We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long way from the centre”
Review of Hotel Cult

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cult
Ranked #64 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
midlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Long way from the centre”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This hotel is clean cheap and close to a subway which has direct links to both the airport and the centre of Frankfurt .The breakfast was good, continental with scrambled eggs and hot sausages.
It is about a 25 minute walk to the centre of town and that's when you know where your going and walk briskly. There are not really any restaurants or bars close by. So unless you use the subway which doesn't feel that safe at night it's not really very convenient. The bar didn't open at all the weekend we were there so you couldn't even get a coffee at the hotel and there's no tea/coffee facilities in the room.
If we were going back to Frankurt I would choose a more central hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clurina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    144
    71
    24
    19
See reviews for
28
100
56
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
jed
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We booked two family . The hotel is too far from the main train station and you need more than stops to reach it by the train. The hotel rooms are wide big and clean but the bath room is very small and it needs cleaniness. Staff are help full and nice.In front of it there is a supermarket. Breakfast was vey good.
We booked five nights but we stayed for one not only because it is far and in the middle of a district .But the style of the hotel decoration makes you feel unrelaxed and feel strange . I hope that the qwner think of it again.

Room Tip: choose rooms within the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OUDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

As trendiness becomes an asset and a niche for hoteliers and guests, some establishments get caught on the hype and overstate their "cool-modern-sleek" identity. This is the case of the Hotel Cult.

It is definitively not a 4-star hotel, compared to what similar rated urban hotels in Germany offer and look like. This being said, it is a decent, good-for-value hotel if you get the discounted fares everybody seems to get.

Rooms are small, clean and comfortable. The only negative remark about the room is that some of the many ceiling lamps on the bathroom were broken.

The breakfast was superb, wholly and healthy, well worth the extra price.

To sum it up, it is a nice 3-star hotel with a bit of modern decor touches here and there. Take the pretentiousness of the "design hotel" claim out of the mind, and you shall be very satisfied with your stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds & Germany
Level Contributor
199 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Stayed here for one night to attend a concert. Think I found it via TripAdvisor. Booked the Duplex Suite for 95 Euros incl. breakfast. Room was massive with a seating area downstairs and a massive bedroom / lounge and a tiny bathroom (great powerful shower but no tub) upstairs. Usual "double bed" of two singles pushed together (Are German hotels intimacy-free zones!) This suite was in a kind of annex outside the main hotel which meant privacy and quiet but you felt a bit isolated. It reminded me of a converted granny flat. The whole building is a bit strange: nicely, plushly refurbished but it still looks like a converted garage or something. The area is a bit iffy -- four stops away from the centre and served by 2 stations (Mühlberg and Lokalbahnhof) which also gives you a direct connection to the airport but you still feel as though you were out in the sticks. We got the impression it's a Turkish district but this may be wrong.
Stay was let down by breakfast, which was abysmal. Thank goodness it was included otherwise there would've been some serious ranting.
They said it was served until 11.00. We arrived at 10.20 to find the breakfast room blocked by pushchairs and background noise of wailing infants! All the tables were occupied, many four-person tables were occupied by just one person reading a newspaper. Even when a table became free, the two staff waiting on (both inept and totally disinterested) allowed a person to move from another table rather than allow us to sit down. We had to grab an uncleared table just to have somewhere to sit and then get the staff to (grudgingly) clear away and re-lay it. Buffet selection was poor: a few cereals, yoghurt, cold cuts and cheese, no fruit. They had run out of all the hot stuff (eggs, bacon etc) and it wasn't being replenished, there was almost no bread, hardly any rolls and no croissants left. They weren't even up to replenishing the juice containers. As I say if we had had to pay extra I think I would've gone ballistic but we just had a glass of juice, a roll and jam and hurrriedly left. Probably would stay there again as the room was nice and great value but forget about breakfast or go very early before the masses hit.
Two more pointers: (1) on the Saturday it was suggested that I pay immediately rather than on departure as they were likely to be VERY busy on the Sunday yet there was only one member of staff on duty (2) there was a notice in the bar saying that it had been closed 16-18 November (3 nights), which isn't a good sign either.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theoriginalsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed in Hotel Cult over this past weekend after some surgery and was not feeling myself. The hotel staff were very attentive to my needs, offering friendly good service too. I had a standard room, which was fine for my needs and included SkyTV (only English channel was CNN), A/C, a mini bar fridge, shower and WC. The room was clean and good repair, but the best value was the excellent Breakfast with a wide variety. Wireless Internet included as well. All-in-all very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaymanBacchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Located south of the river in Frankfurt, I stayed in the hotel Cult as a quick overnight to make an early flight back to the States the next morning. It is across the river from most business hotels and in a bit of a residential area. There is parking, but street parking is possible (but a bit crowded, still I had no problems). I chose the hotel based on price, free internet and air conditioning. All three were great.

The staff is delightful. Though the (required included) breakfast started after I would have to leave for the airport, the staff ensured I had a plate of fruit for my drive over. They were also quite surprised that I was driving since they were so close to the UBahn and S line.

I chose the single room due to its value. It is by all means, SMALL. but it works for what it is. The AC was great, the internet connection extremely fast, reliable and I could get into my company VPN. The shower was refreshing, and the towels were an expected surprise - quite luxurious!

The bed was a single and reminded me of a college dorm room, but it was comfortable and cozy. The closet space was ample.

The room interior is a throwback to the 70's or 80's and not a fancy plae at that. The whole interior space had the feel of a college hotel for parents made in the 70's (tacky carpet, wooden fixtures, but not terribly well designed wooden fixtures), but after you took a moment to let it all sink in, and you realized while it is up to contemporary design, it is clean and functional, it all becomes quite OK

The hotel is strange in that it has 1/2 floors. Though I was nominally on the 2nd floor, the back part of the hotel is actually up (or down) a 1/2 flight. I found that it was better to take the elevator (which is remarkably slow) to the third floor and down the 1/2 floor with my heavy luggage.

The hotel tries to be "trendy" and it comes off OK, if a bit on the cheaper side of trendy. There is a message chair in the third floor lobby, and the prints, carpet and lighting all do add to a "trendy" feel. It isn't well enough done to say, "Wow, this is cool" - but it doesn't detract either.

There are no restaurants of any quality without a good 10 minute walk, but it's an easy 15 minute walk to a trendy set of about 10 good restaurants. and an old German traditional favorite. And the walk after a big German mean felt incredibly good. Also, as I noted, you're very close to the U and S.

Overall, it's an extremely good try, and the pleasantness of the staff (and other clients) make this a winner to come back to. I will be staying here again on my next trip to Frankfurt.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pelzigenvater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed there for one night. The room was cozy, but absolutely OK for 50 EUR per night and room, including breakfast. The breakfeast buffet was reasonable, unfortunately the staff did not understand our German question for a glass of cold milk, instead they brought a cup of caffee latte :-). WiFi was complimentary. Small bathroom was clean. Everything we needed for a short stay in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soardiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Sachsenhausen-Süd
Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt
Maingau Hotel
#122 of 269 in Frankfurt
153 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Süd
Hotel Am Berg
Hotel Am Berg
#100 of 269 in Frankfurt
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Hotel Kautz
Hotel Kautz
#139 of 269 in Frankfurt
35 reviews
Bristol Hotel Frankfurt
#47 of 269 in Frankfurt
770 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Lindner Hotel & Residence Main Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cult? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cult

Property: Hotel Cult
Address: Offenbacher Landstr. 56, 60599 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#42 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cult 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Designhotel Cult staff warmly welcomes you in "Mainhattan". With exclusive designs, attentive service and extraordinary comfort we would like to indulge our guests. Our 4-star-hotel is situated in the picturesque district of Sachsenhausen. Due to this central location the hotel enjoys great popularity - whether amongst business-travellers as well as private travellers. Our Reception Staff will be pleased to deal with your queries, comments and suggestion and is available 24/7. Attractive prices and numerous inclusive services complete our total package. Our guests are accommodated 75 modern and fully equipped rooms. Rooms are provided with desk, bathroom with WC, hair dryer and make-up mirror, cable tv, direct dial telephone. SKY-TV, Wireless LAN and daily press are included in the overnight rate. Double glazed windows and individual regulated airconditioning provide a comfortabel night rest. As a hotel garni we offer a rich breakfast buffet, which we will also serve you on our spacious sun terrace, from where you will have a spectacular view on Frankfurt's breathtaking skyline. Wellness and relaxation area as well as our sauna contribute to regeneration of our guest. This is where you can lie back and leave your cares behind. Our stylishly designed bar invites you to linger. You will also find numerous bars, trendy clubs and international restaurants in near vicinity of our hotel. For meetings and conferences there is a 86 m² room available. Conference package per person ist 29 €. The room is suitable for groups up to 35 people and offers modern technique like W-LAN and HD-Beamer including screen. If desired, we organize the culinary setting for your meeting according to your requirements. Hotel Cult ist located at the Sachsenhausener Ufer directly opposite of Frankfurt's old city. Sights, exhibition center as well as Frankfurt airport can be reached quickly and comfortably. We attach utmost importance to the prosperity of our guests. This is why we create harmonious ambiance where it feels like home. room facilities Our cosy rooms offer comfortability stylish elegance which guarantees a pleasant stay. The equipment of our rooms is comfortable, convenient and relaxing. For the sake of your health the entire hotel has been non-smoking since 2009.To not only enjoy your room but also the incredible view you can choose your room by location. Depending on the amount of rest an view you might need, you can either choose a room facing the street or a room facing the rear of our building. In addition to conventional facilities a mini-bar in every room provides extra comfort and invites to a little drink in the evening or at night. For your entertainment every room is equipped with a flat screen to enjoy German television or Pay-TV. Furthermore each room is provided with shower and WC, as well as hair dryer. To take a closer look at yourself you will find a make-up mirror in the bathroom. Besides relaxation and comfort we are concerned about the safety of your valuables in the room. This is why all rooms are equipped with in-room safety deposits. special services With an overcharge it is possible to rent a parking space or to use our in-house sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cult reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cult Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing