We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No room for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center
Ranked #101 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 3 April 2009

We booked a room in november. The day before our trip we send a mail to the hotel to let them know that we would arrive late and that this would not be problem. We got an answer: it would be no problem. Everything was alright for our booking.
When we arrived at the hotel, there was NO room for us. The money was already taken of our creditcard, so we paid for a room that we did not get. The staffmember behind the desk was very unfriendly and even told us to go sleep in the streets.
Another staffmember came and he was more friendly. We ended up in another hotel in the neighbourhoud (they arranged it for us). So it was very late when we could finally go to bed. Nice start of a businesstrip!
Maybe we were lucky to go to the other hotel, because the staff there was very friendly and it was in a quiet street (Leonardo hotel is in a very noisy street).

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svt888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2009

My boyfriend and i stayed here for a weekend break. we flew into frankfurt hahn with ryanair the day before, but arrived late at night so stayed in an airport hotel, before getting the shuttle bus to frankfurt main station (hauptbahnhof) the following day. Note - frankfurt hahn is 1h45mins away from frankfurt! what do you expect of ryanair though... :)

as other reviews have noted, the location is fantastic, you can practically see it from the train station. also easily accesible to other areas of town (shops, nightlife, river, etc). the 'red light district' is only a few streets away though - literally right in front of the main train station of frankfurt. i personally did not feel unsafe at all, though im a hardened traveller and i had my boyfriend next to me. id say, as red light districts go, its pretty tame! one longish street with sex shops on it.

we had a double room, and i requested it had a bath and shower, and was quiet - no problems there. bathroom, neat, clean, tidy enough, but hell, the drains stank. infact, there was a bit of a whiff about most of frankfurt. very dodgy plumbing. it sounds like a small thing, but i spent a lot less time in the bath/shower! the bath is pretty small too, no good for sharing...

no probs with the room whatsoever- it had a balcony that looked out over the back (grotty back yards, sheds, etc), but it was indeed very quiet.big curtains block out any light coming in through the windows from the frankfurt skyscrapers.

when we arrived, i told them we had a reservation and gave the name, they said ok and gave me our keys. it was only later in the evening that i realised they hadnt told us what time breakfast was, where, and what time checkout was. though they might not have had good english... (i have nicht german). they were able to give us a helpful map of the area though! we kept getting lost.

breakfast was either 7 or 14 euros! we thought this was extortionate, so we got bread and baked stuff from the cafes in the main train station for breakfast. which was very very tasty, and i'm glad we passed up breakfast. tea and coffee making facilitiaes available in room, good luck getting a good old plain english cuppa though! they dont seem to do white tea in germany...
its pretty cheap, for all its comebacks, and great location, but the smell was offputting, and you're quite honestly spoilt for choice for accom around the hauptbahnhoff area. shop about i say. oh, and the bed was very very comfy, big pillows, and we got 2 separate single duvets - this is a bonus if ur sharing the room with a duvet hogger :)

good point about the internet - never saw any signs of it!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imogenbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2008

Firstly, the Lombardo is situated directly opposite the main train station in downtown Frankfurt. It therefore boasts a great location for touring the city during the day. Unfortunately, however, the Haut Bahnhof area of the city does not have the greatest of reputations and travellers, especially singles and females, should be wary wondering around there on their own at night.

It appears small from the outside and it is certainly small upon entering. The reception is petite yet tidy and there is a small bar area off to the right. Staff were polite and as helpful as possible.

I was staying for only one night as part of a business trip so was not too concerned about the quality that was on offer, but in all other circumstances it would have been an unsatisfactory stay. Especially if I had been funding the stay myself! I am aware, however, that you get what you pay for and the Leonardo is nothing more than a basic, budget travellers' hotel. My (admittedly) single room was tiny. So tiny in fact that you could not rotate without bumping into furniture, whether it be the bed, wardrobe, or W.C and shower in the even smaller bathroom. The room possessed the bare amount in terms of luxuries however they did manage to squeeze in a minibar and tea/coffee making facilities. There was a reasonable selection of multi-national T.V. channels but that is where the luxuries end.

This is nothing more than a dark and slightly dingy budget hotel. Ideal for cheap weekend breaks, stag parties or lads' weekends. Facilities for the business traveller are next to nothing so I would go elsewhere if you expect more.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Max Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2007

I stayed in the Leonardo Hotel for 3 nights this week and overall the hotel is of a very good standard with well sized double rooms and decent bathrooms (bath with shower). The lighting in the bathrooms wasn't great and may pose a slight issue for female travellers (mirror is recessed into the wall and spot lights cause shadows when you are in front of the mirror).

There are two choices for breakfast (hot buffet breakfast (€14.50) and continental breakfast (€7)) which were ok but probably overpriced for what you got.

The location of the Hotel is very central (across the road from the Hauptbahnhof) and seems safe enough at night (the hotel is ~ 10m from the escalator into the Hauptbahnhof underground shopping center). I had no issues with security in the area.

The main problems I experienced?

The Leonardo Hotel has invested in it's own WiFi network and my experience was extremely poor. I rely very heavily on Internet access while travelling and outages affect me greatly. The loss of internet connectivity on the morning of the 3rd day was inconvenient and I attempted to check-out so I could move to another hotel with reliable internet. Unfortunately, the hotel wanted to charge me for the final night I had pre-booked. After waiting in the hotel lobby for about 45 minutes, they indicated that the internet was working again and I confirmed that the service was working again. They assured me this was not a common occurrence and these things can happen to everyone including me on my home DSL line (they missed the whole point that they were a business selling a service). Despite my better wisdom, I decided to give them the benefit of the doubt.

I arrived back to the hotel at approximately 10pm with the intention of catching up on some email - the Internet service was down again and the the hotel staff on duty that evening could not fix the issue. The following morning the duty manager seemed totally unaware of the issue at all!

On one of the nights I experienced some noisy pub goers (from the irish pub next door), but otherwise it was extremely quiet. If you want a quiet room, I believe the hotel does have rooms at the rear which you could request. This was a very minor annoyance and didn't bother me at all - I was awake and watching TV at the time - but some travellers may want to take it into account.

The final issue I had was that the hotel overcharged me for my stay by €10 per night which I am now disputing with them (they were not keen for me to see the bill when I checked out so I could check the charges).

Overall: Nice central hotel with good facilities. Hotel is value for money if you look for a deal online. Do NOT stay here if you need reliable internet or want top class service. If you're looking for a cheap get-away for the weekend it's ideal!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HerrJager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank rrrrh3109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Mario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LUCKY1620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Innenstadt
The Frankfurt Hotel
The Frankfurt Hotel
#51 of 270 in Frankfurt
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sachsenhausen-Süd
Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt
Townhouse Hotel
#28 of 270 in Frankfurt
303 reviews
IntercityHotel Frankfurt
#100 of 270 in Frankfurt
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center

Address: Muenchener Str. 59, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: £57 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located adjacent to the central railway station and has optimal transport connections. All rooms have modern furnishing and facilities, just under half of the rooms have a balcony and are facing inwards, and all rooms have W-LAN access and a flat screen TV. Enjoy a peaceful and relaxing lounge atmosphere in the middle of the lively Main metropolis, ideal for business travelers and city tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Frankfurt City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing