We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped”
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Diplomat
Ranked #240 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Glasgow, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cramped”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Small cramped rooms, not extremely clean but passable. This was our first night of a month long trip and we were tired, they did allow a slightly early checkin. We had just two criteria for our rooms, parking available and continental breakfast and this place had both. It was inexpensive but not easy to find.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    15
    36
    27
    30
See reviews for
13
35
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
7,009 reviews
274 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10,392 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is not a very luxury hotel but the location is very good,just in the heart of Frankfurt city.The staff is very kind and helpfull.As the location is very quiet,you will feel relaxed while staying at the hotel.Room is simple,clean but has all you need.Will stay again in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank junior1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Hotel Diplomat is not a luxury resort and you won't find there any gold plated tap. Yet, it has an excellent location right in the very heart of Frankfurt a.M, just 150m away from the S-Bahn Ostendstraße station.
The staff is extremely nice and will do almost everything to keep you satisfied, the rooms is clean and cosy and you'll get the maximum value for your money.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This hotel is in a very calm area, you would feel like staying in a park! A good night sleep is guaranteed. And it is at a walking distance (10-15 min) from the main shopping district, the Zeil. The staff is welcoming and friendly. The room was simple, small, nice and clean. The bed very comfortable. The bathroom was also nice and clean. This a very good value at a very friendly price for a basic stay. Would definitely stay there again for my next visit to Frankfurt.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dunavriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The hotel is located in a very residential locality. Easily reachable from Airport by car. It was the cheapest we could find with parking. But it was a very tight parking behind the hotel. It took some time to get in get out of parking. There are free parking near hotel but it is nearly impossible to find a free spot.

The lift was very small and dirty.
The room was small and old but the bed was neat, clean and comfortable.

There are good supermarkets near this hotel.

The receptionist was friendly and helpful. We liked the breakfast. It was adequate. It was good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dameem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Although the lady at the reception was very nice and yes, the location is convenient, I would never return there. It is so run down and old (not in a good way) and not exactly clean. The elevator (my bag was very heavy... long story) is so scary and small and... urgh!

I guess you get what you pay for but this was ridiculous. Don't get me started on the breakfast. Cold toasts anyone? I was with my young daughter and I could not bear the thought of showering her in that bathtub. Thank God for the clean towels they provide.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pascale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Was looking for a cheap hotel for a night's stay, near the city center in Frankfurt. This was the cheapest find with a private room & ensuite bathroom, at 95 Euro/night incl. breakfast.
The hotel is very conveniently located, 1 min from S-bahn, 5 mins from U-bahn, and a walking distance from nice neighbourhoods to visit (Sachsenhausen, Nordend ost).
The staff was very friendly, despite less-than-perfect English.

However the room itself was clean but VERY basic, especially the bathroom which had no shower curtain, meaning everything was wet after taking a shower. The towels were nice and fluffy but I had to give up one of the two for wiping the floor...
Also, the heating was a little weak, and I couldn't really take off my warm clothing while in the room (typical mid-February temperatures, a few degrees above 0).

Breakfast included some cold cuts, cheese, some canned fruit, cereal and yoghurt, and even some slices of cucumber and tomato (very expensive this time of year in Frankfurt); but no forks! You only had a knife at the table, and no serving utensils at the buffet table, so basically you had to pick and eat with your fingers...

All in all, a very basic place. But if you need to spend just one night, and need the convenience of the location, than it's not out of the question - just don't expect much. Personally I would try finding something a little farther away from center but with good public transport, and get a little more for my Euros.

Room Tip: Check for heating - it was not very good in my room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Uri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Novum Hotel Primus Frankfurt Sachsenhausen
Innenstadt
Admiral Hotel
Admiral Hotel
#233 of 269 in Frankfurt
174 reviews
Innenstadt
B&B Hotel Frankfurt City-Ost
B&B Hotel Frankfurt City-Ost
#101 of 269 in Frankfurt
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arena am Zoo
#190 of 269 in Frankfurt
4 reviews
Innenstadt
Ibis Budget Frankfurt City Ost
Ibis Budget Frankfurt City Ost
#62 of 269 in Frankfurt
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Property: Hotel Diplomat
Address: Ostendstr. 24-26, 60314 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt , Ostend - Osthafen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Diplomat 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing