We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good hotel but some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Frankfurt
Ranked #32 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great staff, good hotel but some issues”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

I spent 7 nights here in a business class room which was spacious and, being on the 14th floor, had good views. The room wasn't exactly noisy, but nor was it silent. There was a fair bit of noise from other rooms during the night was is pretty disappointing in a modern hotel. The bathroom was well-appointed and the toiletries were nice quality.

From start to finish the staff was great - they are the best thing about this hotel and could hardly be more helpful. Breakfast, which was included in my room rate, was also very good. We ate a lot in the main restaurant - Gaia - which was fine, but this is just as well as there aren't many other eating options nearby, especially at the weekends. Service in the restaurant seemed to get very slow later in the evening and we sensed that they were having problems in the kitchen on some evenings.

The worst thing about the hotel is that a large number, perhaps the majority, of the guests appeared to be in large groups. There were lots of airline staff checking in and out at all hours, various coach parties of tourists and for much of my stay huge numbers of wheelchair basketball players competing in a nearby tournament. At times - particularly when members of various groups were yelling to each other across the lobby or in the corridors - this made the place feel more like a hostel than a hotel. The other big negative is that my room was often only serviced at 5pm which was pretty frustrating.

For what it is worth, I did not experience any of the other complaints people seem commonly to have about this hotel - the Internet was speedy and the breakfast buffet never looked like it needed replenishing.

If I needed to stay near Frankfurt again, I'd probably come back here but I would not race to return just for the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    717
    274
    92
    49
See reviews for
192
447
142
804
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Overall I like this hotel. I had a great view from my Business Class room The restaurant was very good. They had very innovative menu options. There are a few restaurants within walking distance. Parking is not free. The Wifi is free but needs upgrading. But the one thing that they dropped the ball on.... was when I returned to my room (business class) after a day of working, this was after 5pm, the room still had NOT been cleaned or serviced! This was a disappointment. I would like to know what "Green" or "Sustainable" efforts this hotel is making. I hope this cool looking hotel gets an upgrade soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laudan525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a great hotel a few years ago.
During the past few months the WiFi has been painfully slow. Telling staff about this the excuse was that it was a 600 room hotel that is usually full so the WiFi is slow due to the volume of traffic. Well if you have 600 rooms design a WiFi service that can handle 600 rooms!! I have been unable to even log into the WiFi Internet on my last 3 visits, I am not alone as other people I travel with have the same problem. If you log in at 4am it's fine.

Other problem that is re-occurring is the cooling in the rooms. During muy last two visits to different rooms on different floors the AC didn't work properly.
Had it turned on full and it didn't get lower than 22c all night!!
This once great hotel is starting to show it's age and just needs a tweak to gets back in order.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyin_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_Frankfurt, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Frankfurt, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Flyin_J,

First of all, I’d like to thank you for being our guest again and for reviewing your stay with us here on Trip Advisor.
Concerning the Wi-Fi capacity I have to admit, that the Wi-Fi speed decreases with the increasing number of people using it at the same time. I am sorry, that you were not able to enjoy the free high-speed internet at its best, however, at the moment we are installing a new system which will improve the capacity of the Wi-Fi to guarantee the high-speed internet access for all guests at the same time. The improved system will be up and running in the coming weeks.
I assure you, that we are constantly trying to improve our services and are always eager to become better day by day. Your feedback is important and helpful to us. Dear Flyin_J, thank you again for being our valued guest and I hope that you will chose the Radisson Blu Hotel again for your next stay in Frankfurt.
Best regards,
Svenja Rehbein
DotCom Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The hotel is great: various room designs, all look very modern (in the pictures). The room I got was very spacious, modern design and had all I needed. Bed was good, room was quiet. Breakfast was good in a very nice setting.
The thorn was the oscillations in water temperature: it kept fluctuating between comfortably warm to unpleasantly cold. A colleague who stayed in another room didn't have this experience, so perhaps it was an issue in my particular room (#1003).
The area is somewhat out of the way: there's not much around. So count on commuting wherever you might need to go.
I would probably stay here again.
So why I rated it 4 and not 5? Water issue and mainly the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Good Business Hotel, convenient to the Airport, the fair area and also downtown banking district. Not a place if you need to go south of the river. Small pool and fitness area. The breakfast is expensive, but they offer coffee and some small snacks in the lobby also.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We (12 of us) arrived early and therefore the rooms were not ready however the staff made us feel very comfortable and permitted us to use the gym and pool area to freshen up. They also got one room ready (total 6 rooms) for us and gave it to us to use way before the check in time. Breakfast was good with lots of variety. There is good connectivity by tram and train to the city centre as well as other parts of the city. Rooms are good sized and offer decent views. Well worth a 2 night stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cyruselavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlskrona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed one night and a day in the hotel. And I found it very nice. The staff was helpful and it was no problem to check out later than 12 o clock. The rooms are spacious and very clean.


The breakfast was extremely good with a lot of options.

The lunch buffet was not very entertaining and overpriced.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndersKarlskrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Lindner Hotel & Residence Main Plaza
Innenstadt
Frankfurt Marriott Hotel
Frankfurt Marriott Hotel
#16 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#24 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Roomers
#14 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Villa Kennedy
Villa Kennedy
#2 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Frankfurt

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Frankfurt
Address: Franklinstr. 65, 60486 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#25 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#26 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#38 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#46 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Frankfurt 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The trio of designers is completed by Mettheo Thun, who was responsible for the design of the 428 rooms. Four different room styles on 16 floors offer a new experience to all guests, also return guests. At home, Chic, Fashion and Fresh are four totally different but also similar room styles, which are inspired by designers of the world. Comfortable style: The rooms of the Radisson Blu Hotel, Frankfurt offer any required comfort to our guests. Generous beds with exceptional comfortable mattresses guarantee a recreational sleep. Floor-to-ceiling windows promise a great sight over Frankfurt or the Taununs, especially in the suites and business class rooms convince with the unique views on the Frankfurt Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Frankfurt Hotel Frankfurt
Radisson Blu Frankfurt
Radisson Frankfurt
Frankfurt Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing