We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Radisson, but a little off-center” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Frankfurt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Frankfurt
Ranked #33 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Classic Radisson, but a little off-center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2008

I stayed in the Radisson two nights in mid-June, during a business trip.

If in doubt in any city, I tend to go for Radissons as they're usually stylish, practical for business, and not overpriced. This one was just such a hotel. The design of the lobby was VERY interesting compared to others - staggered reception desks (to make maximum use of a narrow but deep reception area), a minimalist bar, and some impressive beaded 'chains' adorning the ceiling-mounted lights, running the full height of the lobby.

While I liked the design of the lobby, the sight on opening my door drew a sharp intake of breath - something I don't recall doing - at the sight of the carpet. Wow. See the photos. I wouldn't worry, though, I ignored it after ten minutes; I hope you will, too.

I was given a corner room - 212 - which I assume was a bonus. There wasn't much of a view on the 2nd floor, which is fair enough, but the room wasn't overly spacious, as I thought perhaps a little extra space could be afforded by the fact the hotel was well outside the city centre. The flat screen TV was good, and internet access was free WiFi, as always at Radissons. The speed did seem to vary a lot, sometimes slowing to crawl - seemingly more due to active bandwidth controls, rather than congestion on the network (I measured 5Mbps one time, but only downloaded at 200kbps another).

The bed was comfortable; the menu of 12 different pillows on order impressive, but unused. The breakfast was pretty expensive at Eu26, and the dinner buffet on the patio outside the night before wasn't overly cheap at Eu27. True that I chose buffet rather than a la' carte, but the quality wasn't fantastic. It wasn't at all bad - but not impressive in any way, and I would have expected to be charged a little less for what you got. Perhaps the a'la carte would have been better.

As for transport, the hotel is a 5-minute walk from Tram 17, which is a 10-minute ride to the U-Bahn, which is one stop from the Hbf (Central Station). I quite liked a bit of a commute in the morning, but a Eu15-20 taxi is a faster way into the centre - it isn't exactly well-connected. A 15-minute / Eu25 taxi ride from the airport is much better, as it's on the same side of the city as the hotel; one taxi even managed it in 9 minutes when rushing for my plane.

The staff were moderately friendly; again, I felt productivity, but not huge enthusiasm.


All in all - the Radisson Frankfurt doesn't really impress. The bathroom, room, etc. were all new designs, and clean, and I appreciate that, but it felt like the hotel wasn't really trying that hard, while charging for something a little more than you were getting. Given it's location far out from the center, you'd expect something else in return - more space, or lower prices - but it wasn't to be. As a Radisson 'fan', I was disappointed.

  • Liked — Convenient for airport; Classic Radisson
  • Disliked — Could try harder
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank damoske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    699
    270
    89
    47
See reviews for
190
433
142
780
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2007

I've stayed in this hotel many times! Why? Check out my top 10 list.

10. Friendly Staff. Smiles from the front desk all the way up to the rooftop fitness center.
9. Piano at the lobby. Sometimes I like to show off before going up to my room
8. Super fast elevators.
7. Ultra modern public bathroom on the second floor. Please dont ask. Just go see for yourself.
6. Bathrobe, slippers, flat screen television
5. Fast room service, excellent dining
4. I love the rooftop swimming pool overlooking the city
3. Very nice modern rooms. Comfy bed, pillows and feather blankets. Individual climate control. Love the bathroom design.
2. Free high-speed internet access!!! This should be standard on all hotels in the world. It's not a vacation unless you can udate your myspace website in the comforts of your hotel room.
1. The breakfast buffet is to die for

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank FrequentFlyer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2007

This is an excellent hotel - stayed here on a short break in August.

From the outside it is modern and stylish, and this continues inside too, with a nice big open lobby, seating areas, and a large bar with outside seating. My room was on the 11th floor, accessed by 4 speedy lifts, all with excellent views over the city. Yes - they're glass!

The room was spacious, all modern fittings. One odd addition was a window from the bathroom to the bedroom, but there were blinds to block this. Not a problem for me, but if you were sharing the room and didn't want to share "everything", you'd have to make use of the blind!

I had a drink in the bar - table service was slow so I eventually just ordered at the bar, but everyone was helpful and pleasant.

The hotel is a short tram-ride away from the city centre, and the system was efficient and regular enough to use as a shuttle. I'd imagine it being about a 30 minute walk though if you're a bit more energetic!

All in all, a great hotel and well worth considering if you're in Frankfurt in the near future!

  • Liked — The styling of the hotel, and the facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2007

Just stayed there for one night while in Frankfurt on business. The hotel is very stylish - striking looking from the outside and inside. Check in was friendly and easy (as was check out later). Hotel room on the third floor was on the corner, so panoramic views. Large double bed, all the pillow choices you could ask for, huge shower with great water pressure, and fabulous decor in the bathroom. LCD TV - though only CNN and BBC World. My room was not only well equipped but spotlessly clean. If I had one gripe it was that the bed was too hard - so many hotels seem to think we all want the firmest of mattresses. Didn't eat there, so not able to comment on food - but the bar was friendly. Oh, and they have a gym on th 18th floor, with a sauna with floor to ceiling windows so you can enjoy the views - and a small pool.

  • Liked — Large room and great shower
  • Disliked — Hard bed
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stpb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2007

I’ve never been it such an awful 4* hotel! The room was small and dirty. Dust was on every piece of furniture! The wardrobe bi was so small, that we couldn’t put even our coats :( The shower and closet basin were leaking. No slippers, no bath bath-coat, no soup.
And the booked money for 5 nights on my card for a month! Then was really the worst hotel I’d ever see!!!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LyF80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenonah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2007

Although it is a bit away from the city center (catching the train around the corner is very convenient) I found this hotel to be very accommodating. I was visiting Frankfurt with other travel agents on a FAM, so we had the honor of being hosted & chaperoned by 3 ladies on the hotel staff. We were given a tour of the hotel's restaurants, and business class rooms (as well as the Presidential Suite, which was awesome!) The sleeping rooms were clean, and the decor very modernized. Just be aware - your room key card turns on the lights to your room, plus allows you to use the elevator to go to your floor. Without it, you're in the dark and more than likely staying on the lobby floor! The one thing I really didn't care for was the shower/tub. It only has a half-'shower door', so the floor was getting wet everytime I showered. Oh well ....I liked this hotel very much. Its in a quieter location than the center of town. I will sure recommend this hotel to my clients.

  • Liked — room was very clean, location is good
  • Disliked — the shower door
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2007

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times on business but also used it when we visited the Christmas market last year. The hotel looks great, a superb modern and stylish design. The rooms are in line with the overall design with heated floors, full room sound system and LCD TVs.

The hotel has a limited gym and health spa on the top floor and excellent room service.

Downside for me was the restuarant which was a bit disappointing given the price and the location. Its a good 8 minute journey on tram to the city centre and a long walk. Not really a problem if you can use taxis to get everywhere but on a personal trip the costs could add up.

Would certainly stay there again.

  • Liked — Design and hotel room
  • Disliked — Lack of proximity to city centre
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Lindner Hotel & Residence Main Plaza
Innenstadt
Frankfurt Marriott Hotel
Frankfurt Marriott Hotel
#17 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomers
#10 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Villa Kennedy
Villa Kennedy
#2 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Frankfurt

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Frankfurt
Address: Franklinstr. 65, 60486 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#25 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#26 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#38 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#46 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Frankfurt 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The trio of designers is completed by Mettheo Thun, who was responsible for the design of the 428 rooms. Four different room styles on 16 floors offer a new experience to all guests, also return guests. At home, Chic, Fashion and Fresh are four totally different but also similar room styles, which are inspired by designers of the world. Comfortable style: The rooms of the Radisson Blu Hotel, Frankfurt offer any required comfort to our guests. Generous beds with exceptional comfortable mattresses guarantee a recreational sleep. Floor-to-ceiling windows promise a great sight over Frankfurt or the Taununs, especially in the suites and business class rooms convince with the unique views on the Frankfurt Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Frankfurt Hotel Frankfurt
Radisson Blu Frankfurt
Radisson Frankfurt
Frankfurt Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing