We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive extras, small-ish rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt am Main City
Ranked #12 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Middle East
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Expensive extras, small-ish rooms”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The public areas of the hotel (reception, bar, restaurant) are nice and the staff is very helpful but the rooms are a bit small and plain.
Also, the extras such as internet access and parking have a terribly high price.
Not a terrible stay by any means but not excellent and I've had better value nearby. Would not return.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank bokad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHFC, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt am Main City, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear bokad,

First of all we would like to thank you for your pleasant honest feedback. To offer our guests a perfect stay at any time, your feedback helps us to improve our service and quality steadily.

May we suggest you our comfort room for your next stay with us? It includes 24 hours high speed internet, a bottle of water in your room, a late check-out up to 3pm and a welcome drink at our hotel bar.

We would be delighted to welcome you back again at our Mövenpick Hotel Frankfurt City and wish you a wonderful day.

With best regards from Frankfurt,
Helen Mettner (Guest Relation)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    491
    94
    13
    9
See reviews for
136
187
111
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The location isn't exactly charming as there is a lot of construction in the area and it is where the conventional center is located. But we wanted something close to the airport (15 minutes away), train station (one stop on metro) and metro (5min. walk). On that account, this is great and cheaper than the other hotels in the area.

The rooms are modern, clean and well appointed. The large electronic metal shudders outside the window were great for blocking out light, more effective than typical blackout curtains you find in most hotels. The wall hung lcd TV on a swing arm was good for viewing from different parts of the room.
We requested a child bed for our son, which was perfect-not too big, not to small for young children. We were upgraded to the top floor and a slightly larger room

Buffet breakfast is well done with good a selection of foods; staff was accommodating to our son and bought him drinks that weren't already in the buffet. Restaurant prices are reasonable and food quality is pretty good for a business hotel. But I found the food to be a bit too salty for my taste. The complimentary fresh fruit and light snacks in the later afternoon/early evening in the lobby is a nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJHSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHFC, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt am Main City, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear jhshin,

First of all we would like to thank you on behalf of the entire Mövenpick Hotel Frankfurt City team for your great remarks.

We are very delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you have felt welcome, because to be a warm and attentive host is our most important matter of concern.

We are really looking forward to welcome you back soon and wishing you and your family a wonderful week.

Best regards from Frankfurt,
Helen Mettner (Guest Relation)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, Uk
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I stayed here in 2012 for the MTV EMAs. This hotel was perfectly located for the Jesse which is where it was being held. Its literally round the corner.

Although it is out of the city centre, you can walk there. A few members of our group went exploring, and it wasn't too much of a walk. We saw a tram too (which we did not use) but assume that goes into the city, and that is just round the corner from the hotel.

Rooms were beautiful. Really nice décor, lovely bathroom and the beds were so comfy. I found the pillows slight too soft, but I loved that our double bed had 2 single duvets on instead of 1 double... meant my boyfriend had some cover for the night!

We ate dinner in their restaurant, and although a bit expensive, the food was incredible. I had beef with gherkin and bacon (I think, I cant remember the actual name of the dish) with mashed potato, and it was just wonderful. My boyfriend loved his steak.

We didn't have time for breakfast but judging by dinner I'm sure it would be great.

Quiet location which is important to me. Overall loved this hotel was great. I really want to go back to Frankfurt to really explore it as we were only there for less than 24 hours, and we would absolutely stay here again.

Loved it, thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbchannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHFC, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt am Main City, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Sbchannel,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful remarks about our Mövenpick Hotel Frankfurt City.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel so much and that you have felt welcome, because being a warm and attentive host is our most important matter of concern.

I will forward your commendation to my whole team, because your wonderful remarks are such a strong motivation for all my employees to offer our guests a perfect stay at all time.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon and wish you a wonderful week.

Warm regards from Frankfurt,

Bernhard Haller
(Cluster General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

Rooms clean, a good size, bright and very functional. Breakfasts very good - lunch at the bar Chicken Caesar salad particularly good. Gym a little small for size of hotel - can be a wait for a bike or treadmill. Good weights area. Well located for Messe not for central Frankfurt though. Staff very friendly. Lots of building going on in the area but the hotel is not affected by noise at all. Would recommend for business stay.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHFC, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt am Main City, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear DK63,

thank you very much for your wonderful remarks about your stay at our Mövenpick Hotel Frankfurt City.

It is a great confirmation to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you have felt welcome, because that is our most important matter of concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and wish you a wonderful week.

Warm regards,
Your team of the Mövenpick Hotel Frankfurt City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

A short walk to Hall 3, I have stayed in this hotel 6 times. Each time the staff is very helpful, the rooms are simple but always clean, and the breakfast is the BEST. In addition, the bar is always hopping with people from the show. They need to improve their exercise room and make the ENTIRE hotel non-smoking but besides that, great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHFC, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt am Main City, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Myron K,

thank you very much for your great feedback about our Mövenpick Hotel Frankfurt City.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, especially our famous Mövenpick breakfast.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again and wishing you a great day.

Kind regards from Frankfurt,
Your team of Mövenpick Hotel Frankfurt City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

Having stayed for 3 nights I found the hotel to offer exceptional service in all aspects of hotel.

Reception, room service, house keeping, bar & restaurant all first class. A great fitness area was an added bonus that also offers spa treatments for those with more time on their hands.

Room was spacious and well appointed, heating was spot-on during very wintery conditions. Bath room offered walk-in wet room style shower, very modern and in keeping with overall brand.

Food at breakfast and dinner was very well presented.

No complaints other than tucked away in back street and in the business district so not within walking distance of city life, but for my purpose as a business traveller it was fine.

33 Euro cab fare to airport in under 20 minutes door to door or train at less than 10 Euro in about 30 minutes but more hassle.

If looking for a traditional night out try the adolf Wagner brewery offering traditional fare washed down with apple wine...excellent atmosphere, well worth the 15 euro cab fare.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHFC, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt am Main City, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear TexasMcK,

thank you very much for your wonderful remarks, which I have already shared with our staff.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you have felt welcome, because to be a warm and attentive host is our most important matter of concern.

Your commendation is particularly strong motivation for all my employees to continue striving for the most possible perfection, to offer our guests a perfect stay every time.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon and wish you a wonderful week.

Warm regards from Frankfurt,

Bernhard Haller
(Cluster General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston Fl.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

It was my first time in Frankfurt traveling with my wife and 2 daughters (22 and 18) I am really glad I went to that hotel, they gave us 2 rooms at 7 am after an overnight flight from USA (check in time is 4 pm) which was great!. The hotel is brand new, modern, with a very nice decoration and gives you the real feeling of warmth. Beds are clean and comfortable and have good quality cotton sheets. It has a coffee maker with complimentary tea and coffee, Internet service FREE at lobby with a printer which is very helpful if you are planning or checking places to visit. Bathrooms are fine, clean and modern. This hotel exceeded our expectations. There is not FREE wifi in the rooms. The staff was very helpful, very welcoming. Highly recommended.

Fue mi primera vez en Frankfurt viajando con mi esposa y mis dos hijas de 22 & 18, nos sentimos muy bien en este hotel, es nuevo y muy moderno con una decoracion buena. El hotel te hace sentir bienvenido. En las habitaciones hay cafe y los banos son muy buenos, limpios. No hay internet gratis en las habitaciones pero si en el lobby. La gente de la recepcion fueron muy buenas personas, nos dieron las habitaciones tan pronto como llegamos de un vuelo largo de toda la noche desde USA, tengan presente que el checkin time es a las 4pm y en ese momento eran las 7 de la manana, esto realmente fue bueno por que pudimos descansar sin pagar un dia extra. Nos atendieron muy bien! definitivamente recomiendo este hotel.

Para las personas Hispanas es muy importante hablar o defendense bien en ingles. Sino lo habla, aprenda palabras o frases basicas y con esto estara bien.

Frankfurt nos sirvio de base para visitar varios paises de Europa usando el sistema de trenes que es buenisimo.

December 25 and 26 2012

Room Tip: Location is great, just 10 min walk to the train station or even less to a Metro. Great Location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHFC, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt am Main City, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Mr George O.,

first of all we would like to thank you on behalf of the entire Mövenpick Hotel Frankfurt City team for your great honest feedback.

It is a great confirmation to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you have felt welcome, because that is our most important matter of concern.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again at our Mövenpick Hotel Frankfurt City and wishing you and your family a wonderful day.

Kind regards,
Your team of Mövenpick Hotel Frankfurt City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
NH Frankfurt Messe
NH Frankfurt Messe
#9 of 269 in Frankfurt
666 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#8 of 269 in Frankfurt
779 reviews
Innenstadt
NH Collection Frankfurt City
NH Collection Frankfurt City
#7 of 269 in Frankfurt
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Frankfurt
Innenstadt
Capri by Fraser Frankfurt
Capri by Fraser Frankfurt
#5 of 269 in Frankfurt
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt am Main City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt am Main City

Property: Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt am Main City
Address: Den Haager Str. 5, 60327 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#2 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#11 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#16 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#19 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt am Main City 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are planning to visit Frankfurt on a business trip to attend or host a conference, or on vacation to enjoy one of Germany's finest cities, the modern and comfortable Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt City is the perfect choice for you and your party.Easily reached by train or Metro from the airport, the Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt City is ideally located next to the fairground and vis-a- vis the new shopping centre Skyline Plaza; to offer you the perfect balance between convenience and executive level business facilities. For successful business events, a new-generation conference centre is at your disposal. For outings, take the nearby metro to visit the charming old city of Frankfurt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Frankfurt am Main City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing