We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tram 17 to Messe is a reason to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ibis Frankfurt City Messe
Ranked #85 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 6 December 2012

If you are on business at the Messe, this place is affordable and has superb location: Just outside the hotel is Tram 17. It takes you right to the Festhalle Messe stop across the street from the Messe. It’s about 10 minutes ride. I cannot say I enjoyed the hotel's internet reliability, however, in case you do a lot of work from your hotel room. Hotel staff very friendly, rooms cleaned well, guy behind bar helpful and courteous, restaurant is good not great. Overall, a nice place to stay for a short business trip (One week or less).

Room Tip: 5th Floor room gave me a view to autobahn outside and some Messe-area buildings that lit up well at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimberCreek4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

I don't blame hotels for small problems, but when they cover your room with leaflets saying "turn to us anytime there's a problem, whatever it may be. We'll take care of it immediately" then they should at least attempt to live up to that. I reported issues (phone not working so I couldn't call reception, no towels in bathroom) repeatedly, and not only did they not get fixed, but the staff were not even slightly apologetic or embarrassed about the fact that they had not been fixed. Ibis need to do some serious staff training before they promise a "15 minute satisfaction guarantee" here.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Hi,

I searched a lot for info on which ibis to stay at for a trade show and I hope this review will fill the gaps.

I had booked the hotel online at a good rate and the check in was smooth. There are trolleys/ push carts in the lobby which were a boon for exhibitors like me who have to lug lots of stand material and brochures. The room size was decent (I have stayed in much smaller ibis rooms in Hamburg, etc.). The LCD TV is medium size and since I do not understand much German I could watch BBC World and Al Jazeerah news only. Bathroom is a plastic bolt on but spacious with a shower cubicle. No toiletries are provided except for the body-hair shower gel but then I guess that is standard across all budget hotels now.

Hotel has smoking rooms also.

Storage space is good and though I was traveling with lot of stuff I could organize it with ease.

Breakfast is charged @ Euro 10 and is pretty decent. There is a restaurant and bar downstairs but I did not use it for meals other than breakfast. The wi-fi in the rooms is paid but it is free in the lobby which is large, warm and has ample sofas. The lobby also has a free Internet corner with 2 PCs and it was usually possible to get one without waiting for too long.

The room does not have a coffee-tea maker and this was painful for me as I like a cuppa the first thing in the morning. I believe there is a hot water dispenser in the lobby but ...

The hotel overlooks an autobahn and it is on the outskirts. There are no shops, sites or restaurants around except for an indoor public pool.

The hotel is far from the Messe but one can take the tram no. 17 and get off after 5 stops. If you take the tram from the central railyway station then tram line 17 to Redstockbad will get you to the hotel. Do not get off at Leonardo da Vince allee but get off at Redstockbad the last station and the hotel is barely 30 meters from the tram station.

It is easy to find cabs. Though it seems the hotel is in the middle of nowhere there are cabs available in the porch most of the time.

There is a gas station with a store right opposite the Hotel where one can pick up basics. The store stacks beer, wine and cigarettes also and serves burgers/ sandwiches which can be heated up/ toasted.

The hotel staff was very helpful and cheerful.

To sum up the hotel is good but the only drawback is it is not close to the Messe as the name suggests but then a short tram ride gets you there in 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the autobahn are also quite as the hotel has good soundproof windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justanomad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The Ibis Messe is conveniently located at the end of Tram line #17, which takes you to the hotel from the main station in about 15 min (2,50€ fare). With the same tram line you may also go to shows, to Messe/Festhalle entrance, in about 10 min. Trams go every 10 min. The place is in a office/residential area with not much around, so you might want to use the bistro for an informal dinner (6pm to 10 pm).

I haven´t tried it, but if it is any similar to the very nice & reasonably priced breakfast, you don´t have to worry much. Rooms are spacious & clean, some overlooking a big street, but with windows shut the room is very quiet. Wifi in rooms is included into a breakfast business package and rather fast.

If you feel like relaxing after a long trade show day, public indoor swimming pool & sauna Rebstockbad is just around the corner, open till 10 pm.

Good place to stay during a show, I always found it reasonably priced even while (minor) trade shows, though this might not be the case at very big international events like Buchmesse Frankfurt.

Room Tip: Try to get a back rooms if you like to sleep with an open window - some front rooms are overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banane16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

although the place is nice, it lacks some character,
food was good, especially breakfast, rooms were fine and clean,
you hace free wifi at the lobby,
but the best part was the staff being very helpful,

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaby-Khoriaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I had a good stay here. The bed is extremely comfortable and the shower really nice. You don't expect too much from an Ibis so it was hard to be disappointed. The free wifi in the lobby didn't work too well, so I resorted to paying for a WLAN connection in the room which was fine and not too expensive. The breakfast is very good though they do make it slightly difficult to eat as the plates are too small for the slices of bread they serve! Location is near a tram line but not near anything else, so that's not too convenient. During the trade fair the nightly rates are extremely high - too bad.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandenburg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

There is nothing wrong per sé. It is a concrete bunker with a reasonably priced bar and restaurant. There's nowhere to sit outside and all you can see from the hotel is other, nicer-looking hotels, and office blocks. There's nowhere to sit outside, the rooms are basic, the staff are reasonably personable, but you get what you pay for, a business hotel at the budget end of the scale. Breakfast is functional.

Room Tip: 238 is large, but noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#47 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,924 reviews
Hotel Excelsior
#65 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Frankfurt Messe West
#120 of 270 in Frankfurt
296 reviews
Innenstadt
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Frankfurt City Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Frankfurt City Messe

Address: Leonardo da Vinci Allee 40, 60486 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bockenheim , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: £40 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Frankfurt City Messe 2*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Frankfurt City Messe hotel is located at the Frankfurt exhibition centre, 3 km from the city centre and 10 km from the airport. Opened in 2006, the hotel offers 264 airconditioned rooms with satellite TV and WiFi Internet access, an internationalrestaurant, a cosy bar (with 24 hour service) and underground pay parking. Frankfurt sights not to be missed include the Old Opera House and Romer town hall, both not far from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Frankfurt City Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Frankfurt City Messe Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing