We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The old part of Frankfurt”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sachsenhausen

Sachsenhausen
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16.62*
and up
Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #18 of 433 things to do in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A historic cobble-stoned neighborhood in Frankfurt located along the south bank of the Main River.
dubai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The old part of Frankfurt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Lovely old part of Frankfurt, spreading its own charme... nice to have a walk and eat at one of These typical German restaurants and having an authentic Frankfurt apple wine. A bit too touristic though for my taste...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lowerlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    204
    84
    16
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Always fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Simply my favourite neighbourhood in Frankfurt. Great collection of bars, restaurants and shops, and famous for its Apfelwein (apple wine). Absolutely worth a visit, especially at night when the bars are open and the streets packed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FelipeMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The prettiest neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

As an American expat, this is home and no doubt the best place to live in Frankfurt. Lined at its edges by world-class museums, Sachsenhausen is an ecclectic neighborhood largely populated by young German professionals and a sprinkle of expats. It also has great restaurants, including famous apple wine houses, shops and historical buildings that survived much of the bombing during WWII.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Waldo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“flea market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

On every other Saturday a flea market sets up in the space between Schaumainkai and the river. I do not recall the exact stretch, but it will be easy to see when it is there. As I recall, it begins to break up by early afternoon. I rate it highly for interesting items to browse and buy, observed over three years time I lived near Frankfurt. But of course its interest can vary greatly from one weekend to the next. One of my prized possessions is a stained glass window I bought there, that had been salvaged from an old building in another part of Germany.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“bad day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Took a walk there in a very cold and snowy day so we werent very impressed we weren't sure of which tram line to use

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnemosUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sachsenhausen also viewed

 

Been to Sachsenhausen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing