We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget with great customer service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Adler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Adler
Ranked #2 of 37 Frankfurt B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Budget with great customer service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel for a one night stay as the reviews and price were good.

On first arriving to the room It was very basic, however had all we needed for our short stay; there is a small fridge with complementary small bottles of water and hundreds of tv channels albeit on an old style tv.

The staff were helpful and the breakfast more substantial than the normal continental. Another big plus, was the secure luggage hold they have, which was a life saver for those with late flights who want to explore the city.

Do note there was fab heating, great for late January, but with no air conditioning summer could be uncomfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    80
    35
    8
    3
See reviews for
17
34
34
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

The hotel is less than five minutes walk from the main station. The room was small but spotlessly clean. The breakfast buffet provide a good range of choices. I can only think of a couple of minor negatives. The first is that the free wireless didn't have enough outgoing bandwidth to support a video conference (at least when I needed it). The downstream bandwidth was fine. The second minor negative is the location - as well as being very close to the station, it's also on the edge of the red-light district. However, it's very easy to walk around this to get to the most common tourist destinations, and the hotel staff are happy to diagram on maps how best to do this. Overall, I was very pleasantly surprised, particularly given how cheap the room was.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atreloar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Upon check in, we discovered that this hotel has no air conditioning. It being the middle of summer, that would have been an impossibility as the humidity was very high.

Stephanie Morgenthal was at reception, and assisted us in:
1) Cancelling our reservation using a PC at the desk
2) Booking another hotel for us while we were standing there.

Certainly some of the best customer service one could expect anywhere!

As we did not stay, I cannot comment on the hotel itself. But do retain Stephanie forever!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deon-keyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

This is a safe and cheap option beside the train station. I have stayed here twice, for one night each time. Once I had the single with the shared bathroom. This was a tiny little room with a view of a skyscraper (the Kronenhaus). The bed was okay, but with not enough pillows and the blanket was too small for me. However, the heater was warm, and the TV was nice. In fact, this single does have a bathroom, but for some reason it is permanently locked and you need to go use the tiny bathroom at the end of the hall. Still, I was paying only €36, so no complaints! The second time I had the single en suite. Curiously, this room was identical to the second room, except that the bathroom was unlocked! And the price was about €59.The hotel is located on a grubby looking side street, which is slightly hard to find from the train station (the shortest way is through an alleyway just past the Manhattan hotel). You are near the red light district, but you can avoid it easily. Just be wary at night when there are a lot of drunk people around (some walking around, some sitting on the street!). Breakfast was pretty good and the front desk staff were friendly. I recommend this if you need a cheap place beside the station and won't spend a long time in the room.

Room Tip: En suite is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Clean, neat rooms in good condition. Free WiFi, something that more expensive hotels rarely provide. Nice continental breakfasts with a good choice and pretty good coffee. Couple of minutes walk from the main railway station. Frankfurt's seedy area is a block away but can be easily avoided if you have kids. Very helpful and polite staff. Overall, I'm happy to recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

I stayed at Hotel Adler for three nights in August. I was after a decent hotel at a reasonable price within walking distance from the station -- and that's what I got. Very pleased with my choice.

I had a room without bathroom but these were nearby on the same floor. They were always clean and I never had to wait. The one thing I missed, however, was a basin and mirror in the room for shaving and freshening up.

As others have pointed out the area is somewhat dodgy but it didn't worry me. Setting out one morning I found a young man sitting in the gutter shooting up. I went to a nearby laundrette (there's no guest laundry) and got propositioned twice on the way back through the street of sleazy bars and strip joints. Those pimps are really in your face. Oh well -- every city has those areas.

Breakfast was included -- typical continental selection and plenty of it. Wifi was available in my room and the signal was strong and speed good.

I didn't fancy any of the nearby restaurants for meals given the nature of the area but the hauptbahnhof was a short walk away so I ate there -- reasonable selection of places and OK prices. Not fine dining of course.

I checked out early but had an early evening flight. I was able to leave my luggage in safe storage for day, which I greatly appreciated.

All in all a lovely hotel and I would stay there again -- and recommended it to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernardMorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

A friendly welcome and gleaming appearance really impressed us. Follow the directions given & it's easy to find. Dodgy area some way away, down towards the river, but plenty of security visible at all hours and no one interfered with us. The staff were so helpful with advice on sight seeing and travel directions. We got the impression that nothing was too much trouble. The hotel looked new and bright.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jaxand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#10 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#15 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Hotel Excelsior
#49 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#18 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Innenstadt
NH Frankfurt Messe
NH Frankfurt Messe
#7 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler

Property: Hotel Adler
Address: Niddastr. 65, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adler 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Adler is a family-run hotel situated right in the heart of Frankfurt am Main. Only 100 metres away from the main train station and 800 metres from the exhibition centre, it is the ideal place for business people and trade fair visitors but also very suitable for tourists.The hotel offers the following complimentary services free of charge:- WiFi internet access in the entire hotel- Internet terminal in the hotel lobby- Free coffee & tea in the lobby- One bottle of mineral water per person per night in the roomDue to its convenient location the important attractions are easily reached. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing