Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have mixed feelings about this hotel; they were having renovation work done during our visit which has coloured my view, perhaps when ‘normal service’ resumes things will improve.

The location of the hotel is not bad, near to the main train station, a nice 10 minute stroll along the Main river to the Old Town or over the river to Sachsenhausen. The décor in the public areas is modern and clean, but I found some things slightly impractical, such as the chairs in the bar/breakfast area being uncomfortably low to the floor.

Our room was perfectly reasonable, a nice big bed, flat screen TV, safe and mini bar. We were on the 8th floor, the view directly underneath our window was of unsightly building materials and machinery related to the renovations, but if you looked out to the distance we did have a nice view of the tall buildings in the Banking District (see picture). The bathroom was spotlessly clean and decorated to a high standard, it had a lovely big shower, but the rest of the room was tiny and you could not fit more than 1 person in at a time.

During our visit the air conditioning was not working anywhere within the hotel, we were not informed of this at check in and spend a very uncomfortable first night in a sweat box of a room. We asked at reception the following morning and they quickly arranged for the window to be fully opened which made the temperature more bearable. This however created a new problem on our last day (Monday) when the building site directly beneath our window, which had been dormant all weekend, suddenly came alive with a cacophony of bashing and crashing at 7:00 a.m.

Overall our experience was OK, but with the number of hotels in Frankfurt in this price range I suspect you can find better for your money, particularly whilst the refurbishment works is underway.

Tip 1 - We tried to hire a DB city bike (like the Boris Bikes in London) but found the whole process overly difficult and not set up for tourists. We couldn’t download the app, the terminals at the station would not allow us to register and they charge to register if you call. In the end we gave up!

Tip 2 – Check out the indoor mini golf, called Minds on Minigolf, located in the Zeil shopping centre, we stumbled over it trying to find the 9th floor viewing deck, a really unique place and for just 5 euro it was a fun way to waste an hour or two!!

Tip 3 – To get to the hotel from the Airport we took public transport, it is fairly straightforward and took roughly 30 minutes. Frankfurt’s main train station (Hauptbahnhof) is large and may be confusing if you are not a confident traveller. But if you want to save money on a taxi fare take the train, here is how we did it:
- The S Bahn regional train departs from Terminal 1, if flying into Terminal 2 (like we did) take the free shuttle bus between terminals, which leaves every 5 minutes from outside the arrivals hall.
- You can purchase a ticket from a ticket machine in the train station at Terminal 1, these machines can be changed into English and a one way adult ticket cost 4.35 euro.
- Follow the S Bahn signs for trains to the City Centre, which is only 2 or 3 stops on this line. On the return journey the trains which stop at the airport are clearly marked on the information boards with a little plane symbol.
- Exit the Hauptbahnhof main entrance/exit, cross the tram lines and the main road and turn right along this main road.
- After a short walk take a left at Wiesenhuttenstrasse. The Savoy Hotel Frankfurt (not as posh as it sounds!) is on the corner of this street and you will also pass by the much nicer looking La Meridien Park Hotel.
- Cross the next intersecting road and continue to follow Wiesenhuttensrasse.
- At the corner of Wiesenhuttensrasse and Wilhelm-Leuschner Strasse, turn left. Follow this road for approximately 300 yards to the Wyndham Grand, situated opposite the large Intercontinental Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KABReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand-FRA2014, Manager at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear KABReading,

Your honest and informative words are more than important for us.

First of all we would like to thank you for your feedback after your first stay at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt.

We are sad to hear that it was not perfect for you. Kindly be informed that we are always working on all those inconvenient circumstances to make you feel comfortable and also that the air condition in our hotel is already working smoothly.

The complete GRAND team would be very happy to welcome you again at the brand new “Urban networking resort” in the middle of Frankfurt.

Best regards,
- Your Wyndham Grand Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Wyndham Grand only opened in May 2014 and it looks like you would expect a new hotel to look: stylishly decorated. What you don't expect is to find building and decorating work still ongoing. You also don't expect to have to run the hot tap for a few minutes to get rid of brown water. Similarly, the Nespresso machine was filthy and only churned out muddy cups and undrinkable coffee. The complimentary bottled water was clearly from a tap (the seal on the bottle was broken). The double bed was two singles pushed together and the bathroom was tiny (although stylish).

The location is OK - a particular plus being that it was very close to the river - and the staff were friendly and spoke good English. I hope the hotel will improve with time, but I wouldn't currently recommend it as I am sure there are better hotels in Frankfurt.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Intercontinental. You'll at least get a partial view of the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand-FRA2014, Manager at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear SMonger,

The whole Wyndham Grand Frankfurt team thanks you for your first stay.

We are sorry, that we had some construction works going on during your stay. Please be sure, we promise that we worked on all those technical challenge or service improvement.

Kindly be informed that we also forwarded your feedback to the different departments to provide you the perfect standards and let you feel like home at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt.

Hopefully we will welcome you again here in our “urban networking resort”.

Best regards,
- Your Wyndham Grand Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Enjoyed out stay. It was a very comfortable stay and the Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Frankfurt. It was a close walk to the downtown area where there were lots of great restaurants and places to see.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand-FRA2014, Manager at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear T R,

we thank you for first stay and also the positive feedback afterwards.

We are more than happy to hear all the nice words! Your opinion is important for us and make us very proud. The complete Team was informed about the positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcome you again -as you said- at our "urban Networking Resort" in the middle of Frankfurt.

Best regards,

your Wyndham Grand Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

When I booked (around 8 weeks prior to my stay) I knew it was a brand new hotel but I wasn't aware that construction was still going on. I found that out when I noticed bad review ratings on internet.

It wasn't a very big issue as the work in my room and lobby area was finished. However, it is still disturbing to see there is work going on in various parts of the hotel. I was watching them working in the backyard while I was having my breakfast.

Breakfast was good with a good variety on the buffet. On top of that, it was nice to see the smiling faces of the waiters. Good service.

One day my window was left opened and because of the work going on there was a strong smell of gas and some chemical which gave me a bad headache. They should have considered this and make sure windows were closed.

It is a nice property. Rooms are nice and simply designed. Very comfortable bed. Bahroom was a bit small and there was always a good amount of water leaking out of the door from the shower area.

It is also a good location. Although not in the very center it was conveniently located and walking distance to almost everything in the center e.g. hauptbanhof, historic center etc. It was also nice to be able to reach to the riverside in less than 3 minutes.

I know that work will finish and Wyndham will remain a nice place to stay in Frankfurt but I still think that it was not a great stay this time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Korkut O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand-FRA2014, Manager at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Korkut O.,

First of all: your comments are very important for us.

We thank you for your trust in the new hotel. Kindly be informed that we promise that we worked on all those technical disagreeability.

Of course we are very sorry that we had some construction works going on during your first stay.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at our “urban networking resort” in central Frankfurt/Main.

GRAND greetings,
- Your Wyndham Grand Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

It was possibly a bad omen when the taxi driver hadn’t heard of this ‘new’ (refurbished) hotel. Then at check-in (which took forever) I was given the wrong room type … apparently the booking info they had on file was wrong – but I booked directly with the hotel and had to provide my email confirmation to prove what I had booked.

So let’s get one thing clear: the hotel is NOT finished yet. Half of the floors are not yet ready and the hotel is full of building work, indoors and outdoors; especially outdoors on the ground floor (interesting if you like watching building work!) This is not a ‘Grand’ hotel – it’s a grand building site. This also means that the gym isn’t open – despite what the website says (reception says it ‘might’ open in September). The corridors are tatty – unfinished plasterwork, holes in walls, strange odours. The top floors of the hotel are not finished yet – so the “sweeping city views” that the website boasts are not yet available. The quality of finish in my bedroom was variable; really just a lack of attention to detail (e.g. messy cabinetry and skirting boards, leaking shower); and I was particularly bemused by the huge random pane of glass leaning up against the wall, which served no purpose and was clearly a left-over from the building work.

The staff is generally nice – but most of them are clearly new and a bit uncertain of what they’re doing. Possibly they’re also a bit bored, as there are so few guests? Bedrooms are all the same size from what I can see: pretty small. Not pokey, but not big either. The whole design ethos of the hotel will please you if you enjoy modern design (no chintz or frills here); but I couldn’t help feeling that it was done “on the cheap” by wannabe, junior interior designers. It’s trying to be cool Scandinavia, W-style, contemporary – but the execution doesn’t quite get there.

What I liked: Good location, one block back from the river and 5 mins walk from the main train station. The lobby/bar/restaurant area is very nicely designed and a cool place to hang out (albeit not with much atmosphere – doesn’t seem to get used much – and with building work going on outside the windows). Breakfast: great buffet for only 23 Euros. Rooms are pretty stylishly designed. Quite nice décor – contemporary furniture, concrete and wooden floors. Wifi is good throughout (although it did fail for several hours on two morning – not great for checking in with work – and reception didn’t know anything about it, nor fix it quickly). Great mattress and lovely quality bedding. Nice bathroom toiletries (although they were never replenished without me asking for them) and excellent waterfall showerhead (but leaky shower stall). The restaurant in the lobby actually serves good food (but beware of the small portions at dinner!)

I’d consider staying here again – but not until the place is finished and only with a very good deal.

Room Tip: There’s no real difference between an ‘executive’ Double and a ‘standard’ double – they’re the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adampies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand-FRA2014, Manager at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear adampies,

Thank you for your first stay at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt and your honest words afterwards.

We are happy to hear that you would come again to our “urban networking resort” in middle of Frankfurt.

It is true that we had some construction works going on during your stay. Kindly be informed that we really apologize all the discomfort.

Please be sure, we promise that we worked on all those technical challenges and would be happy to welcome you again as a guest for the second time/chance.
There is a Wyndham Grand waiting for you.

Warm regards,
- Your Wyndham Grand Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Frankfurt - Alte Oper
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#9 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Frankfurt
#35 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Roomers
#10 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Innenstadt
NH Collection Frankfurt City
NH Collection Frankfurt City
#6 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Frankfurt

Property: Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Address: Wilhelm-Leuschner-Str. 32/34, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Frankfurt 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are convinced you cannot find a more central, urban and in accommodation in Frankfurt. Stylish design, perfect location on the banks of the River Main, a panoramic view into the Frankfurt skyline - the Wyndham Grand Frankfurt Hotel is the perfect hotel for business travellers and trade fair visitors. For visitors who come to Frankfurt for sightseeing. For everyone who likes to be at the heart The modern hotel is in Frankfurt city at the heart of the financial and banking district and close to the major sightseeing highlights. The innovative design of the hotel rooms is refreshingly modern but warm and friendly at the same time - ideal for guests recovering from jetlag or who want to relax after a tough day at work. Free WiFi internet, work areas, extra-comfortable mattresses - the hotel rooms are perfectly created for guests who like to work late in the evenings or who want to sink into a deep, refreshing sleep. The Frankfurt designer hotel offers only first-class hotel rooms and top services but also provides a breathtaking view into the Mainhattan skyline from its Sky Deluxe rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Grand Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing