We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still very nice hotel but 2011onwards they charge Wifi (thumbsdown!)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt am Main City
Ranked #11 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ulm, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
307 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
“still very nice hotel but 2011onwards they charge Wifi (thumbsdown!)”
Reviewed 19 April 2011

hotel opened 2005 and indeed it's a quite nice property although the location is poor (far from shops/only the overpriced (hotel-) restaurants)

Even other chains like Radisson Blu, Holiday Inn and more and more hotels change to free Wifi (at least in the lobby) the Moevenpick chain seem to want to follow the "you pay only what you take" and charges now 12 EUR for 24hrs (3 EUR per hour) instead of increasing rate alternatively for all guest e.g. 3 EUR?!?!?

Moevenpick!!! Wake up, you are turning back time with internet charges! Times are changeing to free Wifi worldwide!!

April 2011 still parking was free outside (might be difficult to find a space during trade faires)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    491
    94
    13
    9
See reviews for
136
187
111
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

I stayed here for one night and overall had a good experience.

Positives:
Quite close to the Hauptbahnhof
Lovely, comfy, spacious, clean and quiet rooms
Free WIFI
Good restaurant

Negatives:
View from window was just a building site
Not completely intuitive to find, best to ask someone or call the hotel rather than wandering around aimlessly
Surely the hotel management can afford to put in some flat-screen TVs!! The only thing worse would have been a black and white telly!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mex
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I believe this was the best hotel I stayed in during this trip.
We arrived and we had our room waiting for us.
The room has more than enough space, it's definitely comfortable.
The bed feels great and the sleep quality is almost perfect.
About the service, I can't complain at all: I needed to print some
train tickets to travel the next day so I asked in reception and they
have some computers near the desk which also have printers so
there's no problem about this (I didn't find this service in other hotels,
only computers so you can connect to the internet).
The quality of the products they use around the room and in the bathroom
are very good.
Breakfast was also the best, compared to other hotels during this trip,
simply because it is incredibly varied and everything tasted great.
Location is perfect because you can walk to the subway station and
2 stops later you're in the main train station!
Love it, when I'm back in Frankfurt, I definitely want to stay there again :)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blauerMond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We had booked from 9 Jan to 15Jan 2011. We only stayed till 14 Jan but no refund for 15Jan. Asked for refund but never bother. Ask for service to post parcel through our company DHL account, can't be bothered service. Things were done after persistance and asked to call DHL in front of us to verify then it was done. If it is not near Messe Frankfurt, I would not have paid so high for such a so called 6 stars hotel. We were not given such 5 or 6 stars service. It is better to stay somewhere further and better location. Maritime hotel has a good Japanese restaurant. Although service is average but food is good. Try it out! The only plus point in MOvenpick is the internet connection is good. Other than that, it is below average! The food in the restaurant is horrid! Pork is bloody so beware!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellers8802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

a bit out of the way but still near a subway line. modern facilities, nice room, free internet etc. will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spikeysingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Stayed one night at this hotel so I would be able to catch my early morning flight out of the airport.
The value was absolutely incredible. Paid next to nothing and got such a really nice, comfortable room. Everything felt very posh and upscale.
The only odd thing was the location which is behind the Festhalle/Messe. I came in by U-bahn in the winter at night and ended up wandering the neighborhood dragging luggage for 30 minutes trying to find the place. The signage was quite poor.

However, I would definitely stay again when I need to catch a flight out of Frankfurt.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Brand new and clean, this place offers great value for the money. I booked a pre-paid weekend rate at 60 Euros per night. The room is on the small side, but very efficiently and practically laid out. Comfy beds, large walk-in shower, heated bathroom floors, good views (get a high floor with city view) and about a block walk from the train station, and very near the Messe (main exhibition center). Ordered room service twice and the food quality was quite decent. The internet connection is not free, but speed is excellent. Very quiet, even with the heat turned on. (It is not forced air, but rather a large wall-mounted heating element that makes zero noise.) About the only complaint I had was that the person in the room directly adjacent to ours decided at 3 am that he/she would smoke, in spite of the fact that this is a non-smoking hotel. The smoke smell permeated our room for an hour, until I opened the window. By the way, the hotel offers 8 "hypo allergenic" rooms that cater to the needs of chemically sensitive guests. You don't see that often. The staff is friendly and efficient. We arrived early from the airport, and they let us check in at noon, no problem at all. I'll take this place over the "fancier" unnecessarily more expensive hotels in Frankfurt any day. And that includes the Intercontinental, where I stayed last time. The Moevenpick is better!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eilig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
NH Frankfurt Messe
NH Frankfurt Messe
#9 of 269 in Frankfurt
667 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#8 of 269 in Frankfurt
779 reviews
Innenstadt
NH Collection Frankfurt City
NH Collection Frankfurt City
#7 of 269 in Frankfurt
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Frankfurt
Innenstadt
Capri by Fraser Frankfurt
Capri by Fraser Frankfurt
#5 of 269 in Frankfurt
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt am Main City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt am Main City

Property: Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt am Main City
Address: Den Haager Str. 5, 60327 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#2 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#10 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#16 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#19 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt am Main City 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are planning to visit Frankfurt on a business trip to attend or host a conference, or on vacation to enjoy one of Germany's finest cities, the modern and comfortable Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt City is the perfect choice for you and your party.Easily reached by train or Metro from the airport, the Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt City is ideally located next to the fairground and vis-a- vis the new shopping centre Skyline Plaza; to offer you the perfect balance between convenience and executive level business facilities. For successful business events, a new-generation conference centre is at your disposal. For outings, take the nearby metro to visit the charming old city of Frankfurt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt am Main City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing