We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Paradise in middle of City”
Review of Palmengarten

Palmengarten
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.08*
and up
Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #2 of 434 things to do in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Frankfurt's beloved botanical gardens are home to 50 acres of tropical trees, orchids and ferns.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Tropical Paradise in middle of City”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a very nice botanical garden. It has many different climate zone area's blending from one to the other. It is close to our house, and it's nice to visit when it's cold outside. Very easy to access, and it's cheap also! A must see if you like gardens.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    818
    452
    90
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and well worth visiting!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I visited the Palmengarten not sure what to expect. When I arrived, the first pond I saw was empty but the rest of the park was beautiful and very interesting to see! A great way to spend a sunny afternoon!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CJTCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice in all seasons”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Palmengarten offers something beautiful in all seasons. It's beatifully taken care off, the glass buildings house lots of exotic plants with lots of information. Definitely worth a visit, regardless the weather.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Emese2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Discover the Amazing World of Plants”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have visited quite a few botanical gardens over the years, they are usually lovely to stroll in to get away from the stress of big cities, but this one in Frankfurt is really something special. Some of the exhibits like those of the mangrove swamp, mimosa trees, or carnivorous plants are unique in my experience and well justify a visit to these extraordinary gardens. I live and work in Frankfurt and whenever a friend from abroad with an interest in sceince visits me, I always bring them here first. No one has ever been disappointed. Admittedly, a knowledge of German or going with someone who speaks German makes the experience much more valuable, although English language guidebooks are available.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
220 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Very nice and interesting place!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

There is a huge quantity of plants and flowers from all over the world.
In spring is the better time to see all the flowers and have a deep smell experience, on autums the leaves colours are like on a painting.
The only disappointing thing is that if you don't have a bothanic German speaking knowledge (like me) you cannot totally understand the descriptions and totally enjoy the visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciccio2420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palmengarten also viewed

 

Been to Palmengarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing