We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good value, but can be noisy”
Review of Ritter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ritter Hotel
Ranked #247 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The Ritter Hotel is surrounded by bars. No air conditioning, so if it is warm, and you leave the windows open, it might be a bit loud. No elevator. Room was small, but that's typical for an older hotel. As mentioned in some of the other reviews, this is not a good hotel for kids. The night time crowd can be a little rowdy. The Rhein, old town, and Romerburg are all within walking distance. The Ritter has no shuttle. The taxi ride from FRA was EUR 37.00. Breakfast included, which was good. No restaurant here, but plenty of eating and drinking establishments surrounding the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

Good value for money hotel. The hotel is surrounded by bars that trade to about 4am every night.the noise level is ok if you keep the windows closed. The included breakfast is very good and includes fresh fruit which you can take for later in the day. Be aware that like most older hotels it does not have a lift so getting your luggage up the tiny curved staircase can be difficult.
All said it is good value for the small ask.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank empirecircuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Ritter Hotel is in one of the coolest parts of Frankfurt. There probably 50 pubs and some beer gardens within 5 minutes of walking. It's probably a 20 minute walk to downtown Frankfurt and the mall and a 5 minute walk to the closest subway stop. The service is very friendly and helpful. The shower was tiny and a bit awkward but it worked. The beds are small but comfortable and clean. If I came back to Frankfurt, this place would be on my short list of places to stay, and if not here, I would stay as close to this location as possible

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrewSkeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here our first night in Frankfurt. It was in a walking area so we had to park in a lot nearby as there was no parking right by the hotel. The hotel has a biergarden below it and three other bier gardens within 30 seconds of it. We had our 8 and 10 year olds there with us and it was a bit hard to sleep with all the partying going on. This place would be perfect for a backpacker as the location is ideal.

Room Tip: higher units are very hot as heat rises in the summer and there is no A/C. ask for a room on the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank world_observer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

In all my years of traveling this has got to be the WORST hotel I've ever stayed in! I can't even think of any dodgy hostel dorms where I've stayed that could come near of being this bad! We had booked two nights in this awful place because from the website the place looked nice (why oh why did I not come see the reviews on tripadvisor before booking!) but we left after one night and moved to a small hotel nearby which felt like the Hilton Hotel after the experience we had at Ritter.

Basically, there is nothing good about this hotel. When we got there, we realised that it was located on a party street full of bars, and not just any bars but loud bars full of drunken idiots screaming all through the night. The so-called hotel was so dark and gloomy it could have been from a horror movie, and when we were escorted to our room I thought it was a joke. Our double room had two separate beds and it was super dirty and reeked of cigarettes. It was so gross I expected to see a drunken person passed out in the toilet since it really looked like a place where you go pass out at 5 am after partying when you can't hear or see anything anymore.

Also the room was located above a bar I guess, because it sounded like we were inside a club. Still somehow we thought that maybe the party will stop and tried to go to sleep. Even through the earplugs at 1am I could hear people sing (read:scream) "tonight's gonna be a good night" which I thought was actually quite funny considering the irony of it being one of the worst nights for us. When we went to complain to the guy at the front desk that we were not going to stay in that room for another second, he didn't understand ANY english so I had to talk to him using my terrible highschool german whilst standing there in the middle of the night wearing my pajamas and trying to scream over the music. He didn't understand why we had a problem with the place, so we decided to change to another hotel far from the party road in the middle of the night and we never got our money back!

It still makes me so angry thinking about our experience there. It is the worst hotel ever, please don't ever stay there!

Room Tip: The best tip is do not ever stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emilia690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I've been in Frankfurt last week for work and I've decided to try this little hotel.It's very nice and clean, Locaterin a very strategical place, a lot of restaurant and pubs realy in the same block. The Manager is a very nice person and he did everything to help us in any situation.
Best regards.
Alessandro Pavoni

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Alessandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Wel, if your drunk this hotel might do the trick...everyone else on the street outside is as well and they stay up very late and are very loud. The rooms were renovated in aprox. 1976. The beds were clean and the shower was hot..well, that's positive anyway. If all else fails stay here.

Room Tip: no room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Motrenhaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Novum Hotel Primus Frankfurt Sachsenhausen
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Eazires Royal City Hotel
Eazires Royal City Hotel
#217 of 269 in Frankfurt
29 reviews
Maingau Hotel
#124 of 269 in Frankfurt
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lloyed Hotel
#173 of 269 in Frankfurt
136 reviews
Colour Hotel
#226 of 269 in Frankfurt
311 reviews
Hotel Cult
#70 of 269 in Frankfurt
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritter Hotel

Address: Grosse Rittergasse 79, 60594 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Sachsenhausen-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: £47 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ritter Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Ritter is located in the heart of Frankfurt's historical part Alt Sachsenhausen, the oldest and most beautiful part of city, which plagues you to the past time with a traditional German food, wine and beer. Our hotel, built in 17th century and completely renovated in 2005. It disposes of single, double and family rooms, equipped with modern amenities that include working desk, an internet access, television and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ritter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritter Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing