We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel in a great hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Frankfurt Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Frankfurt Hostel
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great hostel in a great hostel”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We got a private room, which was clean and had a private bathroom so no worries there as it was clean and the shower was great. There were two double beds which was a bonus as you usually get two singles beds in hostels which is just annoying when you push them together and wake up on the floor between them.
Not bad value for money and the location right outside the train station is great. The guy on reception was really nice and super helpful and there's a bar and they also serve coffee and snacks which is great. Beautiful building as well and a great place to socialise. Good breakfast too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IronManTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    205
    111
    35
    17
See reviews for
21
63
163
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed one night in this hostel, I was supposed to stay two but after that night in hell I decided to leave the city.

This hostel is awful, terrible service, smells disgusting and the cleanliness is at a bare minimal.

The lock system is rediculous, it takes a million tries just to get into your room. The reception area is shared with the bar and kitchen.. It is loud and dank and smelly. The hostel itself resembles a rabbit warren and is not at all a place you'd want to be in any form of an emergency. I was booked to stay in a 6 bed dorm, when I arrived I was placed in an 8 bed dorm. With a shared bathroom for that dorm. And no communal bathrooms available on that floor. So that's one toilet and one shower (in a room the size of a wardrobe) for 8 strangers to share. The bathroom was disgusting. The floor was soaked, the sink did not have a functioning plug hole. The shower door was broken and hanging off it's rails and the shower did not drain. It didn't look like it had been cleaned for weeks. The 8 bed dorm was fully booked however one bed had been used the night before - the guest had since checked out - but there had been no change of linen. The dirty stuff remained crumpled on the bed. The pillows are disgusting, intended to be large square pillows however they have the texture of cottage cheese and the faint smell of off milk. The bedding is no better. The curtains in the room are useless and threadbare, they do not even cover the entire window.

There is wifi - only available in the common area/reception/bar/ kitchen. In what universe is that convenient now days?

At 24€ per night, to stay in a room with more people than I had booked for, with a disgusting bathroom and hideous dorm.. This is not good value for money. In any manner it is a rip off. Obviously none of that money is going back into improving the hostel because it appears to be falling apart at the dirty seams. An elevator that occasionally goes up when you want it to go down? And vice versa? Stairs that wobble when stepped on?

The hostel staff present themselves as ignorant and incompetent. I would not recommend staying at this hostel to anyone.

I spent my time at this hostel counting down the minutes till I
could leave. Free pasta is not worth your self respect people.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eurogirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My friend and I stayed in the Frankfurt hostel one night before flying home and it was the best hostel we stayed in our entire on month trip. Not only is it affordable but it also has a great location. We stayed in a private room with our own bathroom and it was clean and comfortable. As well as this it's a short walk from the main station and also a short walk to the city centre. Futhermore breakfast was included and conveniently the night we were arrived was pasta night so we also had pasta dinner provided for us. Additionally they have a fully functioning lift which seems quite basic but many hostels we stayed in only had stairs and made it very difficult considering we had large suitcases. Definitely would stay here again if I ever return to Frankfurt.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_junkie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

There are some things that this hostel does really well, but there is certainly room for improvement. The bar/restaurant/lobby is lively and a decent free breakfast, as well as free pasta most nights, is offered which is a pretty good deal. If you want the pasta, be sure to arrive on time as it will quickly run out. The rooms are okay, but the amenities are very limited; beds and lockers, nothing more. There was no sink or even a table in the room. The bathrooms are quite large, but there were only two on the whole floor, which simply isn't enough. I had to wait 20 minutes to be able to clean my teeth one morning!

The lift is a nice old-fashioned one, but it is not very smart and often goes up when you want it to go down, and vice versa. Wifi is only available in the communal areas on the third floor. The hostel is not located in the nicest part of town, but this is more than made up for by the fact that it is virtually across the road from Frankfurt Hbf (main station) which you can reach from just about anywhere.

If I had to stay here again, I would pay extra to have an ensuite bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Easy to find the location when take off from Hbf , and clean room... The breakfast is the same everyday, still nice to breakfast to serve. And free Wifi is important too. Staff is helpful to make booking for our dinner since we did not buy phone card.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxkoehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at this hostel for 5nights and for the price we payed it was good. The location is excellent and convenient to see Frankfurt. Sadly not too far from the hostel is a red light district! Fortunately we never really had to go to that section.
I found strange when the bed is changed the fitted bed sheets are not removed! We noticed this when the cleaners came to change a bed in our room only for her to say "fitted sheets are not removed...eeeeww that's just wrong! They do provide a bed sheet but in the room we stayed in, we witnessed a number of people that came in and just slept on the fitted sheet and for all you know the person before might have had skin problem. They seriously need to consider a better solution because NOT CHANGING FITTED SHEET is disgusting.
Breakfast: for the price to have breakfast it's brilliant and surprisingly there was good variety. You get free pasta every evening we were never there to eat it though so don't know.
The staff: the Asian lady was helpful and the American guy was just lovely and although he seemed rushed off his feet he was still able to handle it. However the guy with "dappy hat" was just moody,irritated and seemed annoyed at all times,might be because people kept interrupting his facebook browsing! Employee attitude towards lodgers matters so I suggest an attitude change.
All in all you pay for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Location is convenient (near the Main station) but the district itself is very dirty, full of junkies, prostitutes and other not very pleasant individuals. Breakfast is great and included in the price of the room. Rooms are relatively clean, but very small. Had some misunderstanding with the number of people living in the room. It took 3 days to make it right and clarify all things, due to the fact that staff member, that was currently at the counter, was always blaming his colleagues, instead of actually resolving the problem. All in all, suitable for people who are looking for a place to just spend one night, but if you want to stay for more and/or your budget allows you to book something better, find some other place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiKo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#10 of 268 in Frankfurt
749 reviews
Hotel Excelsior
#49 of 268 in Frankfurt
1,447 reviews
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#15 of 268 in Frankfurt
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#18 of 268 in Frankfurt
667 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frankfurt Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frankfurt Hostel

Property: Frankfurt Hostel
Address: Kaiserstrasse 74, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Frankfurt Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 minute walk from Central Train Station! Our Hostel is located in the Heart Of Frankfurt, near shops and restaurants, bars and clubs. It is also conveniently located across the street from the main train station ('Hauptbahnhof') and 17 min. by subway/train from Frankfurt International Airport. Everything Is In Walking Distance! Forget Public Transport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Frankfurt Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frankfurt Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing