We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UGH.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hotel-West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel-West
Ranked #223 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“UGH.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I paid $143.00 for 1 night at this hotel. It was just a room with dirty walls, no shampoo, lotion etc. and no air conditioning. It was in the red light district, had a view of a wall and a dirty rooftop and breakfast was not included. It was rated 3 stars but is barely a 1 star.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    16
    5
    23
See reviews for
5
14
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I took our teenagers on a tour of Europe in 2007 and this was our first stop. None of the reviews I read at the time, nor the photos on their website, indicate that it is in the RED LIGHT DISTRICT so I'm re-itterating it again.

Our cab driver from the airport seemed surprised when I gave him the address - he motioned to my daughter and said "Red Light District." So, I was not happy when we arrived. I said sarcastically to the young man at the desk that their website should mention it was not for families. He gave us the key and said to go look at the rooms - he guaranteed they were immaculate. If we did not like them we could have our money back. And he was right - the rooms were spotless.

We asked the kids what they thought and if the neighbourhood made them uncomfortable - they said as long as they stayed close to is they were fine and we decided to look at this as an adventure. I was okay with that until half an hour later we left to walk around and find a restaurant. The first crosswalk, where we waited (it felt like forever) had a giant display window for a sex toy store. It was all out in the open and some of it was pretty gross. Luckily the kids thought the best part was my shocked face!

The Lido directly across from the Hotel is a strip club with private rooms upstairs. The constant stream of taxis full of young men shouting and partying was broken up once and awhile by the excitement of the doorman chucking some guy to the curb.

The bar right next to the hotel's front entrance blasts dance music until 4:00am. You could actually feel the base reverb the floor under our feet. Our kids' room faced the back of the hotel and they said they could barely hear it.

All this being said, I must mention that of the 5 countries we visited, this was consistently the best breakfast we had by far. I would not even call it continental! Of course it's Germany so the selection of breads, cheeses, sausages and cold meats was like a deli. There was also boiled eggs, pastries, lovely granola and excellent jams and fruit.

So, my rec is get a room at the back of the hotel and enjoy a great breakfast and you should be okay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlyssaSaturley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Good hotel for the price and for what they offered, very good located close of the main train station (5 min). Clean and peaceful to rest after a long trip.
The breakfast is included and very nice attendance.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Alejandro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offenbach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Wonderful hotel , price worth near to the train station and city . staff very helpful.
i loved to book this hotel again. breakfast was excellent . fair ground is 15 min. walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: choose the room on the back side are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ashutosh45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Mo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

My credit card was stolen back in 2005 at this very hotel. . It was taken out of my suitcase. Very bad hotel personel at hotel. However, room was nice from what I can remember. There is some type of scam they are running here. Just beware.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jm73174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

I am also a victim of like most of other guests reviews here . Front desk and entire staff has cheated . Looks expatriates running this hotel and family friends and my suitcase with 1500 Euro missing . I checked response was you should take care else it is Germany . Also has charged me 82 Euro per night for 4 nights while they book on 37 Euro for others . arrogant staff , ready to have a war with you all time... will never advise anyone ... saw near streets prostitues take room here for their clients . ..dirty rooms , stinking , no lights , no wardrobe absolute waste ..please stay away from this hotel

Room Tip: I am also a victim of like most of other guests reviews here . Front desk and entire staff has chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WV
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Somehow I missed the terrible reviews of this hotel, I don't know how, and naively booked it for about 100 Euros for a triple. Our experience wasn't as bad as some of the others except for the incredible noise and the disgusting skanky denizens of this street. The shower was nice, the beds were comfortable enough, and the desk personnel with whom we dealt were fairly pleasant.

However, it's absolutely impossible to sleep between the traffic and the nonstop shouting of the pimps, drunks and hookers all night long. I'm just hoping I won't find out they've stolen our credit card number!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Highland210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Carlton Hotel - Frankfurt
Carlton Hotel - Frankfurt
#206 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Hotel Rossija
#203 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Apollo
Hotel Apollo
#205 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Innenstadt
Munchener Hof Hotel
Munchener Hof Hotel
#159 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel-West

Property: City Hotel-West
Address: Moselstr. 35, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel-West 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel-West Hotel Frankfurt
City Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing