We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, sterile, modern and friendly with odd furniture!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Ranked #24 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Clean, sterile, modern and friendly with odd furniture!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights for a work conference and had a pleasant and comfortable stay. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming and then, after an efficient check-in, I took the dark lift to the 18th floor and eventually found my room after working out the unusual way the room numbers were displayed.

The room is very modern and clean. It's extremely bland and mainly white all over the place. I'm not sure what they were trying to achieve with the furniture but it really doesn't work. The desk is uncomfortable with no chair, just a long low bench to sit on. The rest of the furniture is an odd mixture of white and grey pieces which are soulless, ugly and uncomfortable.

The bed however is very good and I found if comfortable to sleep in apart from those massive square pillows which Germany seems to love.

The bathroom is another odd area. My bathroom was small and modern but with a lovely big walk in shower. The water pressure was good but the temperature didn't hold steady and often became uncomfortably cool so I kept having to adjust it. They've put in a lovely but ridiculously big sink. There is no where to hang towels or bathrobes. It's definitely a case of style over substance.

The furniture in the lobby and bar area is another poor choice. This is also where you eat breakfast. When you first see it, it all looks modern and funky. But when you look closely and try and sit on the different chairs for more than a few minutes, it becomes clear that it's a cold, sterile and uncomfortable area. The seats are nearly all too low (it would make a great children's party venue) and the tables are all cheap ugly little things. It was funny watching people at breakfast wandering around trying to find somewhere to sit which wasn't so low down.

The breakfast however was excellent. Very good quality with plenty of choice. The staff are all very friendly, as was the person behind the bar who served us one evening.

It's about a 20-25 minute walk to Opernplatz and about 15-20 to the old town. It's easy to get a taxi from directly in front of the hotel from the Intercontinental Hotel taxi rank opposite.

All in all this hotel is okay with friendly staff. It's just a bland, sterile business hotel. Just don't bring anything white with you, if you put it down in the bedroom, you'll never find it again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank HandofLearning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand-FRA2014, Manager at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear HandofLearning,

Thank you for your stay at the brand new Wyndham Grand Frankfurt and the nice feedback in regard to our service, location and gastronomy.

We are sorry to hear, that you did not prefer our innovative, stylish design.
Kindly be informed that each item in our hotel is affectionately selected and is placed as a high class design product. Of course we understand that this modern and funky look is a matter of taste.

Also be informed that we already worked on your feedback in reference to the towel rail.
Those are already appointed for the future to make the stay more comfortable for our guests.

The whole Wyndham Grand Frankfurt team would be more than happy to welcome you again for a second chance.

Best regards,
- Your Wyndham Grand Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    455
    152
    47
    28
See reviews for
126
457
76
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel in mid-June 2014 and was disappointed in its unfinished state. Although aiming to be a modern style of décor and architecture, it was angular and visually unappealing. Overall, it was clean and well decorated. Outside my bedroom window there was scaffolding and inside there were significant shortfalls in facilities. Firstly, the air conditioning system did not work, which during warm weather was annoying. The window did not open far and so to ventilate the room was difficult. The two extractor grilles in the bathroom did not operate. There are times when this is an important feature of a hotel bathroom. The basin was a strange rectangular design, 800 mm wide and rather shallow. The plug did not unseal very well and so the water drained out very slowly. The seal on the door to the shower cubicle was not reliable and one morning I stepped out onto a flooded floor. The main bedroom area was arranged with one side of the double bed up against a wall. If my wife had been with me, she would have had difficulty getting out during the night. I have never seen that before in a hotel. The style of soft pillow popular in some hotels was not to my liking. As usual, there was a duvet in place on the bed which was completely unsuitable in the circumstances. In the restaurant, the seating and table arrangement was unconventional and there was a strange assortment of chairs and low tables. Compared with the normal restaurant tables and chairs one expects in a goof hotel, this was an example of fashion ignoring practicality. The food was of a varied and generally high standard, although the hot buffet counter had the usual continental style of fatty undercooked bacon. The staff were helpful, inviting and courteous. In many respects, this hotel should be a good place to stay, with its modern construction, convenient distance from the main train station and access to restaurants but I would not recommend it as value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnats1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand-FRA2014, Manager at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear NaturistStafford,

Thank you very much for your honest words after your first stay at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt.

We are sorry to hear that your stay was not perfect for you. Kindly be informed that we already worked on those technique challenges in regard to the air condition. We are more than happy to tell you that since then our air condition is working unobstructed.

The complete team of Wyndham Grand Frankfurt would love to welcome you again to assure you, that there is a Wyndham Grand waiting for you.

Kind regards,
- Your Wyndham Grand Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
133 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

First of all : the staff make the difference !! They are most friendly and welcoming. The Hotel itself is a regular, typical Business Hotel, however with a good Location. The rooms are regular sized, for me with too much White colour, felt like in a Hospital. Bathroom ok, with a nice rainshower. Air conditioning was not working, however they offered me the Drinks of the Minibar for free because of this.
No Soap in the bathroom, this however should not happen.
Would I go back there ? Probably not before things are working better. But once again : reception staff do all they can to make you feel happy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reto1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand-FRA2014, Manager at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Reto1961,

First of all: your opinion is important for us! Your words in regard to our service and hospitality make us very proud.
We forwarded your feedback to the complete team, so that we can still work on the (daily) process and service improvement.

We would love to satisfy you during your next stay and assure you of your innovative design hotel in the middle of Frankfurt.

Hospitably regards,
- Your Wyndham Grand Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv District, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Modern new hotel with a great location - walking distance from the main train station and city center. Also very close to the river bank. Ask for the sky view rooms - overlooking the skyline of Frankfurt (reminds you of Manhattan). Very nice design for the room - it was big and comfortable. The hotel is business oriented with the needed facilities. Free wifi. The staff was friendly and helpful. I will come back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand-FRA2014, Manager at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Dan B.,

thank you very much for your stay at the brand new Wyndham Grand Frankfurt and your honest feedback.

Your words are very important for us and make us feel proud and happy regarding to our hotel, the rooms and also the hospitality of the staff.

We forwarded your feedback to the whole team and looking forward to welcome you again in our "urban Networking Resort" in the middle of Frankfurt.

Best regards,

your Wyndham Grand Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have mixed feelings about this hotel; they were having renovation work done during our visit which has coloured my view, perhaps when ‘normal service’ resumes things will improve.

The location of the hotel is not bad, near to the main train station, a nice 10 minute stroll along the Main river to the Old Town or over the river to Sachsenhausen. The décor in the public areas is modern and clean, but I found some things slightly impractical, such as the chairs in the bar/breakfast area being uncomfortably low to the floor.

Our room was perfectly reasonable, a nice big bed, flat screen TV, safe and mini bar. We were on the 8th floor, the view directly underneath our window was of unsightly building materials and machinery related to the renovations, but if you looked out to the distance we did have a nice view of the tall buildings in the Banking District (see picture). The bathroom was spotlessly clean and decorated to a high standard, it had a lovely big shower, but the rest of the room was tiny and you could not fit more than 1 person in at a time.

During our visit the air conditioning was not working anywhere within the hotel, we were not informed of this at check in and spend a very uncomfortable first night in a sweat box of a room. We asked at reception the following morning and they quickly arranged for the window to be fully opened which made the temperature more bearable. This however created a new problem on our last day (Monday) when the building site directly beneath our window, which had been dormant all weekend, suddenly came alive with a cacophony of bashing and crashing at 7:00 a.m.

Overall our experience was OK, but with the number of hotels in Frankfurt in this price range I suspect you can find better for your money, particularly whilst the refurbishment works is underway.

Tip 1 - We tried to hire a DB city bike (like the Boris Bikes in London) but found the whole process overly difficult and not set up for tourists. We couldn’t download the app, the terminals at the station would not allow us to register and they charge to register if you call. In the end we gave up!

Tip 2 – Check out the indoor mini golf, called Minds on Minigolf, located in the Zeil shopping centre, we stumbled over it trying to find the 9th floor viewing deck, a really unique place and for just 5 euro it was a fun way to waste an hour or two!!

Tip 3 – To get to the hotel from the Airport we took public transport, it is fairly straightforward and took roughly 30 minutes. Frankfurt’s main train station (Hauptbahnhof) is large and may be confusing if you are not a confident traveller. But if you want to save money on a taxi fare take the train, here is how we did it:
- The S Bahn regional train departs from Terminal 1, if flying into Terminal 2 (like we did) take the free shuttle bus between terminals, which leaves every 5 minutes from outside the arrivals hall.
- You can purchase a ticket from a ticket machine in the train station at Terminal 1, these machines can be changed into English and a one way adult ticket cost 4.35 euro.
- Follow the S Bahn signs for trains to the City Centre, which is only 2 or 3 stops on this line. On the return journey the trains which stop at the airport are clearly marked on the information boards with a little plane symbol.
- Exit the Hauptbahnhof main entrance/exit, cross the tram lines and the main road and turn right along this main road.
- After a short walk take a left at Wiesenhuttenstrasse. The Savoy Hotel Frankfurt (not as posh as it sounds!) is on the corner of this street and you will also pass by the much nicer looking La Meridien Park Hotel.
- Cross the next intersecting road and continue to follow Wiesenhuttensrasse.
- At the corner of Wiesenhuttensrasse and Wilhelm-Leuschner Strasse, turn left. Follow this road for approximately 300 yards to the Wyndham Grand, situated opposite the large Intercontinental Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KABReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand-FRA2014, Manager at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear KABReading,

Your honest and informative words are more than important for us.

First of all we would like to thank you for your feedback after your first stay at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt.

We are sad to hear that it was not perfect for you. Kindly be informed that we are always working on all those inconvenient circumstances to make you feel comfortable and also that the air condition in our hotel is already working smoothly.

The complete GRAND team would be very happy to welcome you again at the brand new “Urban networking resort” in the middle of Frankfurt.

Best regards,
- Your Wyndham Grand Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Wyndham Grand only opened in May 2014 and it looks like you would expect a new hotel to look: stylishly decorated. What you don't expect is to find building and decorating work still ongoing. You also don't expect to have to run the hot tap for a few minutes to get rid of brown water. Similarly, the Nespresso machine was filthy and only churned out muddy cups and undrinkable coffee. The complimentary bottled water was clearly from a tap (the seal on the bottle was broken). The double bed was two singles pushed together and the bathroom was tiny (although stylish).

The location is OK - a particular plus being that it was very close to the river - and the staff were friendly and spoke good English. I hope the hotel will improve with time, but I wouldn't currently recommend it as I am sure there are better hotels in Frankfurt.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Intercontinental. You'll at least get a partial view of the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand-FRA2014, Manager at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear SMonger,

The whole Wyndham Grand Frankfurt team thanks you for your first stay.

We are sorry, that we had some construction works going on during your stay. Please be sure, we promise that we worked on all those technical challenge or service improvement.

Kindly be informed that we also forwarded your feedback to the different departments to provide you the perfect standards and let you feel like home at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt.

Hopefully we will welcome you again here in our “urban networking resort”.

Best regards,
- Your Wyndham Grand Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Enjoyed out stay. It was a very comfortable stay and the Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Frankfurt. It was a close walk to the downtown area where there were lots of great restaurants and places to see.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGrand-FRA2014, Manager at Wyndham Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear T R,

we thank you for first stay and also the positive feedback afterwards.

We are more than happy to hear all the nice words! Your opinion is important for us and make us very proud. The complete Team was informed about the positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcome you again -as you said- at our "urban Networking Resort" in the middle of Frankfurt.

Best regards,

your Wyndham Grand Frankfurt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
InterContinental Frankfurt
#34 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#10 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Frankfurt - Alte Oper
Roomers
#13 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Innenstadt
NH Collection Frankfurt City
NH Collection Frankfurt City
#5 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Frankfurt

Property: Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Address: Wilhelm-Leuschner-Str. 32/34, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Frankfurt 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are convinced you cannot find a more central, urban and in accommodation in Frankfurt. Stylish design, perfect location on the banks of the River Main, a panoramic view into the Frankfurt skyline - the Wyndham Grand Frankfurt Hotel is the perfect hotel for business travellers and trade fair visitors. For visitors who come to Frankfurt for sightseeing. For everyone who likes to be at the heart The modern hotel is in Frankfurt city at the heart of the financial and banking district and close to the major sightseeing highlights. The innovative design of the hotel rooms is refreshingly modern but warm and friendly at the same time - ideal for guests recovering from jetlag or who want to relax after a tough day at work. Free WiFi internet, work areas, extra-comfortable mattresses - the hotel rooms are perfectly created for guests who like to work late in the evenings or who want to sink into a deep, refreshing sleep. The Frankfurt designer hotel offers only first-class hotel rooms and top services but also provides a breathtaking view into the Mainhattan skyline from its Sky Deluxe rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing