We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic position”
Review of Hotel Neue Kraeme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Neue Kraeme
Ranked #123 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Sweet little hotel in total heart of city.....terrific spot. Clean rooms, free wifi, pleasant breakfast and nice staff. Beds a bit soft if I had to be a bit picky, but for the price, can't fault it and would stay again.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank BaskersonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Neue Kraeme
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2012

Clean and comfortable, with good breakfast, this hotal was great value for a visit to the Xmas markets.
No fancy frills- but is a fantastic place right in the city centre for sights and transport links.
Since the hotel eas used by us as a place to sleep and have breakfast it provided all that we required.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davidaitken82016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

One of the worst hotels I have stayed in Frankfurt:
The hotel is somehow nested into a post-war , hastily re-built 60+ year old building in downtown Frankfurt just next to the Roemer plaza, the Dome, Paul’s church and the Zeil shopping mall (which is in my opinion by no means attractive).

To get to the reception you need to squeeze into a tiny elevator (ca. 8 sqft floor space) that is decorated with scratch-in graffiti and ride to the 1st floor; the elevator will fit one person and a bag. If you have two bags it means two trips with the elevator or work yourself the stairs upward. The reception area continues seamlessly into the breakfast area. After check-in you are sent through a cheap looking plywood door into a corridor leading to the guest rooms. Some rooms don’t have toilets so you have to use a shared toilet if you get such a room. Well, fortunately my room had a toilet and that was the first thing I saw when I opened the cheap looking DIY-job-painted plywood door with an old-fashioned key chained to a heavy metal buoy. The shower tub was not clean. I found hair from previous occupants and there was mold in the caulking and cracks in the sink. Hot water came from a gas-powered water boiler. It was so hot you could use it to prepare tea (if there were tea bags available) The bed room looked like a relict from the 70s/80s era. The mattress was soft and sagged. There is no air condition in the room; however an extra electric heater was available (in mid-summer) in case you had not enough heat from the outside.
The only good thing I can tell about this room is that there was a new HD TV set and a fresh, starched table cloth on the Table. However, all the furniture and the carpet looked old, tired, and worn out. Dead flies were found in light fixtures and a live mosquito was buzzing around for a blood meal (ok, the latter can happen anywhere).
Breakfast was also disappointing; a small buffet with limited selection, not displayed too appetizingly. Coffee is served lukewarm from a single thermos dispenser. No option for espressos, latte or more sophisticated coffees.
Overall very disappointing stay in Frankfurt; which was topped by the finding that on Mondays basically all museums are closed (many of them are actually highly attractive and interesting).
After this experience, I’ll definitely prefer modern, clean, state of the art budget hotels like Motel One or B&B Hotel in Frankfurt (both in Hanauer Landstrasse) and use the excellent public transportation (check out the “Frankfurt Card” ; a great deal) to get to the sights of interest (but remember: museums are closed on Mondays).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruderLustig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed only one night in this hotel on our way to Munich but found it to be comfortable and clean. Our 3 teenage children stayed in an apartment across the street which is also part of the hotel while our room was in the main building.The beds were comfortable and the breakfast had a good selection even including scrambled eggs. There was no WIFI in the apartment but in the main building it worked fine. Parking is a bit of a problem as the hotel is situated in a pedestrian walk way. (We parked in a public parking garage nearby). Service is good and pleasant. There is an amazing food market a couple of blocks away which is really worth a visit.

Room Tip: The apartment across the street is a good option if you are travelling with kids. It is beautifully...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merry_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We found this hotel in the heart of Frankfurt, it was so amazing to stay at a place from where places like Romer, museums and old town is at walking distances. We were also able to park our car in nearby parking lot at 22e per day which was fairly reasonable and was convenient for us. Rooms were not big but fortunately they were not stuffed with too many things, staff was great, though everyone could not speak English still good number of them could, especially the front desk staff was well conversant in English which is more than sufficient I suppose. Rooms have Wi-Fi connections, safe and other amenities to make stay comfortable and safe. From this place Houpwache train station and Zell street is minutes walk away, one can easily access any place in the city through public transport however if you are not driving and need cab staff would be more than happy to oblige. Overall in terms of convenience, comfort and prices I would certainly rate this place as very suitable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solange G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

After several attempts finally a young man receptionist was able to figure out the CNN on the new modern sattalite TV system. I think his name was Cetkovic and he was in charge of the Desk on Sunday PM June 10, 2012. Good job.

Room Tip: Reserve your room online.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Great hotel for walking to old town, Romer, museums. We self parked at nearby "Parkhaus Hauptwache" for about 23E per day. This is a very friendly, clean hotel that shoud probably be a 3 or 4 star due to the small, plain rooms but the excellent location as well as the crisp white feather duvet and bedding bumps it up to a five in my opinion.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctorGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Altstadt
Miramar Hotel
Miramar Hotel
#61 of 270 in Frankfurt
268 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Zentrum
Hotel Zentrum
#139 of 270 in Frankfurt
180 reviews
Altstadt
Das Spenerhaus
Das Spenerhaus
#89 of 270 in Frankfurt
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Favored Hotel Scala
Favored Hotel Scala
#107 of 270 in Frankfurt
314 reviews
EXPO Hotel
#141 of 270 in Frankfurt
144 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel am Dom
Hotel am Dom
#188 of 270 in Frankfurt
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neue Kraeme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neue Kraeme

Address: Neue Kraeme 23, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Altstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: £65 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Neue Kraeme 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Neue Kraeme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing