We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center
Ranked #102 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We arrived with Condor Airlines in June 2013, traveled around in France, and came back in August. We loved the hotel. If our flight takes us to Frankfurt again next year, we will be staying at Leonardo's. It's right in front of the train station and right in the city. Breakfast was delicious; fresh yogurt in two flavors served in large bowls on the buffet table, i found fantastic. Lots of other foods for breakfast, all deli.
This is not an expensive hotel, it's for those of us who don't need to stay in big name hotels and who are not afraid of people of different cultures. Muenchener Strasse is not the richest street in Frankfurt, but it's perfect. Do a google street search and surf around.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraVioleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Frankfurt City Leonardo for 2 nights while travelling through Europe. We'd used this chain prior in Berlin.

The hotel was very reasonably priced and good value for money. The staff were very welcoming, we were given a free bottle of German bubbly as we were celebrating our 1 year anniversary while travelling. The breakfast was very good for the price of the hotel.

Location wise, as other reviewers have stated, it's very close to the Hautbanhof (ideal for early trains as we had) but it is also a little rough. Your fine walking around but it's typical of a rail way station area. I wouldn't recommend walking two steers away, Taunus Strasse the RLD (where the Eros Centres are), unless that's your thing. It's no Amsterdam, in fact it's more like Little Istanbul. Slimy would be the best word. Your fine if you walk into town on either Kaiserstrasse or Munchener Strasse. Also the trams run directly outside the hotel which we used throughout our stay.

Negative points. It's very noisy on the front, I'd recommend requesting a rear facing room or a room on a high floor (as we had) when facing the street.

Other than that the Leonardo is fine for a couple of nights, good staff, great breakfast and for easy access to the station. I'd return for those reasons!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoHotelsFra, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Jay T,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, your room and the hotel's location within the City Centre of Frankfurt. It is always a pleasure to read that our guests have enjoyed our Hotel.

We are looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Team Leonardo Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We've stayed at this hotel for the 2nd time. Everything was good, again. A nice location - near to the river to European Central Bank, city center, right next to the Hauptbahnof. It's a non smoking hotel but if you ask for a yard facing room, those have balconies where is possible to smoke outside the room - that was a nice surprise for my boyfriend who smokes even though we prefer non smoking rooms.
We've had superior room so I can't tell how does the standard double look like.

Cons: we've got a room that had no warm water this time! ...so we couldn't have a shower in ice cold water (in July) but I was said it happens to one in 100 guests - who knows :) - anyway we like this hotel so far and hope they solve this problem with hot water.
Breakfast cost - 15 euro

Room Tip: for smokers - ask for a yard facing room that has balcony you can smoke on. book superior room - we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinaSt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Booked this hotel as a last minute when I arrived at the train station. Room was a little dated and a couple of the bathroom fixtures where loose, but overall its a very comfortable quiet room. Staff where very good and the sleep quality excellent. I would have stayed longer had I not already booked other nights elsewhere. Only let down was no free wifi, which I think should almost be a standard. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Pro:
Super cheap, only Eur59/night.
Location is excellent in city center, just 1min walk to metro station and Frankfurt central train station. All major scenic spots are on 15min walking distance. close to riverbank
Staffs are very nice and helpful patient to answer all questions and gave lots of tips&advice.
Room is clean.
WIFI is charged Eur15/day (we didn't use at all). the PC at reception does not work well very slow.
no fridge in the room and we have to store our yogurt at hotel kitchen.
there might be some beggar nearby. be careful if you go out at night.

Room Tip: avoid rooms on 1F (a bit noise close to st) and 7F (no elevator to 7F, need to walk from 6F to 7F on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We chose this hotel for it's close proximity to the main train station and for the price. We had an early-ish train one morning so being so close to the station was very handy and as for the price, well it was cheaper for us to stay at this hotel than most of the hostels that we stayed in during our month long stay in Europe. I was a bit wary after reading some of the reviews on here but we need not have worried. Our stay was a very positive one. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the 7th floor. (Note that the elevator only goes to the 6th floor. This was not a problem for us but may be for some.) It did not overlook the street so was very quiet. We had a great nights sleep. The room was actually fairly big. It was clean with modern furnishings. Double bed which was comfortable, wardrobe and hanging space, desk, chair, phone, tv, a small safe, ensuite, kettle with tea and coffee, and a small balcony. There was also an A-Z help directory folder in the room however it was missing half the alphabet... The bathroom was clean and a very decent size. There was a bath with a shower attachment above. Best shower I had all trip. The breakfast was well organised and plentiful. Being close to the train station was great however the streets around the hotel are some what dodgy even during the daytime. We felt perfectly safe but it just didn't have a nice feel. I wouldn't be walking around there at nighttime though. Also there is a tram that runs outside the hotel and I could imagine that that would be quite noisy for those with a room facing the street... We would be happy to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Friendly staff, nice clean room, reasonably priced, close to main railway station, 5 minute walk from city centre.

only real downside was the room {6001} was next to the stair well which was very echo,y and next door to the hotel is a night club and could hear the bass until early hours of sunday morning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsonsgoodeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Townhouse Hotel
#30 of 270 in Frankfurt
307 reviews
Innenstadt
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Innenstadt
The Frankfurt Hotel
The Frankfurt Hotel
#53 of 270 in Frankfurt
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsviertel
Ibis Styles Frankfurt City Hotel
IntercityHotel Frankfurt
#96 of 270 in Frankfurt
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center

Address: Muenchener Str. 59, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: £57 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located adjacent to the central railway station and has optimal transport connections. All rooms have modern furnishing and facilities, just under half of the rooms have a balcony and are facing inwards, and all rooms have W-LAN access and a flat screen TV. Enjoy a peaceful and relaxing lounge atmosphere in the middle of the lively Main metropolis, ideal for business travelers and city tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing